Peace Out Foam Roller-You’ve Been Replaced

I’ve mentioned before that I love my foam roller.  I do, I really do.  It hurts so damn good.

I’m not quite ready to break up with Mr. foam roller, but there’s a new sheriff in town.

First, I’m sore.  A lot.  Head to toe aching.  I just have to deal with muscle soreness right now.  It’s totally obvious why my hips hurt (getting ready for the little one), and all of my muscles generally hurt because of the chemical Relaxin going through my body which is relaxing my joints, which is ultimately making things a little achy.  I’ve been walking a ton, which is a lot more gentle than running on my body, but still working my muscles.

In addition to walking for fitness, I spent the day in Manhattan yesterday and walked a fair deal, in my sandals.  I’m paying for it now!  I knew I needed to do something to soothe my aching legs so I didn’t wake up all sore, so while I watched the season finale of Glee (how incredible was that by the way), I grabbed my new love…Mr. Tiger Tail.

Tiger Tail comes from The Pressure Positive Company.  It’s basically heaven in hand held form.   

Tiger Tail is an 18″ foam covered tool that lets you do self massage with rolling and compression techniques.  You can use it from head to toe pretty much.  I love to use it on  my quads, hamstrings, hips, calves (LOVE that), lower back, upper back, shoulders, biceps, triceps…you name it! 

I even use it on my feet!  I love this thing!  It hurts so good, just like the foam roller, but I think I can get even deeper into my muscles with this bad johnny.  Plus, I can actually bring it places with  me!  This will fit into a suitcase a lot more comfortably than a foam roller will!

Tiger Tail is also not nearly as big a production as my foam roller is.  I can just use it when I want it, a little bit at a time, rather than making sure I take time to foam roll, if you know what I mean.

What do you use to soothe your sore muscles?  Do you foam roll or would something more portable like Tiger Tail  be beneficial to you?

 

10 Responses

  1. Haha I just got done using my foam roller- I definitely think I could use something that gets a little deeper & isn’t such a hassle to use.

  2. I had my first Tiger Tail experience in college, and I totally agree that they are better than foam rollers! All of my friends who ran cross country used them – I loved the thing. The foam roller has nothin’ on it.

  3. I have the Stick. I don’t use it that often though.

  4. Tiger tails look awesome! Sometimes with the foam roller you have to get in such crazy positions and it’s just weird.

  5. I’ll have to check that out! I love my foam roller, but if this is even better then…

    Thanks for the tip!

  6. I love my foam roller! Interested in checking out the tiger tail though! The deeper the massage the better : )

  7. I looove my foam roller, but I do have The Stick and he lives at work so I can beat on myself when things get a little slow

  8. Your post was a bit too sexual for me to handle!

  9. I’ve never tried a foam roller but I need something. I would buy the tiger tail over the roller though. I can see my boys going crazy over the roller. 🙂

  10. I’ve never seen these before, and I agree with Solomon, I wasn’t sure what you were using this thing for at first.

    Anyway, I may have to try one of these out. I am going to try going back to the gym (after a LOOOOONG hiatus – about 3 years). Put little boy in the drop in care and work out for about an hour should be good for both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

