Boys Love Meat

MEAT!!!!

Throughout my pregnancy, I’ve been randomly craving meat off and on.  Most of the time I just get over it, by eating something with iron or a lot of protein.  The other week, it was honestly all I could think about (other than lemonade!), and I had a feeling that I needed meat or I was going to crack.  I needed meat, not chicken, but MEAT.

I was super nervous about eating meat for the first time in over a year, and knew if I was going to eat meat, it had to be good meat.  Since we keep kosher, I felt like I could trust whatever was in my freezer, since I feel better about eating kosher meat than I would about eating some random meat. 

Solomon was really excited about me eating meat, and happily grilled up some of the burgers we had in our fridge (he made them with ground beef, and froze patties).  Truthfully, it wasn’t even the best meat ever, but boy, did it hit the spot.  Really, there is nothing like a good burger!

DSC05598
We decided to use some of the rolls I had received from Nature’s Pride through the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program.  We aren’t big white bread eaters at home, so we decided to try out the 100% Whole Wheat Bakery Buns.

DSC05597
The nutrition stats aren’t too terribly shabby:

dsc05561_thumb 
Solomon said that these were the most perfect buns for burgers.  The were big, and kind of fluffy, perfect for a patty.  Plus, the taste was good!  I don’t know how many of these will get hamburgers on them, but I have a killer egg sandwich planned for one morning this week.

Here’s my burger just waiting for me, loaded up with some onion, tomato and mustard.

DSC05599
I’ll admit, I was a little nervous…I mean, it’s been so long!

DSC05601
Yes, my hair is in pigtail buns.  Yes, I’m 29.

Here goes nothing…

DSC05602
Contemplating…

DSC05605
Going back for more!

DSC05606

Mmmmmm…that was so good!  I had my burger with some sweet potato fries and some lettuce free salad.

DSC05607

Overall, I’m really glad I gave into my craving and just had the damn meat already.  It was always on my mind lately, so I thought I should just go ahead and have it (I also got a lot of facebook encouragement).  Even though I have been vegetarian for awhile, I don’t identify myself as vegetarian, meaning I don’t use it as a way to define who I am.  I went vegetarian because I just stopped wanting to eat meat and poultry.  I figure if I want it once in a blue moon, it’s not the end of the world.  Who knows what will happen after the little boy comes along, I may be grossed out by it again!  I do honestly think if it weren’t for him, I would never have craved meat, and have been blissfully meat free for a long time.  Oh well, c’est la vie.

Have you ever denied a craving and just had to have it?  What was one of your biggest cravings lately?

15 Responses

  1. maybe amanda will eat seafood

  2. I’m glad you just followed your craving and ate a hamburger! Seriously, sometimes red meat is just essential.

  3. This pregnancy has made me crave lemon flavored things. I actually had to go out and buy some of those old fashioned lemon drops to help with the craving. I also have needed unsweetened ice tea (decaf). I say needed becuase I could have hurt someone to get it I wanted it so bad. I have no idea becuase both of those things I have not had in a very long time.

  4. i’m addicted to Raspberry Simply Lemonade – I have 3 things in the fridge right now! I try to alternate water and lemonade but it’s so hard because it’s so delicious! also yodels, but i try not to talk about that so much because it’s embarrassing!

  5. I used to never be big on red meat. Ever. Then I got pregnant with M. I craved it during my pregnancy and still liked it more than chicken afterwards. My tastes definitely changed (and stuck) after pregnancy. I am craving meat and savory, hearty meals a lot again with this pregnancy too. Sweets? Who cares! Give me a burger! It’s so strange.

  6. So cuteeee!! I will probably be the same way when I’m pregnant! Good thing you listened to your cravings! I’m anxious to see how much meet you’ll be eating now + after you have the baby! Our bodies are so interesting!!!

  7. I don’t usually crave red meat at all, but I’ve been craving burgers ever since I got pregnant. I wonder if it has something to do with needing more iron?? Anyway, Andrew’s the same way as Soloman… very excited whenever I ask him to grill up any kind of meat! 😉

  8. I think its good you gave into your cravings. I am sure you feel much better now!

  9. Yep, I craved red meat during my pregnancy….was never a huge red meat eater either!! Always preferred chicken or fish. Anyway I gave in and loved every minute of it….and had it multiple times throughout 🙂

  10. I find that whenever I try to ignore a craving, I end up eating what I’m craving in addition to a ton of other food. So to avoid the overeating, I just eat what I’m craving as soon as it starts.
    I think pregnancy cravings are so interesting, I’m a pretty picky eater and I always wonder what would happen if I got pregnant. I’ve never eaten red meat before..

  11. Nothing wrong with the pigtails – I do the same thing, and I’m 31! And bravo on going for it with meat – sometimes you need to listen to your body, especially during this time. Can’t wait to see you guys soon!!!!

  12. Wow, that is crazy. I never liked meat ever so I am afraid I will crave it when I am pregnant and I will get really sick because meat always made me sick. I could never chew it. you are right though about eating it if you want, every once in a while because your dietary intake is what you want it to be. There is no need for labeling yourself as long as you are happy. I personally cried when made to eat meat as a kid so the decision for me was easy and not an adult decision, but one I have kept through adult hood. Hope that made some sense. Good for you for doing what you WANTED to do.

  13. […] normal cravings, pregnancy cravings should not be ignored, or you’ll just overindulge.  Yes, I ate several things I wouldn’t normally eat, and ate more sweets and pastries than I would have ever touched, but who cares?  I didn’t go […]

  14. […] arugula.  Absolutely delicious.  (By the way, I’m no longer a vegetarian.  Aaron needed meat when I was pregnant and he still needs it now.  I swear, my body craves […]

  15. […] I thought the idea was pretty repugnant.  I was a vegetarian for so long, and even though I began to eat meat when I was pregnant, I didn’t eat very much of it.  I had even given some thought in the last few months to […]

Leave a Reply

