Congo Bars for Two

The other day, Averie posted some Magic Eight bars that made me all nostalgic.  I call them just Magic Bars or Congo Bars.  They might just be one of my favorite guilty pleasures.  Soft, sweet, chewy, packed with tons of flavor and texture.  What’s not to like? 

The problem is, the recipe makes a whole lot, and I didn’t trust myself not to just sit with the pan in my lap and a fork in my hand.  If I wanted to have any Congo Bars, it was going to have to be as minimal as possible.

I remembered a great find from Trader Joe’s.  Oh, TJ’s I love you. 

Picture 049 
A squeeze bottle of sweetened condensed milk.  Really.  I just had to have it.  I had no clue what I was going to make with it when I bought it, but it was just a must.

Anyway, after 3 nights of craving these bars, I decided to take action.  I pulled my mini food processor and mini loaf pans out of my cabinets, and made a mini version of Congo Bars.  They were good.  Really good.  Perfect for sharing with that special someone 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 4 graham cracker sheets
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 6 tbsp. sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • nuts (optional)
  • 6 tbsp. coconut
  • anything else you want to throw into the mix.

Preheat oven to 350*

Break the graham crackers into your food processor and pulse until you have coarse crumbs.  Add in the butter and pulse until the crumbs are wet.  Divide this mixture evenly between 2 mini loaf pans and press the crumbs down.

Picture 048
Drizzle half of the sweetened condensed milk over each layer.

Picture 050
Add chocolate chips, nuts or whatever toppings your heart desires (toffee bits or butterscotch chips would be fantastic).  I used nuts in one of the loaf pans.
  Picture 051
Evenly divide the coconut and sprinkle on top.

Picture 052
Bake for 20 minutes, or until the edges begin to brown.

Picture 053
Savor every last bite 🙂

Picture 056

2 Responses

  1. Your bars look great and after 3 days of craving them, it was about time to break out the pans and bake….I would have only lasted 1 day, max 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well!!!

  2. I know I don’t get as much time as I like to read over blogs anymore, but I can say this post made me smile because it brought back memories of all those great posts in the past of baking, and how everything always looked so good. I don’t think I have seen a baking post from you lately, mostly because I may not have been looking.

Leave a Reply

