Leftover Baby Food Muffins

Aaron first started eating solid foods when he was a few days shy of 6 months old.  We started with boring rice cereal, then promptly tried avocado, followed by sweet potato.  Everything we gave him, he loved for the most part (it took him awhile to like green beans), and I felt really good about what we were giving him.  I feel like once we started food, Aaron was basically a blank slate, so he didn’t know not to like anything!

Picture 250 I made most of the baby food Aaron ate.  It was so easy to steam and puree veggies and freeze them into portions, there was no reason not to as far as I was concerned!  It was also a great way to use up leftovers, like grilled sweet potatoes or other vegetables.  We always kept organic jarred food on hand for emergency situations (though I usually tried to bring homemade food out with me), and found that Aaron really enjoyed food.

Picture 094 It wasn’t too long before Aaron was completely over pureed food and being fed from a spoon.  No, he wanted all different tastes and textures.  He wanted to feed himself and try every possible food around (except for fish, peanut butter and honey).

Picture 006Aaron’s sudden distaste for pureed foods left us in a bit of a lurch.  I did my best to keep trying to feed them to him, along with lots of finger foods, but his interest had waned.  So rather than let them go to waste, I got to work!  Apples and pears were easy-I used them in place of butter or oil in different baked goods.  That wasn’t too exciting for me though, since I’ve always done that, but it was a good way to use them up.

The veggies were easy.  I was going to make soup, but realized I didn’t have a ton left.  The peas and green beans were mixed right into a tomato sauce along with lentils and spinach.  While Solomon hated the sauce, Aaron and I both loved it, and couldn’t taste the extra veggies that were hidden right in the sauce.

Eventually, all that remained was some frozen butternut squash.

Picture 210I knew this was something I could bake with, and at the time, the thought of muffins sounded amazing.  So I did a quick Google search and came across this recipe.  I love the fact that there was no butter or oil in these, and I had everything on hand (almost).  I figured why not?

Want to know a little secret?  I almost never have buttermilk in the house even if I know I’m going to need it.  You can make buttermilk on your own, it’s so easy!  For one cup of buttermilk take one cup of milk and remove one tbsp.  Replace it with 1 tbsp. or white vinegar or lemon juice (my choice) and you have buttermilk.  It works.  Trust me.

Anyway, back to the recipe…I followed it exactly, except I added 1 tsp. lemon zest and raspberries in addition to the blueberries.

Picture 214

Picture 216
How were they you ask?  Let’s just say I’m glad that we have more squash left over!  These might have been some of my favorite muffins ever!  Sweet, but not overly so, light and fluffy, not dry (yes, they were the m-word.  The 5 letter one.  I hate that word).  Amazingness.  Solomon couldn’t quite believe me when I told him what was in them, but agreed these were fantastic muffins, some of his favorite!

I’m really glad I chose to make Aaron’s food, and even happier he didn’t eat it all.  I love that I could give a second life to baby food!  Who knew?

How have you used foods in slightly unconventional ways when cooking?  Did you ever think something would turn out not so great and it was a surprise success?

One Response

  1. That is awesome! One butternut squash made some many ice cubes of baby food, and it’s the one Sophie doesn’t seem to like at all. Muffins, it is!

Leave a Reply

