The Produce Report

I’ve gotten several emails asking for belly pictures.  People just love a pregnant belly!  I thought it might be fun to show a few from the last few weeks.  I think I may just update this weekly and create a tab at the top of the blog.

I’ve been doing a lot of research, and it’s pretty cool what’s going on with my body right now.  I’m fascinated by the baby’s development, and love to know how it’s changing week by week.  I found a great site which demonstrates how big the baby is  in relation to fresh produce.  Right now, we call the baby by whatever fruit it is that week.  Once we know the sex, we may change that.

Now, I don’t really want to share any bare belly shots.  I’ve always kind of had a belly as long as I can remember.  Now matter how much I worked out, or how well I ate, the belly was there.  I have even done diets such as South Beach, which promote belly fat loss first, but that never quite worked out for me.  I’ve kind of just come to terms with my little squishy belly and moved on.  My belly is actually rock solid under the squish-abs of steel I tell you!  It’s just not a cute, toned tummy.  Also, I don’t want to show my bare belly pics, because many of them (especially from early on) are of a lot of bloat, which is normal in the beginning stages of pregnancy.  Not the best sight.  So without further ado…

Week 9: .9 inches long, .07 oz.

I know it’s actually supposedly the size of a green olive, but we decided it should be something sweet instead, and figured a grape was pretty comparable!  This is when the baby stopped being an embryo and became a fetus!

DSC04900

Week 10: 1.2 inches long, .14 oz.

It’s actually the size of a prune, but since a prune is kind of smushed up, we found out that it is also the size of a kumquat.  That just seemed better!  The arm and leg joints began to work this week. DSC04898

Week 11: 1.6 inches, .25 oz.

The fetus has a 1:1 ratio between the body and head.  The fingers and toes aren’t webbed anymore.  Hair follicles, tooth buds and nail beds are forming. DSC04899

Week 12: 2.1 inches, .49 oz.

Almost all of the baby’s systems are fully formed.

DSC04903

Week 13: 2.9 inches, .81 oz.

Baby has teeth and vocal cords and is approaching more normal proportions (the head is 1/3 the size of the body).  Intestines are moving from the umbilical cord into the baby’s tummy.

DSC04966

Week 14: 3.4 inches, 1.5 oz.

Officially into the 2nd trimester!  The baby’s toes are wiggling and baby is moving a lot more, doing things like sucking it’s thumb.  Organs are continuing to develop
DSC05007

Week 15: 4 inches, 2.5 oz.

The baby is more proportional…the legs are longer than the arms now.  All four limbs have functional joints

DSC05062

This picture made me think of Juno: “Wow! That shirt’s workin’ hard.”

DSC05063 There you have it!

So, what’s your favorite fruit?  Anything fun going on this weekend?

It’s supposed to be rainy, and Solomon is working all weekend :(.  We’re going out for dinner tonight (maybe Indian) and then I’m going to be doing tons of cooking and baking this weekend.  Tuesday I’m heading to Jersey, and that will be a whirlwind, so it will be great to be able to take it easy!

22 Responses

  1. I love this post! So creative and so exciting!!

  2. What a cute post!
    I love the movie Juno. Even more so now because I can totally relate to some of the things she says… like the shirt comment..made me lol.

    Do you have a feeling whether you are carrying a boy or girl?

  3. Super cute post! Everyone loves a belly pic 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re feeling well! Have a great weekend!

  4. so beautiful!!!! cant wait for all your baking and cooking! 🙂

  5. Ahhh girl you look GREAT! SO cute. 🙂 I love grapefruit! And strawberries. 🙂

  6. You look so cute! Isn’t it weird how when people become pregnant everyone feels that they have license to touch the belly all the time? I never really understood that. Anyway, I am a huge fan of grapes and pretty much any berry.

  7. such a cute post 🙂

  8. your baby bump is so cute!!!!!!

  9. No offense but this post does NOT make me want to eat fruit, haha. I do suddenly have an urge to watch Juno

  10. i love this post. such a fun way to keep us updated.

  11. I feel the same way about showing baby bump pics- its not a bump yet its just bloat! hehe! I plan to have a separate page also, once I start showing more- great idea! Once you can see some progress its really fun!

    ~Christie

  12. Love the post! Thanks for sharing! It is so neat to hear about all the different stages.
    Have a great weekend!

  13. aww i like the fruit pics!

  14. I love this report soooo much! What a cute idea. I can’t wait to see what fruit you get in the future! Maybe you’ll have to lug out a watermelon! 😉

  15. I love this post so much. Too cute with the fruit pics. My fave fruit is a kiwi.

  16. This is such a cute idea! I love the fruit with the belly pictures. And you look gorgeous and like such a cute preggo chick.

  17. Oh my gosh I love how you used the fruit to show the size of your baby! Too cute. And so funny to related the size of it to fruit 🙂 You have the cutest preggers belly!

  18. awwww this is such a cute post!

  19. omg when i was preg we used to compare skylar to a grape, jellybean, a strawberry, and an apple! gwenyth paltrow had just named her daughter apple but then she got bigger and grapefruit didnt sound quite as cute but we were hooked on having ” a name” to call her and by 20 weeks my hubs demaded to name her. so we could call her something other than cantelope, etc LOL

  20. that was such a great post! i love your last shirt – yay jersey girls!

  21. How adorable 🙂 I’m singing Baby Bumps to My Humps right now! The shirt is very cute also even though I am not a Jersey girl (but almost was)

  22. simply adorable!

Leave a comment