I Crossfit

Back in the beginning of December I shared my experiences trying out Crossfit for the first time.  I loved pushing myself, testing my own limits and trying (and succeeding) at things I didn’t know I could do.  After that one class, I thought maybe I would be able to go once in a blue moon, but didn’t commit because of Aaron.  I didn’t really want to hire a sitter that often ($$$), and Aaron is not at an age where he can hang in the front room and play and watch TV.  Also, the box we went to is 20 minutes away.  While that doesn’t seem so bad, with Boston traffic that drive can take as much as 45 minutes at certain times of the day.  Neither Solomon or I were sure we wanted to make that drive.

Fast forward to January, when Solomon decided this was something he really wanted to do.  We ended up finding a box that is less than a mile away from us, and went to check it out.  Solomon signed up right away and I was still on the fence because of the little man.  Solomon’s schedule offers him a lot more flexibility than mine does, and he is able to go to morning or evening classes without problems.  While I ADORE being a stay at home mom, there are definitely challenges, and this was one of them.  By the way, I feel like this post needs a picture to break it up (agree?).  So  here’s a recent one of the little guy:

Picture 065

I digress…

We were determined to make it work.  We talked to family and worked something out that would allow me to go 3 times a week without a problem.  My sister in law takes Aaron in the morning twice a week.  This is perfect because Aaron can play with his cousin who is 15 months older than him.  We all believe that in a few years those two will be thick as thieves and nothing but trouble, so why not start them young, right?  In exchange, we take her boys one Saturday night a month, or we take one boy for an overnight.  Pretty good deal, right?  My mother in law comes over one evening a week so I can head to class, and I try to make other classes if possible.

This honestly has been one of the best arrangements we could have made, and I’m so happy that Solomon and I both found something that we already love, that we can do together or on our own, and which we both enjoy for different reasons.  So far we love the community since it’s always such a great group of people coming to work out.  We love pushing ourselves and trying things we didn’t even know existed (I didn’t know what a handstand push up was before this), and feeling badass when we lift barbells like rockstar Olympians.  I never knew before how much I would enjoy a group aspect to exercising since I have been doing the solo thing for so long.  For the first time in I don’t know how long, I’m excited for my workouts.  I know I’m going to collapse on the floor at the end, but I love pushing myself, and knowing that I’m going to keep getting better.

Even though we keep books at Crossfit, I am going to start logging my workouts here.  I think it’s really important for me to know how much I’m capable of, and to see how far I’ve come.  No better way to know that than by writing it down, right?

If you have any questions about how I write a WOD (Workout of the Day), please let me know!

2/20/12:

Power: Power Clean and Push Jerk.  2 reps every minute on the minute for 10 minutes.  I worked up to #60!

Power Clean:

Push Jerk:

For time:

21-15-9

Power Clean

Thruster

This means we did 21 power cleans, followed by 21 thrusters, followed by 15 power cleans, followed by 15 thrusters, followed by 9 power cleans and finishing with 9 thrusters.

This was a killer workout.  The thrusters were so tough, I had to stop between every few just to get it all done.  I did this workout with #55 barbell in 8:46.

By the way, my new box is Charles River Crossfit.  If you are in the area, come check it out!

Leave a Reply

