My Shower Was Just Ducky!

I didn’t get a chance to do a regular weekly belly pic post for today.  We weren’t able to take a belly picture last night because we were up LATE!  We went with Solomon’s family to see Cirque de Soleil Ovo. It was BEYOND incredible.  I spent almost the whole show with my jaw hanging open.  It’s amazing what those people are able to do with their bodies, plus it was just so beautiful!  So I’ll have a belly pic up in the next day or so.

Even though I was the guest of honor, Rufio did steal the show last weekend.  He loved having 6 houseguests…that meant 6 friends to play with him all weekend!

IMG_2973He was really comfortable with his guests.  Because logically the most comfortable place to lay is on someone’s armpit.

IMG_2973

I did receive my first gift before the shower even started.  Harry Potter Silly Bandz.  Could I be any cooler?

The answer is no, I couldn’t. IMG_2973

The next morning, before heading out the door I got a call to bring some wine over for sangria.  Being the classy pregnant lady I am, I complied.  Sketchy, huh?

IMG_2973 One of the very first things I saw when I walked in was this.  HOLY MOLY!  I couldn’t believe what was inside all of these beautiful bags!

IMG_2973

Obviously, the theme was rubber duckies. From the blue and yellow flowers to the blue and yellow balloons, to the rubber ducks everywhere, it was obvious and awesome!  There were little duckies for guests to leave notes on, and all sorts of different ducks everywhere you looked!

Look, a note from Shannon!

IMG_2973 IMG_2973 IMG_3084
IMG_3084

First things first…I got a “Mom to Be” sash!  Then we ate and played some games!  Robin (it doesn’t help to say blonde Robin since they are both blonde Robins so how about Hotlanta Robs) organized a few funs games!  I love when people get really into shower games and get competitive!  It was all so much fun! (Thank you my love!)

IMG_2973

Rachel and Hotlanta Robs!

IMG_2973

Then, it was present time!

I can’t believe how generous and amazing all of the people in my life are!  I feel like this little boy is so loved already, and I can’t wait for him to get here to meet everyone!  Here are some of the better pics (where I don’t have my head shoved halfway down a giftbag trying to dig everything out or my mouth hanging open like a fish in delight)!

He got his first Red Sox gear (sorry Dad and Justin!)
IMG_2973 My mom knit him a beautiful sweater which he is going to wear home from the hospital!  There is also a matching hat.  It’s really just gorgeous, there are no words!

IMG_2973

I’m pretty sure Justin and blonde Robin (Robocop) spent a lot of time laughing at me.

IMG_2973

They got the little Gorp (that’s what they call him), such cute stuff!  A striped onesie with a butt flap, a little Beatles Yellow Submarine shirt, and Beatles versions of lullabies.  This kid is going to be so damn cool!
IMG_2973 Of course, he got lots of other clothes, blankets, toys and other fun things.  Lots of ducky stuff too!

After presents (I kept it short for all y’all, I was unwrapping gifts for quite some time!), it was cake time!  How cute is this?

If you look in the front of the cake, there is a little upside down duck…I love when ducks go upside down in ponds!  I always point and yell out “duck butts!”  It’s my thing.  Oh, and yes, the cake was delicious (from Party Favors)

IMG_2973

Why do I get the feeling from looking at this picture that we have no idea what’s in store for us?
IMG_2973

Huge thank you to everyone who came to celebrate our little boy with us!  Thank you to Rachel for the pictures and to Robs for organizing the games, and helping to throw such an amazing shower.  Thank you to my mom, Deborah and Solomon for all of the work they did to put this shower together.  Thank you to David, my father in law for the beautiful backyard venue!  Finally, HUGE thank you to Marlene, my “mother in love.”  She went above and beyond to put this shower together (that’s how she does things..go hard or go home).  It was amazing, beautiful and incredible, and I felt so loved!

I feel so lucky to not only have my own incredible family, but to have married into such a wonderful family as well.  I am so excited for the little boy to come out and meet all of you!

9 Responses

  1. What a perfect day! The sweater your mom knitted is SO precious!

  2. The ducks are soooo cute! You are looking great! PS I think Cirque de Solei is the most amazing thing in the whole UNIVERSE!!!!!

  3. great presents and you look gorgeous!

    i love the sweater your mom knitted for him. best one!

  4. Looks like they threw you a great party. That cake is too cute. Great gifts.

  5. Awww how cute!!! Everything looks wonderful and amazing! Love the cake and that sweater is beautiful and yay for the red sox!! lol Have a wonderful weekend!!

  6. What a fun day! I really enjoyed meeting your family and friends. Your mom seems so much like mine….over the moon about her grandson-to-be and knitting like crazy!

    Have a great weekend and I’ll see you next week 🙂

  7. Could you be any cuter?!?!?! You are radiating happiness!! 🙂 I can’t wait for showers to start for me!! I dreaded wedding showers b/c I hate being the center of attention, but baby showers are different b/c it’s getting gifts for a sweet little BABY!! 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

  8. So cute! I want that yellow submarine shirt!! AWWWWW!

    YOU LOOK GREAT!

  9. your shower looked fabulous!! so excited for you and your little man! enjoy being pregnant because you’ll miss it (yes, you will… hehe).

Leave a Reply

