Mack on Some Cupcakes

I love me some cupcakes.  They rock my world.  I’ve loved them forever, even before they became the wicked trendy thing they are (wicked-a little Boston for you all this morning!).  Aside from loving the little cupcake shops (like Crumbs) and bakeries with great cupcakes (Magnolia), I also love to make them at home.  My favorite, go to recipe is from Magnolia.  Speaking of Magnolia, remember this?

I thought this was THE funniest thing I had ever seen when it came out.  Now it’s been trumped by other Lonely Island songs, like Natalie’s Rap and I’m on a Boat.  But everytime I make these cupcakes, I have to think of the Chronic-WHAT-cles of Narnia!  It’s a must!

Anyway, I love the recipe from Magnolia because it’s simple and delicious.  Just like with eggplant parmesan and pad thai, Solomon and I think a great way to judge any bakery that sells cupcakes is by trying their vanilla cupcake with vanilla frosting.  Simple, classic and a pretty good indicator of what else you can expect.  This is probably one of my favorite.  The cake is sweet and soft, packed with vanilla flavor and the frosting, oh the frosting…out of this world.  I could sit with a bowl of it and just eat spoonfuls (whatever, I have). 

So the cupcake recipe comes directly from the More from Magnolia cookbook, which I sadly don’t own, but found the recipe for online years ago.  I’ve tried a lot of vanilla cupcake recipes, and vanilla frosting recipes, yet I always always come back to this one.  On Saturday, I wanted to make some cupcakes to celebrate my friend Bob’s birthday, and got right to work making these.

I’m actually just going to share the link to the recipe, rather than typing it out, because I follow it to the T!  Check out how pretty the cupcakes are on the recipe page!

0743246616_4Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes

They come out golden and perfect, seriously, look how good this cupcake looks, even without frosting!

DSC05013 

I also follow the frosting recipe exactly.  There is some leftover sitting in my fridge, waiting for me…hmmmm, maybe a new oatmeal topping?

Magnolia’s Vanilla Buttercream

DSC05017

I can’t believe how much frosting I have left…danger, danger, danger!

I always like to use a bag and a tip to frost my cupcakes, rather than trying to smooth the frosting on.  I like a pretty, swirly design!  I put some red sugar crystals on top, just to make these more festive, and because they match the decor in Bob’s apartment!

DSC05006 If you were wondering what I carry cupcakes in (of course you were, it’s important stuff), I love this piece from Wilton.  It can carry a cake, 12 cupcakes or 24 mini cupcakes!

DSC05011 DSC05004 Pure cupcake perfection!

DSC05016 What’s your go to cupcake recipe?  Are you a fan of the classic vanilla/vanilla combo or something more fun?  Frosting-love it or hate it?

10 Responses

  1. Delicious post! My favorite cupcake I’ve had recently was just using bob’s red mill gluten free cake mix. And I loooooove frosting. If I had that much extra… It’d be gone all too soon

  2. I’ve made Magnolia cupcakes with you before: ) After consuming margaritas and hint of lime tostitos, of course. I have to say, I am not a big frosting person, but this recipe is AMAZING!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Morgan Sheena. Morgan Sheena said: Mack on Some Cupcakes: http://wp.me/pA5Ps-10b […]

  4. Those cupcakes look SO awesome!

  5. I love this chocolate cupcake recipe by pillsbury – it has sour cream in it – so delicious!

  6. LOVE these!!! I heart cupcakes but really sacred to make them from scratch on my own! im not so great in the baking department haha

    i would LOVE to try one of yours!

  7. BAHAHA– I LOVE that video!! I was seriously obsessed with it for a while. 🙂 I also love Michael Scott’s remake of it on The Office. Good times.

    Your cupcakes look professional!

    Don’t you just hate it when you love something for years, and then suddenly it becomes the next big trend? 😉

  8. I’m boring. Vanilla on vanilla is my all time favorite!

  9. Red velvet cupcakes are DEFINITELY my favorite!

  10. You have me totally craving a cupcake now. I love your icing job. Mine get all funny looking, but they never last long enough anyway. I love chocolate cake with buttercream icing.

Leave a Reply

