To Run or Not to Run?

That is the question!

Thank you so much for all of your wonderful emails, comments, and tweets about our good news!  Solomon and I are so excited to be parents, and Rufio for sure can’t wait to be a big brother!  He loves babies!

Well, I actually didn’t get a ton of questions, which was actually really nice, because everyone was just so excited for us instead!  I did however get a few questions about the half marathon, and I wanted to see what you guys think!

My doctor said it’s OK for me to run, as long as I am comfortable.  Generally, if you ran before you got pregnant, running throughout your pregnancy is not a problem at all.  However, in the first few weeks, running was the last thing on my mind.  The thought of it literally made my stomach turn.  I didn’t do much, except stretching and a lot of walking (I still have to take care of my current baby!  Rufio needs his exercise too!).  Last week I finally felt up to running, and thought I might collapse.  I was a wheezing machine, I couldn’t believe it!  I couldn’t go very far, and mostly walked/ran for about 4 miles.  I finished, and that’s really all that matters.

So now I don’t know if Solomon and I should change our race entry to be walkers, or walk and run when we are comfortable.  Following my training plan is obviously not going to happen to the T.  This is what I’m supposed to do this week:

untitled

 

Actually, not a terrible week all things considered, but honestly, it’s going to be rough!  In the beginning, I remember looking at a week like this and thinking “Sweet, an easy week, this is awesome.”  Now, not so much!

Staying healthy throughout this pregnancy is super important to me, both for myself and the baby (plus, I want to bounce back pretty easily after!).  I’ve gotten really good at listening to my body lately, I just need advice too!

Oh, and I hope everyone had a great weekend, and those of you that celebrate Easter had a wonderful holiday and time with your families.  I love being in Boston, especially on MLB opening day!  We didn’t get to see the game because we were flying, but that was awesome!

Oh, and one more thing.  Total fail on my part…I managed to click “Mark All as Read” on my Google Reader, so my catch up is going to be limited.  I’m sure you all talked about your awesome weekends with this great weather, and I’m sure you all had fun!

So does anyone have any experience with this?  Do you know anyone who did?  Would you just suck it up and walk the race, running when comfortable?