James Dean

I vowed to be responsible, and actually learn how to use my camera before I just jumped in and started playing with it.  Oh well, whatever..  No one is perfect right?  I mean, just like I couldn’t refrain from grabbing a cookie if a plate is put in front of me, why should I refrain from playing with my new toy?

It just seemed more fun to just snap away, and hope to figure it all out.  I haven’t figured a ton out yet, but I am having fun making mistakes and taking some lousy pictures, along with the occasional good one!  I can’t believe the difference between this camera and my beloved Sony point and click.  While I will forever love my little camera, this one just blows my mind away!  So without further adieu…some random experimentation!

Picture 004 Aside from the fact that he’s adorable, and kind of blends in with the paving stones, look at that face!  I mean, really…

I also wandered around my in laws backyard.  I tried to take some vegetable shots in the garden, but those need a little more work!

Picture 008  Picture 014 Picture 015 Picture 021 Picture 026

Picture 032

A for effort, right?!?!

I also got some cute Rufio shots post haircut.  This is my favorite.  Not because it’s a good picture by any stretch, but because he is squinting and looks funny!

 Picture 040 He’s so cute!

Picture 043 So much fun!  I can’t wait to keep playing and figuring out what else this Rebel can do!!!  It’s definitely a great toy for me to have around!

Do you have an SLR camera?  How did you learn to use it?  What do you love about it?

13 Responses

  1. I googled tutorials on ISO, aperture, shutter speed, exposure, etc online and just read whatever I could. I also fiddled a lot. and learned that way. It’s the best way for me to learn.

    Your pics look good to me!

  2. I don’t have an SRL (but that doesn’t mean I don’t want one!) but I’m glad you know that pets are the best photo subjects!

    When I had a film camera, the first shot and last shot were almost always of the cat (ya know, just to make sure I had the film loaded right, and that there really was one more shot on the roll).

  3. im still learning on mine. and fiddling which i find extremely fun. im also lusting over a macro lens that i should have bought when i was in seattle. hoefully ill have it inmy hands next month 🙂

  4. CUTE PUPPY!!!! I just found your blog by the way! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  5. I actually took a class on mine. I think one of the most important things is to set the correct white balance. That makes a big difference.

  6. I responsibly read the manual, but I’m still playing with it… I tend to learn a lot better by actually doing something than reading about it! It sure is fun to play, though… 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  7. I love that last picture of Rufio, such a cutie 🙂

    I don’t have an SLR but it is on my ever growing wish list!

  8. Beautiful pictures! My dad has a SLR camera and I’ve been borrowing it this summer, it’s so much fun to play with! I’m sad I won’t be able to bring it to school with me : (

  9. Great pics! Don’t have an SLR hoping santa will bring me one! 😉

  10. I’m glad you’re enjoying your new toy 🙂 Keep the Ruffio pictures coming!

  11. I just sort of jumped in with mine. I’m hoping to take a class sometime soon, but until then I’ll just keep fiddling!

  12. I love the pictures. I take a ton of flower pictures, practically everywhere I go. I plan to compile into a book soon. Looks like you are doing well with the camera so far.

  13. […] I kind of, sort of feel like a real photographer.  Only not, cause I’m not.  And iPhone pics aren’t quite the same as the real deal, since James Dean […]

Leave a Reply

