Shopping in my Pantry

So glad you guys liked Aaron’s room.  I really love it, it’s so sweet and not too themey.  Plus, I do think it’s perfect for a boy!

Right now, though I’m not cooking like I used to, I have to say that I’m enjoying every second I get in the kitchen (well, not pouring a bowl of cereal, not so exciting).  I’ve recently discovered something in my kitchen that’s been there awhile and for some reason I just never used it.

Almost a year ago, I discovered the West Side Market in Cleveland.  Foodie paradise, really. 

DSC06252 
After some delicious free samples at The Olive and the Grape, my mother in law purchased a bottle of Italia Classico for each of us.  This is a dipping and seasoning oil.  It is EVOO with garlic, onion, sundried tomato, oregano, basil, rosemary, sage and parsley.

DSC06250

This stuff sat in my pantry for quite some time.  I think I just forgot about it.  Once we moved back here, I learned that my MIL has been using this stuff quite a good amount, so I decided I should give it a try too.  Well, I’m just obsessed.  I’ve been using this to sauté things like veggies (especially as bases for soups and tomato sauce), roast veggies and generally enjoy with delicious bread.  My MIL uses it in everything and then some-chicken dishes, rice (me thinks) and pretty much anything else calling for EVOO.

DSC06251 
Why am I so excited about this and sharing it with you?  Well, I just love feeling like I’m shopping in my own pantry!  It’s so exciting to discover “new” foods that I’ve had for some reason, but are just new to me now.  Plus, it’s awesome stuff.  I think we’ll be having to do an online order of this stuff really soon.

DSC06253 
Isn’t it pretty?  Don’t you just want to get a whole loaf of warm, crusty French bread and dip it into all of this deliciousness?

I want to know: Have you gone shopping recently in your own pantry?  What’s your new food obsession?  Have you rediscovered something that you used to love to eat or cook and stopped using for some time?

One more thing…obviously I’ve been out of the blog world for quite some time and I’m trying to get back into it (I really don’t know how Tina is managing to blog with a toddler and a newborn, she’s incredible).  I know a lot of my readers have disappeared (le sigh) and that’s OK, it’s to be expected.  Also, I’ve stopped reading a lot of the blogs I did read (though I will say that I continue to read the blogs of all of you who stuck with me.  Not just because you stuck with me, but because I feel like a friendship does develop online, even if you’ve never met anyone.  So thanks!).

Anyhoo, I’m always looking for some blog recommendations…either “healthy living", food or mommy blogs!  Please, leave me your blog recommendations below!

It’s good to be back 🙂

7 Responses

  1. I don’t know if it’s considered a mommy blog, but she does talk about her kids a lot – onemominmaine.com.

  2. my new obsession (ok it has been for awhile) is making restaurant rip off recipes. olive garden breadsticks, olive garden mozzarella fonduta, damon’s onion loaf, chik-fila chicken nuggets, outback steakhouse bread, chipotle burritos to name a few. that dipping oil makes me want to make macaroni grill bread; another favorite ripoff recipe.

  3. Our pantry is pretty empy at the moment. Sadly. I donated a lot of food I discovered before we moved so that we didn’t have to pack it. Give me a few more months and hopefully I’ll rediscover something!
    I have also been on the lookout for new mom blogs. I’ll probably keep checking your comments to see if there are recommendations 🙂

  4. Even more fun that shopping in your own pantry (which I do love) is shopping at your parents pantry. Every time my sister and I are at my moms house we end up leaving with food. As for new food obsession, I hate to say this, but I have been enjoying squid on the island. I am sure this will change when I no longer live on an island so close to the water. Glad to hear you are planning to get back into blogging more, but I totally understand you not having as much time.

  5. YAY glad you’re back to blogging! 🙂

  6. Wow that olive oil looks DELISH, yum- I really want some french bread and that right now haha.

    Anyway I have no blog recommendations. I seriously read like 10 or so on a regular basis now I’ve just been so crazy busy. I read yours though 🙂 (obviously since I am commenting haha). I did miss the Aaron’s room post originally but I just saw it, I love it! I really love the alphabet photo picture especially, very creative and quilt. Such a good idea putting it on the wall, much safer place for it right now haha.

  7. Here are a bunch off the top of my head (sadly my current internship leaves me so little time for blog reading – I miss them!):

    orangette.blogspot.com
    smittenkitchen.com
    jordanferney.blogspot.com
    losingweightinthecity.com
    pinkofperfection.com
    lawyerish.com

Leave a Reply

