My At Home Spin Studio

I told you guys a few weeks ago how my dad gave me his wind trainer and I quickly became obsessed with it. 

DSC05192 I’ve been using this A TON lately (when I’m actually in town and at home, which is rare, especially lately).  Since I can’t run anymore until after the little boy comes along, I’m limited to what I can do for cardio.  Sure, I have tons of DVDs, and Fitness OnDemand, which are both awesome, but I like having other options too! 

Many days I take a nice long walk (with or without Rufio), but the weather has been quite crummy lately.  It’s cold and rainy, and to me, walking for pleasure and exercise in the rain is not necessary if there is something else I can do.  I’m not the biggest fan of the gym available to me, so this is such a great alternative.  Oh, and aside from the weather, I’m not supposed to bike outside anyway!  My center of balance is all screwed up (the belly I’m growing is to blame) and my chances of falling are higher I guess.  It’s just not worth the risk!

DSC05191This is actually my dad’s old bike.  It’s like 20 years old, and still in excellent condition!  He has a super light top of the line bike and had given this to my brother, but he wasn’t using it, so it was passed off to me.  Let’s just say…it’s a good thing I’m tall!  Such a difference between men’s bikes and women’s bikes!’

DSC05194 This is definitely set up like a racing bike, and leaning forward all of the time is a little uncomfortable for me, so I tend to just rest my hands on the elbow pads.  This bike even has a great computer which counts cadence, distance, mph and a whole bunch of other fun things.

DSC05193 I always make sure I stay well hydrated!  I usually have 2 bottles-one of ice water and one of 3/4 water, 1/4 Gatorade.  I usually manage to drink them both in about an hour.  I’ve always been a big water drinker though!

I have some DVDs called Spinervals which are spin classes that I can just throw into the DVD player and get a great workout with.  (You should all check them out…there are all different kinds of workouts, not just riding!)  Sometimes I also just put on a show I love (How I Met Your Mother On Demand!) and spin for 45 minutes to an hour.  I get such a great workout, and it’s a nice change of pace!

DSC05196 The best part is, Solomon has developed a love for the bike as well!  Hopefully, once I’m able to ride again, we’ll be able to take some rides together!  The only problem is, Solomon doesn’t have proper riding shorts!  We’ll remedy that soon though!

Do you ride a bike?  For fun or fitness?  What’s a great new workout you’ve tried recently?

10 Responses

  1. What a great idea! I love biking, but don’t do it very often. My bike needs some fixing up. And like you said, for now, my center of gravity is off too 🙂

    I was still running up until 2 weeks ago when I pulled a groin muscle. So the elliptical is my new best friend. I am hoping I can run again after this heals and I don’t have to wait until after the baby arrives. I miss it.

  2. That is such agreat idea. I love to bike, but we bike more for fun. I do teach spin, and for a while really wanted to get a spin bike for the basement. Now I want one all over again. 🙂

  3. So cool! I have a trainer, but it’s currently living at my parent’s house because I can ride year round in Arizona!

  4. I’m really into the Zumba right now, I’d love to get abike for the summer. Usually I just go riding with a friend, we borrow her brothers bikes. There just collecting dust. lol

  5. I can’t wait until the being sick all the time thing is over – I haven’t had a workout in far too long! Plus, I’m getting to the phase where I’m constantly hungry, so working off the extra calories is going to be important!

  6. I love spinning during pregnancy. It is a great low impact exercise that is easy adapt. I did it today in fact. Although it would be nice to have the option at home. I’m jealous of that!

  7. Yay! I love my (my husband’s) trainer! i just have the HARDEST time getting my bike on it. It can be so frustrating!

    That stinks that you can’t run!! Boo!

  8. congrats on the BOY!!!!!!!!!! how fun to find out, it must seem so much more real now, plus you can shop w/ a purpose 🙂

  9. That looks awesome. I want one. I do ride a bike, for exercise, but for fun too. I grew up riding my bike, even doing 20 miles when I was much younger (like 12), and we would ride to the PA state line and back on the hiker-biker trail. I just got a nice new bike but then the rainy season started so I have only used it once. I am trying to avoid it rusting out.

  10. […] throughout my pregnancy.  I ran until I was about 13 weeks.  Once I stopped running, I began to spin at home.  I also walked a lot (having an energetic dog helps).  I did prenatal yoga, and some light […]

Leave a Reply

