Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabars

The other day Solomon mentioned that he needed some new snack options for work.  He tends to gravitate towards carb-y things and needed a change.  He also has a lot of fruit and nut allergies, so some things are limited.  Oh, and he’s kind of a pain sometimes.  Cut up veggies?  Forget it!  Both he and I have always been a fan of Larabars, but they can get pretty pricey.  So I had the bright idea to make some myself.  I asked Solomon to choose a flavor, and he decided on the peanut butter chocolate chip.

 

I scoured the web for a recipe, but every one that I found called for peanuts, which we didn’t have on hand.  I certainly wasn’t going to run to the store at 9 last night, so I grabbed the peanut butter and hoped for the best.
 Picture 262
Into my food processor went:

  • 10 pitted Medjool dates
  • 1/3 cup natural, unsalted chunky peanut butter

I combined them until they came to a nice, thick and crumbly consistency.  I picked up a little piece and rolled a ball to see if it would stick together.  Once it hit that point I added just shy of 1/4 cup chocolate chips.  I spread the mixture into a small loaf pan and put it in the fridge to set.

Picture 267
I haven’t had a chance to try them yet, but Solomon said I hit the nail right on the head with these!  I was surprised how inexpensive and easy it was to  make one of our favorite snacks at home.  Solomon and I are always grabbing Larabars for road trips or snacks when we are going to be out all day.  In fact, I always keep one in my purse and one in my diaper bag.  Now I can just make them myself!

Picture 289
Next comes the fun part…experimenting with different flavors!  I’m going to stock up on dates, dig through my pantry and come up with a whole variety of homemade Larabars! 

What’s your favorite Larabar flavor?
What is your favorite grab and go snack?

2 Responses

  1. I have may food allergies as well and usually just put a blob of soynut butter into a medjool date – I can’t eat any of the larabars!

  2. Those look really good! The larabar ingredient list is simple so it shouldn’t be too hard to duplicate the other flavors.

Leave a Reply

