Honey Badger

The honey badger is the most “badass” creature in nature.  It just doesn’t give a sh*t.  The Honey badger or ratel is a tenacious small carnivore that has a reputation for being, pound for pound, Africa’s most fearless animal despite its small size.  In fact the Guinness Book of World Records calls it “the most fearless animal in the world.

WOD:

3 Rounds for time (30 min. max):

  • 30 Squat Cleans (#45)
  • 30 Pull-ups
  • 30 Burpees

F*CK!!  “It’s pretty badass.”

This was hellacious.  If I was the quitting type (which stubbornly I refuse to be…if you know me you know all too well why I stayed in law school even though I hated it), I would have quit this.  HFS.

The first round was tough, and I knew it was only going to get worse.  It took me over 9 minutes to complete the first round!  I was so surprised.

“It’s like nothing happened…Honey Badger just gets right up.”

After the first round I was told to do 20 of each exercise.  I had a lot of obnoxious comments to get me through, raw, ripped up hands to show for it and a strap thong to always remember Honey Badger by.  What is a strap thong you ask?  In the middle of a set of pull ups, I managed to lose control of the band I was using, and it went right in between my legs, snapping me in the front and back.  I have lovely bruises to show from it, and the memory of everyone laughing at me :).  Hey, I think it’s a rite of passage!!

Overall, this was one of the hardest workouts ever, and I’m glad I won’t be seeing this beast anytime soon.  I literally finished my last burpee, stood up to clap at the top, screamed “time” (28:57) and then laid myself down on the floor and tried to stop the world from spinning.

3 Responses

  1. HAHAHAHA my roommates and I LOVE the honey badger. Honey badger don’t careeeee 🙂 haha!

Leave a Reply

