Whole Wheat Waffles (and Pancakes Too!)

Another Monday, another week!  That’s OK though.  This week isn’t crazy busy, but I have some fun things coming up!  More childbirth class, coffee with Shannon, Robin and Dotan are coming up Thursday (they moved back from Israel), my parents are coming, Rachel and her new boyfriend are coming up, Pete and Lindsay are getting married, Justin and Robin are coming up, and then it’s my baby shower!  So excited!

This weekend was pretty low key.  I had a cold, then allergies came and attacked me.  Solomon spent a lot of time staining our deck.  Check out the before and (almost) afters!  Just a little detail work and it’s all done!

DSC05843 DSC05841 DSC05842

So I know it seems like I’ve just stopped cooking, and that’s not true!  Creativity has been lacking, and cravings have been crazy, but I’m still spending time in the kitchen!  Last weekend we had some friends over for brunch, and I promised them I would share this recipe.  We made a pretty simple brunch of waffles, using a mix I always keep on hand.

DSC05839

During the holidays, one of Solomon’s coworkers gave us some of this mix, along with the directions.  It’s all whole wheat, and sugar free and makes damn good pancakes or waffles (hence the post title, I’m a sucker for alliteration).  It’s easy to whip up, and perfect to always have on hand.  We always keep a tupperware of it in the freezer, and it can last for about 3 months with no problems.  I usually half the recipe.

All you need is:

  • 8 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 cups instant dry milk powder
  • 4 tbsp. plus 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 3/4 cups vegetable oil

Mix everything together except for the oil.  Using a whisk or hand mixer mix the vegetable oil in until the mix is well blended.

DSC05840

THAT’S IT

When you want to make pancakes or waffles, it’s just a 2:1 ratio.  2 parts mix to 1 part water (roughly, it can be easily adjusted).  For example, 1 cup mix to 1/2 cup water.  Mix until it is batter consistency, then have fun making your waffles or pancakes!  I like to add blueberries or chocolate chips while the pancakes are on the griddle!

DSC05810 DSC05812 DSC05814

Yum, yum, perfection!

The best part about this is that whenever one of us craves a waffle or pancakes in the middle of the week, it’s so easy for us!  Quite honestly, I don’t know much about the nutritional value of vegetable oil versus other oils, but overall I feel really good eating this!  Plus, it’s so filling!

What do you like in your pancakes?  What’s your favorite topping for waffles and pancakes?  How was your weekend?

11 Responses

  1. Those pancakes look SO good! I think blueberry pancakes might be my favorite, but I’ll put almost any fruit or sweet treat in there!

  2. My favorite pancakes are blueberry and chocolate chip. I’ve always wished someone would make a bagel like that.

  3. I love pancakes!! Those look so good!! 🙂 I love pretty much any kind of fruit in pancakes!! Recently I’ve become obsessed with making a regular pancake, spreading almond butter on top, and topping it with warmed peaches. Heavenly!!

  4. nice deck! decks are so much work but SOO worth it! you’ll love sitting out there with the baby :). I like maple syrup, homemade runny strawberry jam, and whipping cream if I’m feeling unhealthy ;). just for waffles though i hate pancakes!

  5. ok i’m not sure what “whipping cream” is i meant whipped topping in the can LOL

  6. Mmmm I love pancakes! Those look delicious! I love the crispy edges which it seems like you have mastered – I can never get it quite right!

  7. I like any kind of berry in my pancakes and sometimes choc chips are nice too. Banana is actually a good choice. Mmm I am hungry for some pancakes. I love the electric griddle for that reason, it is easy to use and easy to clean and pancakes are ready fast.

  8. Now I am craving pancakes. I need to stock up on mixes like that. I am also pregnant (23 weeks) and have lost some motivation in the kitchen. I can’t wait to follow along with you as well.

  9. Yum those pancakes look delicious! I like oatmeal pancakes the best with any kind of fruit on top. Hmm maybe I’ll have to make some tomorrow hehe.

    The deck looks awesome. My back deck is tiny kinda jealous of yours!

  10. I like banana pancakes. Yum.

  11. those look DELICIOUS! morgan, so sorry I haven;t gotten back to your email but YES i would love to meet up!!!! I will get back to you later today 🙂

Leave a Reply

