Going Greek

Apparently I’ve always enjoyed healthy foods.  For example, in 2nd grade, we used to bring in something for our birthdays to share with the class.  While most kids brought in cupcakes or cookies, I asked my mom to make veggies and dip.  We sat in “tables” of 4 desks, so we made bread bowls, filled them with spinach dip and surrounded them with veggies.  1 for each table.  People actually enjoyed it, even though it wasn’t something sweet.  I was the weird kid.

In kindergarten, we made a class cookbook for mother’s day.  Each of us took our turn sitting with the teacher and sharing our favorite recipe.  She had us do this without getting the actual recipe from our parents, just what we thought it was.  It was actually really cute.  The book has instructions such as: “put in a 900* oven”, and “makes 1 thousand cookies.” 

Most of the students gave recipes for things like brownies, cookies or their favorite mac and cheese.  Not me.  Nope.  I decided to give my teacher the recipe for spinach pie.  Yes, spinach pie.  Normal, huh? 

Still to this day, spinach pie is one of my favorites.  It’s simple, and not too shabby nutritionally.  This is actually a recipe my mom has changed over the years, to make it much more healthy than it originally was.  Now this is one of those recipes I have memorized.  The only difference is that I know how long it has to cook.  In kindergarten I said to “put it in the oven until the oven goes bzzzzzzzzzz.”   Not too precise.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (or 2) premade pie crusts
  • 2 12 oz. packages frozen spinach-thawed and well drained
  • 1 egg, plus 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup dry parsley flakes
  • 1/4 cup dry minced onions
  • 1 tbsp. barley or uncooked rice
  • 1 8 oz. package feta cheese, crumbled
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cayenne if you want a little spice

First, you want to drain the spinach.  I usually just throw the packages in the sink for a bit to let them unfreeze (is that a word)?  Next, I line a colander with my spinach draining towel (yes, I have a towel only for spinach.  So does my mom.  Like mother, like daughter), and put the spinach in there for a few hours.  This gets a lot of the moisture out, then I wrap it all up and wring it out.

DSC05573 DSC05583 
That’s honestly the hardest part of this whole recipe.  Next throw everything into a food processor until it is well mixed.  That’s it.  You could also do this without the food processor, but I like the texture better when it’s all blended.

Before:

DSC05585 
Pour the mixture into a thawed out pie shell (P.S.  ALWAYS read the ingredients, a ton of them contain lard.  I usually will buy mine at Whole Foods, but I wasn’t about to drive 2 hours for pie shells)!  Sometimes, I’ll put another pie shell on top, crimp the sides together and cut a few “vent” holes into the top to make this more pie like, and less quiche-y, but not this time.

DSC05587 
This goes into a 350* oven, but not just until it goes “bzzzz.”   It cooks for about an hour, or until the crust turns golden brown.  I usually rotate it about halfway through the cooking.

DSC05590 
THAT’S IT.  Could it be any easier?

Unfortunately, this one didn’t turn out so great, because our oven sucks!!! It was a little bit overcooked, but c’est la vie.  Soon enough all of my food will be perfect 🙂

DSC05592 
This is great for brunches, in addition to dinners.  It’s also great as an appetizer, cut into smaller pieces, or for dinner!

Did you always enjoy healthy foods?  What’s something “weird” you did when you were little?

10 Responses

  1. This recipe sounds SO good and I’m so happy you’re moving to Boston. What can I say? I’m biased! I may be way late on this, but if you haven’t done that blogger meet up, would love to meet you too!

  2. That story is too cute!! I was definitely the kid who like chicken fingers, mac and cheese, and pizza. I didn’t start getting seriously healthy until my senior year of college. I’ve never heard of spinach pie, but it sounds really good! I would love to try it out, thanks for the recipe!! Hehe, and I’ll put it in till the oven goes bzzzzzzzzzzzz!! 🙂

  3. when i was a kid my mom gave us frozen peas as a snack. loveeed it.

  4. That was definitely the kind of kid I was when I was little too! I remember eating hummus in elementary school and all the kids thinking I was crazy

  5. Well, spinach pie is good, and that is cool your mom fixed up the recipe. I have not always liked healthy foods because I was very picky. I always liked fruit, but not veggies until I was older.

  6. I was an apple and raisin FREAK as a kid. if i had a choice between cookies or apple slices, i chose apple slices every single time. still true!

    as for the recipe, i wonder how it would be if you went a little greek-er (word?) and put some artichokes in that pie…

  7. That looks wonderful! I’ve never had spinach pie made that way.

    I have always enjoyed healthy foods….although I have always enjoyed the unhealthy ones too 🙂

  8. mmm this looks so good! never had it this way 🙂

  9. this looks good but not as good as honoring your PB Cup preggo craving would have been…haha that FB cracked me up!! 🙂

  10. Haha, my mom used to make spinach pie when I was a kid too. I still like it. Hers is a different recipe. It uses mozzarella. I should make it soon.

Leave a Reply

