Feed Me, I’m HUNGRY

You know those days when you can’t get enough food into your system?  Those days where all you want to do is eat and eat and eat?  Those days where (if you’re calorie counting) you go FAR beyond your daily allotment?

Source

I have those days several times a week.  I don’t know what to do anymore!

Some days I feel like there is just not enough food for me.  All I want to do is chow down.  However, I don’t want to eat just anything.  Nope, this isn’t emotional eating (thankfully).  No, this is a need to eat ALL.THE.TIME because nothing is filling me.  Because everything I put into my body seems to go right to Aaron!  Little guy is getting big 🙂

179282_10150382166410352_676800351_16867328_6044903_n

I’m not worried about trying to lose the pregnancy weight at all.  With some smart tactics and taking it easy on myself, I am only 2 lbs. up from my pre-pregnancy weight.  My clothes fit though because things are just different (I think my chest must weigh about 5 lbs.), and distributed in a different way.  So I’m not too worried about how much I’m eating for my weight.

I’m also running a few times a week, at least 3 miles at a time.  I am lucky enough to have a good napper, so I get to work out 4-6 times a week.  Of course this would contribute to my hunger, but I’ve always managed to eat well, and not be constantly, ragingly hungry when working out. 

So please, I’m begging…HELP ME!

I don’t know what to eat anymore to keep me full!  I’ve tried it all, I swear!  Oats for breakfast aren’t doing it anymore, and neither is yogurt or eggs.  Protein packed snacks like cheese aren’t filling me, and I’m hesitant to eat too many nuts and nut butters.  Also, I’m planning to eat a little less dairy, as I’m thinking I’m eating too much which is affecting Aaron’s skin.

What do you eat that keeps you full?  What are some of your easy, filling snacks and meals that are healthy, and could potentially be prepared and eaten with one hand?

What do you do when your hunger gets OUT OF CONTROL?  Just go with it and listen to your body, or eat as hunger strikes?

 

7 Responses

  1. For breakfast I like to have oats + yogurt + fruit mixed together. It’s so thick and incredibly filling. As for snacks, I always have fat in my snacks because otherwise I’m starving shortly after. Lunches are always the toughest for me to find a filling yet not overly dense meal. It is tough to find a way to feel full with nursing. I feel ya!!! I also try to drink LOTS of water because I find there are plenty of times I am just really thristy and that satisfies me.

  2. raw vegetables like whoa

  3. if you don’t mind eggs during the day, hard boiled eggs make good (and easy!) snacks to have on hand.

    veggies + hummus and pitas or in a wrap for a quick snack.

    smoothies? You could pack them with fruits, veggies, or additional protein powder (non dairy) if you wanted to add some, too.

  4. My mom made this amazing vegetable and potatoe cheese soup. The potatoes are startchy and they fill you up so much. If you would like, I can send you the recipe and see if it would fill you up! 🙂

  5. I find that I stay the most full when I have a combination of protein, grains and veggies instead of focusing mainly on protein. The more sugar I eat, the more I want it so I try to keep it minimal.

    I used to looooooove Little Shop of Horrors 🙂

  6. Well I don’t have much experience with the whole “mom” thing, but I am familiar with the hungry monster!

    When I get that way I eat lots of oatmeal and rice & bean burritos. Those really hit the spot!

  7. Lots of oats with eggs (or egg whites), almonds and nut butters–they really do fill you up before you eat too much, lots of apples and broccoli (the fiber and water content are really filling), chicken chili, and bean anything. Lots of protein, beans, and healthy fats are the way to fill up (plus throw in some nice whole wheat products) and you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

