How to Brush a Schnauzer’s Teeth

It’s Monday.  Woo hoo!  Normally I’m not so excited for Mondays, but this is the week I’m moving!  About 48 more hours until I’m hitting the road to NJ, then up to Boston Thursday morning!!!!!  I never thought this week would come along 🙂

So since things are so busy packing, trying to cram in workouts, figuring out what we have to get rid of, etc., this is a quick one.

We’ve always had a little trouble brushing Rufio’s teeth.  He hates it.  I swear he would rather give up his left paw than have his teeth brushed.  For the last 2 years we have been trying to figure out a solution, and finally, FINALLY came to one.  He tends to go completely catatonic (dogatonic?) when we put any kind of clothing on him, so a few weeks ago at my parent’s house, I thought it might be useful to put a sweater on him and brush his teeth…it worked!

Now, whenever we want to brush his teeth, we just reach for his Halloween costume.  He knows whenever he sees the banana come out (minus the little hat that looks like a condom), he’s in for it…

DSC05740 DSC05739 
He’s miserable as hell, but at least his chompers are minty fresh.  Um, or chicken flavored fresh in the case of doggy toothpaste!

Poor little guy, takes so much abuse!

What was your best part of the weekend?

6 Responses

  1. Haha, that is so funny that you put him in a banana suit to brush his teeth. I can’t figure out how to brush my dog’s either. He doesn’t own a banana suit though.

  2. Cutest thing ever? Perhaps.

  3. does he go catatonic because he hates clothing? or just feels so comfortable in it?

    either way, funny trick.

  4. Hahahaha! That’s awesome.

    I use peanut flavored toothpaste so my dog is semi-ok about getting his teeth brushed. His pet peeve is getting his nails cut. He has to be muzzled!

  5. That MIGHT be the funniest thing I have ever heard. I know you’re going to be a great mom—you’re so resourceful!!!

  6. HAHA! nice work. When I get Ginger in her costume she won’t move, so I guess that is the best way to get them to comply.

Leave a Reply

