What a Difference an Oven Makes

I’m so glad you all like my new toy.  I’m trying to not be my typical self and just jump into using it without knowing what I’m doing, and actually read about it.  Solomon and I may even take a class or two, because we’re dorks.  James Dean may never leave my side once I learn how to use him properly.  I’m currently trying to play around a little bit with my favorite photo subject…Rufio.  He’s so darn cute and so darn photogenic.  I’ll share when I stop playing and actually figure out which cord lets me put pictures onto the computer.

OMG, and thank you for all of your wonderful comments!  You all made me feel so incredibly beautiful, especially when I feel a bit like a whale.  I can always count on all of you to help me smile 🙂

You all know that I despised my old kitchen, and am basically obsessed with my current kitchen.  A lot of that has to do with the fact that it actually works.  Having an oven that is actually accurate has made such a world of difference, especially since I bake so much.  I haven’t baked anything overly exciting lately, but I do get a lot of requests for my blondie recipe, and since they turned out so wonderfully, I thought I’d share!  I tend to tweak it depending on what kind of mood I’m in.  Here’s what I did most recently. 

DSC05793 From Better Homes and Gardens:

  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional-I left these out)
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350*.  Refrain from doing cartwheels because you know that when your oven says it is at 350*, it is actually there.

Grease a casserole dish (13x9x2).

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine brown sugar and butter until the butter is melted and the mixture is smooth.  Allow to cool.  Stir in the eggs one at a time.  This is why it’s so important that the butter cools, because you don’t want to cook the eggs!  Stir in the vanilla, flour, baking powder and baking soda.  If you wish, stir in nuts, and butterscotch chips.  Spread the batter into your casserole dish.  Sprinkle chocolate and white chocolate chips on top.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes and until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool before slicing.

ENJOY!

DSC05795 I have a lot to get done this morning, then a blogger dinner tonight!  I’m really excited, I haven’t met a lot of bloggers yet, and I know being in Boston means I will meet a ton!

Have you met a lot of bloggers?  Which blogger (besides moi of course!) would you love to meet?

11 Responses

  1. I LOVE Blondies!! I trying your recipe!!

    There are so many bloggers I’d love to meet I don’t know where to start!

  2. I have never met any bloggers!!

    I’d like to meet Laura-Jane from whimfield.com – she and boyfriend both quit their jobs, picked up and moved ACROSS CANADA just because they found a property online. WOA.

    I’d like to meet Janelle from http://lifelessseriously.wordpress.com/ – she seems to down to earth and cool.

    I’d like to meet Brittany from http://www.4littlemenandgirlytwins.com/ – I’ve been following her blog since before she had her girl twins….back when she was 26 years old and had 4 boys!! crazy!

  3. I haven’t met any bloggers! I was so sad when my sister said you guys were all meeting tonight – today’s my last day of work so I’m heading up to NH tonight for a getaway. We’ll have to plan something else another time!

  4. i have met some bloggers before. they were mainly running bloggers, not foodies. but we had a blast and i wish there were more bloggers in my area so i could meet up with them.

  5. Those look sooooooo wonderful!! 🙂

    I’ve met a lot of bloggers!! 🙂 Some of my closest friends are people I’ve met through food blogs. I’d LOVE to meet you and everyone else in my google reader!! 🙂

  6. I’ve met about 10 bloggers! I’d love to meet you.

  7. I have been lucky enough to meet Holly (thehealthyeverythingtarian.com) and Averie (loveveggiesandyoga.com)!

  8. Those look wonderful! I’ve never met a brownie or a blondie that I haven’t liked!

    It was great getting together last night. Looking forward to coffee next week 🙂

  9. I’m so glad I got to meet you guys last night, that was so much fun 🙂

    There are a lot of bloggers I would love to meet, Amber from Girl With The Red Hair, Lisa from Lisa Yarns, and Gina from Candid RD are a few that come to mind first. Never met a blogger I didn’t like though!

  10. I have never met up with another blogger, but I would love to meet up with Gina from Candid RD and Nicole from Prevention RD because we are all RDs and from their posts, I know they have the same thoughts and beliefs on topics that I do. Hope you had a nice time at your blogger dinner.

    Glad you have a working oven. I do know how essential that can be.

Leave a Reply

