Baby Talk

Thank you so much for all of your wonderful, supportive comments on our move!  Also, thank you for your comments on our new home, it really is a wonderful place.  I can’t wait until we make it our own!  It really doesn’t need a lot of work, so it will feel like a home in no time at all!

I just can’t wait for Rufio to have his own play space, and stairs to run up and down!  He’s so protective of me lately, it’s kind of pathetic.  Solomon will come up and tickle me and Ru freaks out!  He just went and got his hair did today, so handsome!

DSC05550 DSC05552
Anyway, moving on to baby stuff.  Like I said, we saw little man earlier this week.  He’s amazing!

Week 25

The big guy is now about the size of an eggplant.  He is about 9 inches from head to rump at this point and about 13.5 inches head to toe.  He is over 1.5 lbs too.  Capillaries are forming under his skin which are filling with blood.  By the end of this week, air sacs lined with capillaries will develop in his lungs helping him get ready to take his first breath (and cry).  His lungs aren’t strong enough to breathe on their own, but they are developing a substance that will help them breathe on their own after birth.  His nostrils, which have been plugged up until now are starting to open, which will help him to start taking practice breaths.  His vocal cords function now, and I can start to expect him to have hiccups!  He is also getting some cute baby fat, which is smoothing his skin out, and his hair is getting thicker and more abundant.  His hands are fully developed and he makes little fists (we got to see him doing this!)

Since the only eggplants I could find were incredibly small (like grapefruit sized), Solomon showed me a more “manly” comparison for the baby.  Right now he’s about as long as a 13 inch boot.  I also read he’s the size of a rutabaga, but I couldn’t find one of those.  Maybe next week I’ll find a decent eggplant!

DSC05558

I found this cute little survey on a few blogs of other pregnant women, I thought it might be fun!

Total Weight Gain/Loss: As of last week (24 weeks) I was up 12 lbs.  That’s actually on the low end of the spectrum, but the doctor said it’s OK since I am staying active!
Maternity Clothes: I started wearing them as soon as possible.  I still wear normal workout clothes, and some regular shirts, but I’m loving maternity clothes.  Mostly because they are tighter and show off my belly!
Stretch Marks: Not one!  I hope it stays that way.
Sleep: I’m still sleeping like a baby.  I don’t wake up at night, more like early morning, then back to bed.  Rufio makes sure I get up at a decent hour
Movement: Yes, I love every kick, thump, thud and roll.  I feel him all the time!
Food Cravings/Aversions: Fish really grosses me out, so I’m fully vegetarian now.  Eggplant just started to disgust me (it’s just a coincidence that the baby is the size of an eggplant)!  I’m really loving cheese and whole grain pasta right now.  And I have to have a piece of whole grain toast with peanut butter on a daily basis.  Oh, and grapefruit juice, and every kind of fruit imaginable.
Gender: It’s a boy!  We saw his little boy parts again this week.  He’s DEFINITELY a boy!
Belly Button In or Out: It’s still an innie, but is kind of starting to push it’s way out.  I have a long time before it pops (I think).
What I Miss: Red wine and sushi (even though fish skeeves me out).  RUNNING for sure!  Breaking a really good sweat, long walks (unless there are bathrooms on the way!)
What I am Looking Forward To: Starting to pick out nursery furniture and beginning to get the nursery ready in a few weeks.
Best Moment This Week: Seeing him again.  He’s just so perfect.

DSC05561
P.S.  I always end up taking belly pics at the end of the day, it’s amazing how much bigger the belly is in the evening after dinner as opposed to the morning!

10 Responses

  1. I always love the baby posts! He’s getting so big!

  2. i also love the baby posts. you are such a cute mommy!

  3. aww your baby is getting big!

  4. So much fun to read all about what you’re going through right now b/c that’ll be me before I know it!! Love your adorable bump!! 🙂

  5. So i don’t know HOW I missed the post about you moving! That is SO exciting!!! But I kinda knew it was coming!!

    And NICE shirt!!! 🙂

  6. I love the bump, you are so cute! It is a really odd feeling but very neat when the baby gets hiccups. I hope you get to feel it soon, if you like feeling him move around you will like it. My daughter had them ALL the time in late pregnancy, the only time it got a little annoying is when I was trying to sleep. The funny thing is even when she was a new born she still got hiccups all the time. I can not wait to be able to feel this one move and groove.

  7. congrats on your move! and your BUMP! you look great and i remember wanting wine SO bad when i was preg. Guess what, 3.5 yrs later, I still have not had a glass. I pretty much gave up drinking even though now i could, i just dont. Anyway, congrats on all this lovely stuff!

  8. I read the same updates every week. Babycenter is great 🙂 It really is amazing how much bigger I am int he evening than in the morning.

    Ruffio is so cute! I am also excited to move so that my kitties have stairs to run up and down!

  9. Congrats on the move!!!!

    Your baby bump looks so good!

  10. oh my god this is such a cute post!

Leave a Reply

