Casablanca

Not like the movie.  I’ve actually never seen it if you can believe it.  I guess I just find it necessary to watch Zoolander and Mean Girls over and over again, rather than bothering with the classics.  I’m so cultured.

Anyway, Solomon and I declared last night to be date night.  He’s working all weekend again, so I won’t get to see him at all.  We decided just to head up to Erie (besides we had some errands to run there) and went to Casablanca Grill for dinner.  We went once before, when we first moved out this way.  We took both of our moms and sat outside and ate until our full hearts content.  It was a fantastic meal.  Last night, not so much.

They seemed really unorganized and understaffed last night.  Plus, there were 2 live musicians playing who were just so LOUD, and not particularly good.  Kind of puts a damper on the evening.  We had to wait for 15 minutes, and almost left because we knew our table was ready, and they just didn’t seem to have it together, but we had such a great meal last time, that we decided to stick it out. 

We sat in the upstairs area, which has low tables and tons of pillows.  Sitting on pillows to eat a meal is not going go be repeated by us for a long, long time! 

DSC05077  DSC05078 Solomon and I decided to share a platter for our meal.  It came with a vegetarian lentil soup, which was spicy and smooth.  It was good, but Solomon said he likes mine better!

DSC05080

We shared the Casablanca Platter, but made some changes so it would be vegetarian (well, almost).  It had: hummus, baba ghanooj, tabooli, fattoush, falafel, fatayer (a flaky pastry filled with cheese) and sambusick (a flakey pastry filled with spiced meat, tomato and onions-Solomon had all of this!).  It also came with a ton of pita!

DSC05081 DSC05085 DSC05082 We hated it.

DSC05089 The food was just good, not great…we were really hungry.  Most of the reason our meal wasn’t so fantastic was because of the table next to us.  There were two incredibly drunk women who were loud and obnoxious.  They were nosy too.  Every time the waiter came to our table, they would blatantly turn and stare at us.  I just ended up staring right back until they turned around and whispered and kept glancing at me.  I just didn’t care though.  Anyway, we had to hear every word of their conversation, which I just don’t enjoy when I’m on a date with my husband!  Also, another table were loud eaters.  As I said, the music was loud, so I heard them slurping their soup and tea over the sound of the music.  I’m super sensitive to noises, and a lot of eating noises just gross me out so much (I know I’m not alone on this!).  It was just so icky to me! 

Sorry to complain so much, I just felt let down last night.  Onto better things…thank you so much for all of your sweet comments on my belly!  I thought this would be a fun way to share, and I’m glad you all liked them!  I don’t really like the way I look alone in pictures, so I don’t have any face shots, but I’ll definitely be showing more of myself,  in my pregnant glory, and not just my belly soon when it becomes more obvious!  Right now, I’m still in my normal clothes actually.  I had lost some weight before getting pregnant, and in the beginning, so my clothes were getting big, so they still fit!  Once I’m in maternity clothes, and very obviously pregnant, I’ll have lots more pictures to share!

One more thing before I go veg out… Have you all heard of Holey Donuts!?  They offer a low fat, low calorie, tasty donut that you don’t have to feel so guilty about.  Their product is all homemade and delicious.

aSAM1 They also offer killer cinnamon buns.

CBNEW You should all check them out!  If you have a sweet tooth and are looking for a less guilty way to satisfy it, Holey Donuts! is definitely worth checking out!

They are running a promotion right now, where EVERYBODY gets a credit for $19.27, even if you have never placed an order.  Just order 3 or more assortments and enter 1crdt at checkout to activate your credit.  Add the name of my blog to the gift message section to let them know you heard about it here!  This offer expires at the end of this weekend.  I really recommend you give them a try, you won’t regret it!

I told you guys what I don’t enjoy when dining out.  I think everyone has their own pet peeves.  Solomon doesn’t like it when people just say “I need this” or “I need that” to the waiter.  You don’t need it, you would please like to order it!  He also doesn’t like when people don’t even give the waiter a chance to say hello, and just jump in with “I need a Diet Coke.”  As former wait staff (both of us), we know how hard it is, and have respect for waiters. 

What is one of your pet peeves when dining out?  Do other patrons ever ruin a meal for you?

7 Responses

  1. I think my biggest dining out pet peeves are when the wait staff ignores us! Usually I’m hungry, so if you are taking forever to take my order, I’m going to get a little cranky…

  2. Oh I’ve never even heard Soloman’s two pet peaves happen, but that would totally both me if I did!!! I don’t really have a pet peeve when it comes to restaurants, but I don’t like when the restaurant is like empty and the hostess seats us practically on top of another couple. Or when the waiter doesn’t introduce themselves.

  3. I would love to get those donuts but I know it’s not a good idea for me so I shall abstain 😦

    One of my biggest pet peeves of dining is when the waiter is unattentive. When I go out to eat, it’s usually a “nice” place, super trendy/upscale and what not. That means its expensive and if I’m going to pay that much money, I better get some serious service!

    Other patrons don’t bother me so much unless they are obnoxiously loud or smell. Haha. My boyfriend HATES people and it bothers me how much he lets other people bother him. Haha, I hope that wasn’t toooo confusing!

    PS. I love Mediterranean food…hummus ❤

  4. Saw your profile on another page. Glad I read your well-written and informative blog. Look forward to following you here. Cheers!

  5. holey donuts! YUM! seriously, donuts are one of my FAVORITE things–even better than cookies–thanks for the link!

  6. That really blows about the ladies next to you, I hate people who can’t act like adults in public. And it just sucks when you want to go out for a nice meal and someone else ruins it. I hate that and people who ignore their kids and let them run amuck and go crazy.

    Those donuts look fab though!!

  7. Sorry the food wasn’t so good. We made babaganoush and hummus tonight and it was so good. I am going to Morocco this summer and one thing I am looking forward to the most is the food. And since you have not seen casa blanca, you MUST!

Leave a Reply

