Shellac Attack

The title of this post is funny to me cause it’s like Shaq Attack, which is apparently an exciting thing to happen to Boston?  Shaq, who seems to have peeked years ago, has signed on with the Celtics, and that’s big news.  Woo hoo!

alg_shaquille Anyway, yesterday I did some primping to get ready for the wedding and shower this weekend, which of course meant a mani and a pedi, one of my favorite things to do ever.  For my little piggies, I chose a really bright, corally/pinky color.  I don’t remember what it was called.  Seriously, I didn’t even realize how crampy my calves were, and how sore my feet had become until my pedicure.  I love being massaged.  Plus, there’s really nothing like a massage chair to soothe your whole back!

DSC05848 Swollen, sexy pregnant feet!

Other than showing you my feet, I have something really exciting to share that I discovered at the salon.  I always want to try new, fun things, and as soon as I saw a row of new polishes on the rack, I had to try them out.  I knew absolutely nothing about these, I was just curious.

I had chosen a fairly new product by CND called Shellac.  Shellac is a typical manicure, with a basecoat, 2 coats of color and a top coat, but in between your polish is hardened in a UV lamp that dries the gel.  Shellac is not a traditional polish, but is gel based!  No joke, I had no idea what I was in for, I just thought I was choosing something fun!

Shellac is meant to last at least 14 days, so you don’t have to deal with any of the chipping or smudging (it is dry right away)!  I have NEVER, EVER had good nails of my own, so the idea of this is really appealing.  I’m usually the type who has my nails chipped within hours of a manicure, no matter how careful I try to be.  Well, it’s been over a day, and my nails still look great!  They are stronger and better looking than they have ever been, because of all of the hormones, but I know they will stay, and look fresh and great all weekend long!

untitled I chose a layer of a light whitish/clear and the pink in front.  I can’t wait to see how these last, and if I really do get 2 weeks wear out of this!  My pedis usually stay put pretty well, but like I said, my nails are always a mess within hours. 

DSC05845 EEK!  I didn’t realize how swollen my fingers were until I saw this picture.  Oh well, that’s life, right?

So wish me luck with  my long lasting manicure!  Maybe this will help my nails finally grow long and strong all on their own 🙂

Do you have nice nails?  What products do you use to keep them strong and healthy?

Are you a sucker for new products, nail polish colors or services in spas and salons?

10 Responses

  1. i never get manis or pedis…specifically i have never gotten one. its a complete waste of money for me. when i get bored i just pick at my nails and then ruin it, so i dont even bother.

  2. How cool!!! I’m the same way, my toes usually keep the polish okay for two weeks, but my nails are a wreck right away. I’m curious to see what you think!

  3. I want that! I can barely reach my toes right now but I am afraid I am going to go any day now, and I just don’t have time for a pedicure! I do love the pregnancy nails though, they are so strong! I did my nails a deep purple this morning and practically had an anxiety attack doing it because I couldn’t catch a breath!

  4. Don’t worry, I’m not even as pregnant as you and I’m already swollen. I love going to get my nails done… it is such a treat! I’ll have to look into that product… I never get my nails painted a color – usually just clear – b/c they get chipped so easily. Especially being a first grade teacher!!

  5. I’d love to try this! I never get manicures because i’m so impatient and can’t wait for them to dry..and because they chip so easily. I’ll be looking for this product!

  6. Very pretty!

    I like toenail polish better than fingernail polish because I can never keep it from chipping on my fingers. I’ll be curious to see how this works. I really should take better care of my fingernails….they are strong and grow very long without much effort. But I never take the time to pretty them up!

  7. Careful with your nail polish thingy – Robin had something that sounds like that done a coupla times a few months ago, but then she found that it destroyed her nails

  8. I love getting manicures but they never last! Can’t wait to see how long it lasts 🙂

  9. Haha, I think swollen feet and fingers just proves that you are well and healthy, just as any pregnant woman should be! 😀

    I’m not much into beauty products…I kind of skipped that girly genes, it seems!

  10. Pretty nails! I rarely paint mine because they always get so dried out.. I should focus more on taking care of them.
    I don’t understand the Shaq hype either, glad I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

