Pumpkin. Spice. Latte. Cupcakes.

I shared this recipe yesterday on my other blog (have you “liked” it yet?), and just had to share it with all of you.

I’d be willing to bet many of you saw this fantastic recipe on Annie’s blog, and most of you probably starred it planning to make it at some point.  Well let me tell you…make these.  Make them now!

Anyway, here’s the post I shared:

In the fall, my house smells good.  Like apples and pumpkins, spice and all things nice.  It’s not because I burn a million candles for their scent.  No, I bake.  A lot.  In fact once fall comes along, I am a baking machine turning out fun fall treats like it’s my job.

I bake everything from apple pies and apple butter from our family apple picking to vegan pumpkin scones and butternut squash fries.  Orange, red and yellow dominate our plates this time of year, both for meals, and of course dessert.  In my never ending quest to find fun fall treats that I can share with my friends and family, I stumbled across a recipe on a food blog I frequent that I just had to try.

A pumpkin spice latte cupcake.  Let me repeat that…pumpkin.  spice.  latte.  cupcake.  You read that right.  As someone who celebrates the reappearance of the pumpkin spice latte at Starbucks with as much excitement as others reserve for Christmas, this was an absolute must make for me.

1372d8d34b5a4cb5b399048724ed0906_7

The original recipe can be found here, but I want to share it with everyone since you absolutely must make these!  This recipe will make you 2 dozen amazing, pumpkin spiced cupcakes.


Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp. espresso powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. grated nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • ½ cup coffee or espresso, for brushing

For the whipped cream:

  • 2 cups heavy cream, chilled
  • ¼ cup confectioners’ sugar

For garnish:

  • Ground cinnamon
  • Caramel Sauce (I used an ice cream sundae topping since I didn’t have time to make caramel)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake pans with paper liners.

Combine the flour, espresso powder, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and salt in a medium bowl.  Stir together and set aside.

Combine the pumpkin, granulated sugar, brown sugar and oil in an electric mixer. Add the eggs one at a time, making sure to beat well after each addition.  With the mixture on low speed, add the flour mixture in two additions, mixing just until flour is incorporated.

Fill cupcake liners about 3/4 full.  Bake until the cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes.

Allow pans to cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then remove the cupcakes to the racks.  While the cupcakes are still warm, brush them two or three times with the coffee or espresso, allowing each coat to soak in before repeating.  Let cool completely.

To make the frosting, place the heavy cream in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment.  Whip on medium-low speed at first, gradually increasing to high speed.  Blend in the confectioners’ sugar gradually.  Whip until stiff peaks form, being careful not to over-beat.  Use a pastry bag fitted with a decorative tip to frost the cooled cupcakes. (For some reason this never came together for me, maybe it was the weather?  Either way I just used canned whipped cream and they were just as yummy).
Sprinkle with ground cinnamon and drizzle with caramel sauce.  Store in an airtight container and refrigerate.

In other news, you won’t believe this…

Picture 048 Picture 074

Yup, little man is 1 already!  I received some sweet comments today that some of you still remember when I announced I was pregnant, and here we are, 18 months later and I’m the mom to an amazing 1 year old little boy.

I promise a post soon with updates on all that Aaron is doing, with lots of pictures.  Things are hectic the next few days…we have family in town, then it’s Aaron’s first birthday party!!!

Meanwhile, enjoy the cupcakes 😉

Leave a Reply

