Socrates, not So-Crates

My parents have a dog named So-Crates.  Not Socrates like the philosopher.  Well, kind of like the philosopher, but from Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.  Normal, I know.

Moving right along…the little man is napping (yes, he still naps twice a day.  Yes, I love it), so after doing a ton around the house, I figured I’d sit down and recap today’s workout.  I was starting to think that maybe this was silly to do, since I haven’t gotten a single comment on a single WOD post, but then I decided it doesn’t matter.  Even if no one is reading these posts, I’m doing them for me!  I want to see how I’m improving, and I think writing it all down is the best way!

We started doing 12 minutes of ladder drills. 

I am definitely lacking in the coordination department, so this is a challenge for me, but fun.  I have to look at the ladder the whole time, but managed not to fall at all!  Bonus 🙂

Then we did a mini strength WOD. 

10,8,6,4,2 reps for quality

  • Bench Press 70% (max weight)
  • Ring Row

I did 65# on the bench press.  I’ve actually never in  my life before done a bench press with a barbell, only with dumbbells (I’ve gotten as heavy as 22.5), so this was good, considering before I only ever did 45 total!  The last 1 or 2 of each set was a challenge for sure.  As for ring dips, well…I’m just a spazz!  We did this in my intro class and I thought they were the hardest thing in the whole world.  Much easier now 🙂

4 Rounds for reps:

  • 40s Squat Clean 115/80
  • 20s Rest
  • 40s Push-up
  • 20s Rest

This WOD was basically a Tabata on steroids. 

I used 45# on the squat cleans, which was just way too light.  That’s what I did last time we did squat cleans, which was such a challenging workout it didn’t occur to me to go heavier.  I definitely have to because I did way too many reps!  I also used a band for support on the push ups since your chest has to touch the ground.  In the 4 rounds I did 48 squat cleans, and 66 push ups.  Way too many squat cleans this time!!

« »

One Response

  1. I don’t understand the exercises and it makes me tired to read about the ones I do understand….but good for you for trying new things and taking care of yourself….taking care of yourself and your marriage is the best thing you can do for yourself, Aaron and Solomon….good for you!!!! love Freddi

Leave a Reply

