Tooey

I am so beyond tired this morning.  Last night we went to a wonderful seder at a professor’s house.  There were a lot of students there, but we had so much fun!  We laughed a lot, and ate some ridiculously amazing food.  They keep a vegetarian home, so everything was OK for me and delicious!  Don’t even get me started on dessert-mini cheesecakes, raspberry sorbet, chocolate mousse, chocolate caramel covered matza.  Heaven on a dessert plate.  It was weird for me to have dairy desserts after a holiday meal, but I rolled with it.

In case you are wondering, a seder is a ritual feast marking the holiday.  During it we tell the story of the Jews being freed from slavery in Egypt, by reading a text called a Haggadah.  There are special blessings, rituals, songs and things that we eat during this meal.

So whenever I go to someone’s house, it’s pretty much impossible for me to show up without something in hand, whether it’s a bottle of wine, or something I cooked myself.  Last night I decided I should make a vegetarian side dish that was simple, colorful and tasty.  After flipping through some cookbooks, I decided on ratatouille in my crockpot.  This is one of those dishes that my father in law will request I make sometimes, so I figured it would be a crowd hit.  The reason I call it Tooey, is because of my nephew Alex.  When he got the Ratatouille DVD a few years ago, he ALWAYS wanted to watch it, and would ask us to put Tooey on.  Like ‘nola, it stuck.

This is another dish from my favorite slow cooker cookbook, Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook.  I have no idea what drew my mom to this book (she gets me lots of cookbooks-feeds the addiction!), but I love, love, love it.  It’s getting all dog eared and stained, but I think that’s a sign of love!

Since I don’t have a kosher for Passover crock for my slow cooker, I used one of these, which I found last year in a kosher grocery store.

DSC04912 It was a little awkward to use, but made cleanup for easy!

First, I peeled an eggplant and cubed it into 1” pieces.  I put these into a colander and sprinkled them with salt to draw the moisture out.  I let it sit in the colander in the sink for an hour, then pressed out the water with the back of a spatula, then patted the eggplant dry with paper towels.

DSC04907While this was soaking away, I chopped up two bell peppers into squares, and did the same with a medium onion.

DSC04914 DSC04913The onion, eggplant and peppers went right into the crockpot along with a can of drained, diced tomatoes, and a few cloves of minced garlic.  Then I poured 1/2 cup of EVOO on top, and gave it all a stir.

DSC04915This cooked on low for 2 hours, and then I added 3 yellow squash and 3 zucchini that I had cut into slices.

DSC04917After an  hour on how, I put in a few leaves worth (5 or 6?) of freshly chopped basil, and some salt and pepper, and let it all cook on high for another hour.  That was it, all done.  There’s a reason I love my slow cooker so damn much.  You should get one, but I’ve told you that before.  You really should.

DSC04921 DSC04919I usually just have this as a side dish, and I think it was thoroughly enjoyed last night!  I love that it’s simple, bright and delicious!

I think I need to go nap now.  After coming home from the seder, Solomon and I decided it was a brilliant idea, and a necessity that we watch 24.  I mean, Jack Bauer is a necessity, but starting it at 11:30 was not bright.  Plus, we have another seder at the school tonight!  At least I don’t have to cook anything for that!

What’s your favorite side dish or dessert to bring to someone’s house?

8 Responses

  1. HEY swimmy twin!!
    aww sorry you are sooo tired!! eeek hopefully you can get some energy going as your day moves along! LOVING the CROCKPOT!!!….as we speak I’ve got my COOKER slowly making me a delicious dinner! it’s cold and rainy here in CA today, so the crockpot din din will be perfect! I hope you have a great tuesday!
    xoxo!

  2. If I’m trying to bring something healthy I usually offer to make a giant salad complete with homemade croutons, but if I’m going the unhealthy route I bring a cheesy potatoes dish we call Potatoes Jeffery in my family because they are my uncle’s favorite!

  3. That seder sounds awesome! I really miss my family seders now, and wish I had a bit of a community here to have one. The ‘tooey looks delicious, I love eggplant.

    And no way you can “pass over” 24 and Jack Bauer!!! 😉

  4. Im enjoying reading about all the Jewish traditions, keep it coming!

    My go to is an asian cole slaw recipe that I love and is easy to make. If I have no time, my go to is wine.

  5. Look at all those veggies! mmmm mmm! I love reading about the Jewish traditions, too. Keep at it!

    I usually bring a cold salad to other people’s homes – like a whole grain salad or pasta salad. Yum!

  6. Those liners are SO ingriging to me. If there is one thing i hate, it is cleaning my crock pot!!! Nasty stuff clings on to the sides for FOREVER, even after i soak the pot!! Ick!!!

    I love bringing baked goods like cakes to potlucks. 🙂 Next up would be chili and a pasta salad. EASYYY and cheap!

Leave a Reply

