35 Weeks. WTF?!?!

I know I’m a little late on this.  With Solomon out of town this past weekend, I just never bothered to go ahead and get a picture.  And I’ll be at 36 weeks tomorrow.  Here I am at 35 1/2 weeks.  A 1/2 a week may seem like nothing, but right now it feels like forever and a day.

It feels like 35 weeks just snuck up on us.  For some reason, even though it isn’t full term, I’ve had it in my head that 35 weeks is a significant milestone, and that the time is all going to fly from here.  Well, here we are…WTF?!?!  Things are starting to really come together for us and baby.  We started the nursery, but I’m not ready to share it yet.  Plus, I seem to just want to clean clean clean and start cooking huge amounts of food to keep in the freezer.  Nesting big time!  My blogging is all pregnant all the time I guess.  I just don’t have any other ideas in my mind about what the heck else to blog about.  So weekly baby update it is!

I have to be honest, I don’t feel so awesome.  I am wrestling back and forth with nausea, and I just feel generally crummy.  Plus, there are some other things going on in life that are important to focus on, so my mind is all over the place.

Anyway…on to the baby bump update!

A few people have asked me what happened to the “produce report” where I was comparing baby to fruits and veggies.  It just stopped making sense.  A few weeks ago he was a SQUASH.  That to me was the vaguest thing ever!  An acorn squash, a butternut squash, a spaghetti squash?  I mean, which one is it?  It’s just not clear.  Plus, I presume it is a long and thin squash, and then it becomes a honeydew.  How do I got from an oblong vegetable to a round fruit?  It just stopped making sense, so I stopped comparing him to produce!

Week 35

He currently weighs about 5 lbs. (about the size of a small roasting chicken), and the doctor thinks he’ll be somewhere in the high 6’s, low 7’s when he is born.  His nervous system and immune system continue to mature, and he keeps adding fat which will help him regulate body temperature.  His body fat is about 15% right now, and will be 30% when he is born.  His kidneys are fully developed and his liver can process some waste products!  Everything, from his toenails to his hair (if he has any and isn’t a baldy like his mother) are fully formed.  His movement is really limited right now, so his kicks are hard and strong.  His head is also parked right on my bladder, which I can tell you is not so fun AT ALL.

DSC05942 DSC05943

On a fun note, he seems to respond to Rufio.  When we are playing with him and he is barking and “singing” a ton, little boy seems to kick quite a bit.  I really think these two will be best friends in no time at all!

I’m also realizing how excited I am to have a fall baby.  I always forget how much I love fall, until it comes around again.  I love the feel in the air, the foods the clothes (jeans and sweaters?  YES PLEASE).  Pumpkin everything, here I come!

What’s your favorite thing about fall?  Are you ready to say goodbye to summer?

11 Responses

  1. fyi – doctors have NO CLUE how much the baby weighs (unless they do a sonogram – and even that is sometimes off by a pound either direction). They told me Charlotte was probably about 7lbs… she was 9lbs 2oz. Yea… suprise!

  2. I am hoping and praying my little guy comes at about that size. I know ultrasounds can be off, but I’m a little freaked out to find him measuring 6 pounds, one ounce at 36 weeks. If that’s accurate, at 40, he’s going ot be ginormous!!

  3. Isn’t it crazy how things seem to take soooo long and then suddenly its almost the end? I feel like the end is never going to come but I know it will be here in the blink of an eye. Especially since the baby comes basically right after the holidays. Eep!

    Hope the last few weeks are as pain and worry free as possible.

  4. According to my ticker on the bump, I’ve started my month of squash. It looks like an acorn squash in the picture, but you’re right – it doesn’t make sense! Plus, how can I have just done a month of eggplant, go to squash, and then next be a honeydew? I think they just stopped trying at the end! 🙂

    Also, you’re allowed to feel crummy now. Take things one day at a time, and rest often. Everything will fall into place!

  5. you are looking great!! my fav part about fall is pumpkins pumpkins and pumpkins!! and pumpkin blizzards at dairy queen, and the pretty leaves.

  6. YAY for a fall baby!! I love Fall too!! 🙂 And how CUTE are you?!?!?! Seriously, you look AMAZING!!!!!!!! I hope I look even 1/2 has good as you at 35 weeks!! 🙂

  7. I have a love/hate relationship with fall- I love the weather, and the food! I do not love saying goodbye to summer or moving toward winter at all. I will say having a fall baby is the BEST when it comes to school related. He will always be on the older end of the class- trust me, this is good 🙂 especially for boys! I hope you start to amazingly feel better- you and Shannon are not making me psyched to be pregnant at all, not that I ever was haha

  8. You look very cute.

    I am so sick of summer. It’s still 95 degrees here. Ugh.

  9. You are seriously adorable! I’m so ready for summer to be over! Phoenix doesn’t make summer the most enjoyable time of year…

  10. Coming down the home stretch! My fave thing about fall is probably getting into some winter squash. I never really live anywhere that has fall really, like leaves changing colors. I guess I miss that the most. I am sad to see it come but it is still exciting. The weather is good, but I am back to work, but I like work so it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

