Curly Girly

My hair has always been a source of annoyance for me.  When I was younger I didn’t care so much.  Then I hit puberty and the little peach fuzz at my hairline began to grow, and I had this little fringe of hair for awhile.  It eventually grew out, but boy was it awkward!  I went through perms, straightening my hair, bangs, you name it.  Then for quite some time I tried to embrace my curls and let it be more natural.  I used loads of products and a diffuser.  I was never too happy with my hair though, it was never quite right.

DSC00199 So young!

In November 2007, I donated my hair to Pantene Beautiful Lengths.

After that I became a big devotee to the flatiron.  I loved it.  I wore my hair straight 99% of the time, and played around with it.  I tried different layers, bangs and had fun.  There was always something I didn’t quite love-a lack of volume.  But I just dealt with it!

Picture 053 
After Aaron came along, I realized I didn’t feel like spending so much time on my hair.  Yes, I do get to shower every day but there is so much else I need to do.  Those extra 10-15 minutes blow drying and straightening could be used so much more wisely.  So I decided to stock up on some new hair products, and go back to my natural curls.  Though I never loved them, it just seemed easier.

I started thinking there had to be a better way.  I began talking to people with curly hair, even if it was different than mine, and doing lots of research.  I want to love my hair as it is, not by constantly changing it.  So I dug around, and learned all about the Curly Girl Method.

Here are the basics:

  • Step away from the blow dryer, brushes and flat iron.
  • Stop using shampoo or conditioner with sulfates.  Sulfates are drying and quite damaging to curly hair.
  • Stop using hair products that have silicones, as these can weigh down the hair.
  • Start co-washing.  This is when you wash your scalp with a light conditioner, really massaging it in to clean away product and dirt.  Then distribute a heavier conditioner through the hair for extra moisture.
  • Use a wide toothed comb to get out any knots you can’t release with fingers.
  • Do a final rinse of the hair with cold water.
  • Use a microfiber towel or t-shirt to dry hair.
  • Scrunch in a lot of silicone free product and either allow hair to air dry or use a diffuser if you must dry it. 
  • Hands off!  Once the curls have dried, then you can scrunch again to break about the “gel cast.”
  • Keep those curls moisturized.

Apparently my new BFF:

This is all super strange to me.  I’ve always used a shampoo and towel.  I didn’t know to do any differently.  I’ve also been a fan of mousse.  I almost never used gel, since I’ve been so afraid of crunchy curls.  I also never used a lot of product.  Now, it seems like the more gel the better, which is just so weird!!  I’ve learned that mousse can cause frizz, so it seems like everything I was using was just wrong, wrong, wrong!

It’s been 2 days and I have nothing to report yet.  I also haven’t gotten any decent pictures but I will in a day or so so I can have some “before” shots.  Hmmm, I should also get a trim at some point!  I’m excited to hopefully begin to love my hair.  I did notice yesterday that it was much curlier by the end of the day than it normally is.  It’s usually fallen flat and frizzy, and is in a ponytail.  This time it was curly and down all day!  I didn’t love it, but I liked it!  I noticed my curls had more shape and definition than before, so that’s definitely a start.

WISH ME LUCK!!!

Anyone try the Curly Girl Method?  What worked for you and what didn’t?  What are some of your favorite curly hair products?

2 Responses

  1. I have used this method for the past 5 years. My hair is wavy, which is annoying because sometimes it isn’t curly enough to be a “style.” I am very, very devoted to Devachan products. They’re amazing. (Also, if you ever get a chance to visit their salon in New York, you will leave having the best curly hair day you’ve ever had…). Recently I switched to a curly hair shampoo I found at Lush. I can’t remember the name, but it’s great and a lot like the co-washing you described… Also, have you tried using clips? The Devachan method involves clipping the roots of your hair up so the roots don’t dry flat on your head. I’ll try to find a link… Also they recommend drying your hair by scrunching and squeezing with paper towels. (Less frizz. Not so Eco-friendly.). Lol. Can you tell I’ve done a bunch of research myself?

  2. I haven’t tried the Curly Girl Method but I recently also started to accept my natural hair after straightening it for years. I feel sexier and more natural! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

