Peppermint Bark

All right, I’m in the holiday spirit.  No biggie.  Except for the fact that people on the roads drive like crazy people, I kind of love this time of year.  I get into the music (not before Thanksgiving though.  I mean, really), I love the food (duh) and all of the pretty lights.  So it should come as no surprise that I enjoy spending time in the kitchen doing holiday baking and listening to the Glee Holiday Pandora station.

I know it’s so simple, and everyone in blog world seems to be making peppermint bark, but I want to share too!  I didn’t follow a recipe, I just kind of figured it out.  It worked.  Really well.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 10 oz. white chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. canola oil, divided (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract, divided
  • 25 peppermint candies.

First, melt the semi sweet chocolate chips, in whatever manner you like to use (double boiler, microwave).  Stir in 1/2 tsp. canola oil and 1/4 tsp. peppermint extract.

Picture 049 Spread on a parchment or Silpat lined baking sheet.  Freeze until hardened.

Picture 052While in the freezer, use this time to get out your holiday aggression and beat the peppermint candies into pieces.  I use a meat tenderizer and a plastic bag, but any way that breaks the candies works.  Set these aside.

Picture 054 Picture 057 Once the chocolate has hardened, repeat the above melting process with the white chocolate chips.  Spread on top of the semi sweet chocolate, and sprinkle the peppermint pieces on top, lightly pressing them into the chocolate.  Freeze until hardened.

Picture 061 Once the bark has hardened, you can break it into any size pieces you like.  This is so simple, so yummy and everyone seems to love it (even Solomon who isn’t really a mint person)!

Picture 066 Picture 067Are you in the holiday spirit? 

Are you a peppermint bark fan?  What’s your favorite holiday treat to make?

2 Responses

  1. I think I would be more in the holiday spirit if I knew other people around that celebrate Hanukkah. Not much recognition on this base of anything other than Christmas, and it is hard explaining to people sometimes why I don’t celebrate (yes, there are people that have never met anyone that is Jewish). It just bums me out that more people are not understanding and accepting of religions other than theirs. On the other hand, the Japanese celebrate it without so much of the religious part, so I love their lights and trees because it is just more festive in a general happy sense than any type of religious sense.

  2. Oh, and no peppermint bark for me because I am allergic. Maybe that’s another reason why this time of year makes me nervous. Last year I was subbing and the principal passed out candy canes I had to ask all students to wait until later in the day to eat them because I couldn’t have them open in the room. Most kids just went into the hall instead, which I said was fine. I didn’t want to ruin their excitement on the day before break started.

Leave a Reply

