Solomon’s Potato Huevos Rancheros

I’m not big into chain restaurants, as I know most people who are concerned with what they eat aren’t.  The food is usually generic, oily and just not very good.  Frankly, the last time I ate at The Olive Garden (why oh why did I do that?) I pretty much disliked every bite I took (I just got soup and salad!) and swore I would never set food inside an Olive Garden again.  Really, the only chains I don’t completely shy away from are Chipotle and Moe’s.  Maybe that’s because I modify restaurant items all the time, so I like the customizable aspect of these places.  Or maybe it’s because in my mind they are one of the healthier bets for road trips.  Or maybe it’s because I have a deep, deep love of chips and salsa (and guacamole as long as it’s not made with mayo or anything gross like that) and both of these places provide that for me.  Either way, I’m a fan.

There’s actually one other chain that I do love.  Love it or hate it, but I LOVE The Cheesecake Factory.  I love the brown bread they serve at the beginning of the meal, the fact that their menu reads like a book, and the general variety.  I think it’s great for a group, because if everyone is craving something different, they can pretty much find something they like at TCF’s menu.  Plus, I like their food (there, I said it.  Judge away!!!). 

Honestly, now that I don’t eat meat it’s a bit harder to eat there because I am more limited and have to get creative.  However, one thing I’ll never pass up on is breakfast for dinner, which is what drew me to the huevos rancheros.  These were awesome.  There’s something about their spicy ranchero sauce that sends me into fits of food nirvana.  Plus, their tortillas aren’t just normal.  I think they secretly use their corn tamale cakes in the huevos rancheros, and frankly, they rock my world (my mom and Solomon will both agree 110% on this).

So on one of our “what on earth should we have for dinner” nights because I suck at meal planning, Solomon came up with huevos rancheros.  But wait for it…his brilliant idea was to use potatoes instead of tortillas.  See, this is one of the many reasons I married him…culinary genius I tell you.

So I flew by the seat of my pants, and came up with a great, filling, humungous meal.  First I diced an onion and several washed potatoes (we had the small guys on hand).

DSC04854 I cooked up the onion in some non stick spray until it began to soften, then added my potatoes.  Once they softened a bit, I sprinkled some paprika on (lots of it).  I covered the pan and let it cook on medium until the potatoes got soft.  I added a little water to the pan after a few minutes and gave it all a stir, just to keep the potatoes from sticking.

DSC04857 While this was cooking away, I had more action going on the stove.  I cooked a drained and rinsed can of black beans with a few tablespoons of lime juice and salsa.

DSC04858 Since this wasn’t enough action, I also fried up 3 eggs with some nonstick spray (1 egg for me, 2 for Solomon).  There was a lot going on, but I can handle it!

DSC04861 Now came the fun part…layering!  Who doesn’t love a layered meal?  Well, I guess if you don’t like your foods touching, you wouldn’t but I figure they are all going to the same place, I love to mix my foods up!

First a layer of potatoes.

DSC04862 Next, a layer of beans.

DSC04863A slightly ghetto looking (a.k.a. overcooked) fried egg.

DSC04864Salsa and a few sprinkles of cheese.

DSC04865 Finally a few pieces of avocado.  Because every meal  needs some green in it!

DSC04867 All together now.

DSC04868That my friends, is what I call comfort food!  Spice, cheese and lots of different flavor and texture.  Perfect throw together dinner (or breakfast for guests).  Not exactly like the Cheesecake Factory, but considering the closest one is an hour and a half away (oh, we used to be able to walk to one in less than 10 minutes…addiction much?), it’s a pretty good substitute!  Plus, anything that has avocado involved is good in my book.

Are you a fan of breakfast for dinner?  What’s your favorite way to enjoy eggs?

15 Responses

  1. OMG!!! That is the best thing I have seen in the blog world in awhile…….I want to dig in now. I was surprised how easy it was even with the stove pot/pan juggling that you did, I am so making this in the near future, thank you for sharing………=)

  2. hey gorgeous swimmy sis!
    Thank you for the b-day wishes yesterday! I loveeee b-fast for din din…your eggy-potatoes look fabulous, wish I was there for this meal! YUMMAY! I heart you and hope you are having a fabulous day! xoxo!

  3. I majorly love breakfast for dinner and I’m actually planning on having an omelet tonight!

  4. i LOVE meals like this 🙂 plus, anything with a runny egg on top is perfect to me!

  5. Breakfast for dinner is one of my favorites!!!

    I happen to LOVE Cheesecake Factory… the only chain restaurant that my husband likes is Outback!

    Hope you’re doing well 🙂

  6. Ugh I’m a sucker for chain restaurants, I LOVE the Cheesecake Factory. I think everything is okay in moderation though..
    I used to really love breakfast for dinner.. now I don’t do it that often.

  7. Drool. Can I please have that for dinner?! It looks delish!

  8. TCF is ridiculously good. I don’t eat there for a reason 😉 I just can’t control myself!

  9. YUMMM I do really enjoy teh cheesecake factory too! it is so consistant! i have never had a bad meal there, but other chains?! i cant stand!! (besides panera) I LOVE panera!

  10. we’re doing breakfast for dinner tonight!

    also, if you get stuck meal planning sometimes (i totally do) if you make a big old list of meals/sides on a computer it can really help! i made one a year ago (and i update it every few months with new things) and when i get stuck i or josh (we both have it on our computers) go through and find something…

  11. i love layered meals too. and i am now craving cheesecake factory brown bread.

  12. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Morgan Sheena. Morgan Sheena said: Solomon’s Potato Huevos Rancheros: http://wp.me/pA5Ps-11p […]

  13. That looks really good! I love your blog

  14. That looks awesome. Totally something I would eat. I love breakfast for dinner. I love breakfast for anytime. I also really love fried eggs, as bad as that is. I do prefer non-stick spray over butter and then “frying”.

  15. chains i like:

    panera
    starbux
    cosi
    chipotle
    tcby

    that’s about it!

    just catching up – love the belly pix 🙂

Leave a comment