Mess Free Finger painting

I figure that my blog keeps evolving as I evolve.  I definitely started as a “healthy living” blog.  I was in the community, fairly active and my blog saw a lot more traffic.  Now, as I blog less and less, I don’t know that I necessarily have a place, and that’s OK.  Also, my readership has changed to more moms and moms to be, which I really, really like.  So I’ll just keep posting randomly, whenever my heart desires!

I thought it would be fun to share some things I do with Aaron.  As a stay at home mom, I’m always looking for ways to stimulate him and keep him entertained.  Thankfully, he is a busy, busy boy and doesn’t get bored easily, but just the same, I like to give him things to do from time to time, even if they don’t hold his interest that long. 

Lately, whenever I’m cooking, Aaron has to join me in the kitchen.  I think it’s wonderful, since I really want him to learn to love and appreciate food,  It can be a bit much to have him always underfoot, and I’m always looking for ways to keep him entertained while he plays in the kitchen (we did order a toy kitchen for him which is coming next week, so that should keep him busy).  He’s getting over playing with Tupperware, and a bowl and spoon isn’t so exciting anymore.  Sometimes I’ll give him a piece of different textures (tin foil, wax paper, parchment paper), but he just likes to rip those up.  I also want to minimize any mess, since he does he (limited) free reign of downstairs, and we do have the dogs, who like to play with Aaron and get messy too.  For example, Aaron loves finger painting.  I could do without the cleanup, so we don’t do it as much as he would like.  Until now.

Picture 063I don’t know if I saw this idea somewhere and got inspired, or really came up with it on my own. 

I cut a piece of paper to fit into a Ziploc bag, squirted some finger paints in, and sealed it up.  This way, Aaron could finger paint and keep it mess free!  It wasn’t as stimulating for him as actual finger painting would be, as it wasn’t nearly as sensory, but is still gave him the same general idea.  Plus, no mess!

I’m very big on letting Aaron figure out his toys and things himself.  I like to give him something new, and sit back and let him figure it out himself.

Picture 064 Picture 066 In no time at all, he had figured out how to manipulate the paints around, and was laughing and having a ball.  One of the best parts about this project was that he could carry it around with him, and I wasn’t at all worried about a mess!

The finished product had to be thrown out, since it was completely saturated and the bag was ripping, but you can’t keep every little piece of artwork, right?

Picture 067 At least it allowed me to get dinner cooked and kept Aaron happy!

How do you keep your kids entertained while you try to get things done?

2 Responses

  1. I wish you had posted yesterday! While I made dinner last night I let both of my kids play with water colors. My 3 year old and my 15 month old. I spent more time cleaning up after them then I did making dinner haha! I am totally stealing this idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

