BOOF-alo

Do you have any of those words that you just have to say a certain way?  Like Buffalo, I have to say as Boof-alo every time.  Am I the only one who does this?

So, the whole thing started a week ago.  I had a major craving for buffalo wings, and Solomon was really excited to hear that.  Instead of getting wings in Meadville, Solomon suggested that maybe we should stop in Buffalo on the way home from Toronto.  After all, wings were created there, we might as well go to the home of the original wings, right?

We headed to Anchor Bar, Home of the Original Buffalo Chicken Wing. 

DSC05692 
Chicken.  That should have been my first clue.  After being grossed out by the texture of chicken for so long, the fact that I actually wanted chicken was kind of astonishing.  Second, the fact that wings are fried should have been another clue.  This was a bad choice. 

For some ridiculous reason, I thought getting fries would be a good choice.  You know, because I rarely eat fried food, so it was kind of like go hard or go home?  OYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

DSC05695 
I will say that the fries were divine…spiced, crunchy with a soft potato-y center.  AWESOME. 

Then, out came the wings…dun dun dun!

DSC05699 DSC05698 
After having several pieces of celery, I dove in.  I had to smell then first.  I honestly think just the scent enough would have been enough for my craving, I probably shouldn’t have even bothered eating them.

DSC05703
5 wings later (Solomon had 7), I was BEYOND done.  BEYOND.

Wings were a bad choice.  Ugh.  Sure, I love the taste of buffalo sauce, but NEVER AGAIN.  I had such serious heartburn afterwards, it was painful.  I was in pain the entire ride home, my stomach staged a revolution, I swear!  Sleeping was miserable, and I still hurt the next day!  YUCK!

The moral of the story?  No more wings for me, and I’m continuing to stay away from anything deep fried (I don’t necessarily count fries, or the occasional onion ring).  Yummy, but TOTALLY NOT WORTH IT

What was the last thing you ate that seemed  like a good idea at the time but wasn’t?  Do you have some words that you just have to say in a weird way?

9 Responses

  1. You should have gone to Duff’s! Those are the best wings in Buffalo!

  2. I find I can’t eat like I used to. I get full really fast and when I eat the same amount that I used to eat in one sitting I end up really uncomfortable. There just isn’t as much room in there right now. Fried foods always look good to me, but pregnant or not, my tummy can not tolerate them.

  3. I definitely cannot eat very much rich food in one sitting anymore! I used to be able to put away fried food or fatty cheesy food with not much problem, but now it makes me so full and uncomfortable!!

  4. I’ve been to the Anchor Bar! Chicken in general has seemed gross to me lately so you are not alone there.

  5. I have a stomach of steel so usually food doesn’t upset my stomach unless it is bad and I make sure I’m not eating too much. Sorry those upset your stomach. That is not a fun feeling.

  6. haha i know the feeling!!! I was craving a burger and fries last month for who knows what reason, and afterwards I felt like death. Hope your tummy has settled!

  7. That good looks great—what a huge let down with the aftermath!

    I got some Pad Thai the other day b.c I was craving it and it kinda sucked. And what sucks even more is that I had it again for lunch today since I didnt want to throw it away.

  8. I can handle most food…my problem is I overeat! So while I could handle 3-4 wings…if I eat 6-7…then I’d be hurting!

  9. haha I chuckled imagining you saying “boof-alo”. Lately, I’ve been finding that I have that feeling with ice cream – I crave it and then I eat it and I feel sick and wish I hadn’t. I don’t know what’s up!
    ps. love the sox shirt : )

Leave a Reply

