Booty Kicking and Booty Shaping

Wow.  Just wow.  That is the one word I would use to describe my workout this morning.

Solomon and I decided to check out a CrossFit class this weekend.  We’ve heard about it forever and wanted to give it a try.  First of all, what is CrossFit?

CrossFit is a strength and conditioning brand that combines weightlifting, sprinting, gymnastics,powerlifting, kettlebell training, plyometrics, rowing, and medicine ball training. CrossFit contends that a healthy, fit person requires proficiency in each of ten general physical skills:cardiovascular/respiratory endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, power, speed, agility, balance,coordination, and accuracy.  It defines fitness as increased work capacity across all these domains and says its program achieves this by provoking neurologic and hormonal adaptations across all metabolic pathways.

source

A.K.A. A BUTT KICKING WORKOUT

We went to a free intro class at CrossFit Newton and weren’t;t quite sure what to expect.  After signing releases (yikes), we got right to work.  We started with a warm up of some functional  moves such as jumps, toe touches (kicking the leg up) and walking lunges.  Then we did kind of a preworkout workout:

4 times through:

  • 5 push ups (chest touches the ground, hands come up, then hands back down, push up)
  • 10 squats
  • 15 sit ups

After huffing and puffing through this, it was time to get down to the real work, a high intensity set of drills.  We did each exercise as many times as we could for a minute, then moved right on to the next one.  At the end of each set we got a minute of rest, then started all over again. 

3 times through:

  • 1 minute kettlebell deadlifts (I used 54 pounds I think)
  • 1 minute box jumps (jump up on the box, stand up straight, step down)
  • 1 minute push ups
  • 1 minute squat/push press with a medicine ball (I used 13 pounds0

Holy cow, did that kick my booty!  I haven’t worked out in a group atmosphere for awhile, so it was fun to be with other people, but also working with myself.  What I always liked about swimming was that even though it was a team sport, you are accountable also to yourself.  I liked checking in with myself during the workout and pushing my own limits.  It was nice to know that I only had to do each exercise for a minute (though sometimes a painful minute), so I could push myself to finish.

At the end of class, I was a hot sweaty mess, but felt awesome.  It was the first time in awhile I felt like I had an awesome workout, since I was definitely pushed harder than I am with even running.  I also loved the feeling that anyone could do Crossfit.  I like how even though you workout in a group, it is your own workout.  You push yourself as hard as you need to, and work within your own limits.  I also loved how each exercise was a truly functional move, focusing on how the body itself moves, and not just on building muscle.

Solomon and I are definitely planning to do this again, hopefully a few times a week.  We walked (fell) out of there and both felt amazing and so proud of what we did.  It set the tone for the rest of our day, and also prompted some conversations on ways we hope to clean up our eating and be healthier people in general.  I can’t wait for more booty kicking!

As for the booty shaping part of this post, many thanks go to Lucy Activewear

Lucy is a company that “[feels] that workout wear should not only support your athletic pursuits, but should be stylish and flattering too.”  I don’t know a single woman out there who wouldn’t agree with this sentiment!  Lucy strives to make clothes that fit and flatter (plus are really cute).  Their clothing fits any size or activity, and is carefully and beautifully designed, allowing you to perform your best!

Lucy sent me a pair of cut for me leggings to try out.  Here’s a video:

“The Cut For Me Legging features flat-locked seams and trim lines for you to cut the legging to your specific leg length—plus the slimming, moisture-wicking strength of lucy powermax™ fabric (Super supportive stretch fabric; wicks moisture; great for the gym and yoga).”

I thought these would be perfect for CrossFit since the gym was fairly cold when I went to check out a class, plus I knew these would give me a lot of freedom to move as much as needed.  I didn’t take any pictures wearing the leggings (cause I was a mess, a hot mess), but these were SO COMFORTABLE!  I hardly noticed they were there, and they let me move comfortably.  They kept my dry and warm, plus Solomon told me they looked great.  I felt like I looked strong and fit, plus I felt really confident wearing them (oh yeah, we ended up at the mall after.  I was totally comfortable walking around since I didn’t feel like I was wearing sloppy gym clothes).  My only complaint is that they were a little long, which is a weird complaint for me, since I’m always complaining pants aren’t long enough!

Thank you so much Lucy!  I have a feeling these leggings are going to get an insane amount of use, plus I see a lot of shopping in my future!!!

Have you ever tried CrossFit?  What did you think?

What are your favorite items from Lucy?

One Response

  1. […] Booty Kicking and Booty Shaping […]

Leave a Reply

