Rachel’s Chili Brownies

My friend Rachel is the best, seriously.  She is the whole reason I even swam at Brandeis.  Somehow I met her on the first day of school, and she convinced me to swim.  We’ve been thick as thieves ever since, and have certainly gotten into our fair share of trouble.

Rach and I have a lot in common-we are both Jersey girls, former swimmers, love jelly beans, love aimlessly wandering Manhattan together for hours, think cheesy movies rock, rock climb, and most of all…we both LOVE food and drink.  A lot.

s299500058_587_2533 VERY OLD SCHOOL!  Very drunk.

6825_502466783376_299500058_15155_1493447_n NOT QUITE SO OLD SCHOOL…nice smile Morgan.  Ummmmmmmm

Anyway, the other day Rachel called me for some cooking advice (she was making one of my pizzas!).  Rachel is SUPER busy…she is an orthopedic surgery resident in Manhattan.  She’s pretty damn hardcore and awesome, but so busy helping people she doesn’t have very much time to cook.  She mentioned that when she has had time to cook, she has been making chili brownies.  That obviously drew my attention, so I immediately asked her to send me the recipe.  Well, the only problem is that Rachel said the brownies were too cakey, and she would like them more fudgy, did I think I could play around and fix it?

I was of course up for the challenge, and did a little research.  It turns out that a thicker batter will produce a more fudgy brownie.  I thought it would take a few tries to get it right, so I figured that I would make the brownies like Rachel said, and then add a little flour and/or cocoa powder to make it thicker.

Well, I managed to luck out with these on the first shot.  They were moist (does anyone else hate that word?), fudgy, chewy and delicious.  Solomon said they might be the best brownies I’ve ever made.  He brought them to work with him, and apparently they were a success.  I absolutely loved them, and can’t wait to make them again.  Thanks Rach!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground chipotle chile pepper
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup chopped Mexican chocolate or semisweet chocolate morsels
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • Preheat the oven to 325* F.

    Grease and flour an 11 by 7-inch baking pan or dish with 1 teaspoon of the butter and 1 tablespoon of the flour.  I actually didn’t do this part.  Instead I just used nonstick cooking spray in a glass baking dish.  I have never had a problem doing this in the past!

    Heat the remaining butter and the unsweetened chocolate in a bowl set over a pot of simmering water.  Stir occasionally, as the butter and chocolate will melt really slowly.  You can melt them together anyway you like, this just happens to be my preferred method.

    DSC04851
    In a medium bowl, stir together remaining flour, sugar, cinnamon, ground chipotle and cocoa powder. Add sugar mixture to melted chocolate mixture, stirring to combine. Add eggs, mixing until smooth. Stir in chopped chocolate or chocolate morsels.
    DSC04848 DSC04849 DSC04850

    Pour mixture into the prepared baking pan or dish. Bake until the center is set, and a knife comes out almost clean.  Bake between 35 and 40 minutes (37 was perfect for my brownies).

    DSC04853
    Avoid sticking your fork directly into the pan of brownies and eating them all at once.  Yes, they really are that good!

    DSC04870

    Have you had any success revamping recipes on your own?  What’s your favorite kind of brownie?

    11 Responses

    1. I have heard so much about chipotle brownies or cayenne in brownies but have never tried it! They look so good!

    2. could you two be any cuter?? love this!!! wowww those brownies look SO moist and yummy!!

    3. Brownies used to be one of my all time favorite desserts. I still love them but oddly prefer other things now. I blame pregnancy. It wonked up all my tastebuds. 😉 However, brownies MUST be fudgy for me to like them. So those look awesome!

    4. very interesting recipe….

    5. Surprisingly, chili is the one thing I don’t like with chocolate
      MY favorite brownies are easily either raw brownies with raw avocado buttercream or black bean brownies made with peanut butter chips

    6. I love the chili and chocolate combo! How spicy are these? I’m wondering if I can trick my boyfriend into eating them

    7. Hi Morgan!! Holy delicious that looks AMAZING!!!!! Chili brownies, yum! I love stuff thats a little bit spicy and has a kick to it, so these will suit me just perfectly!

      Dang, Rachel is hard core. So she likes to fix bones huh?? At least you know you’re taken care of right? hehehe

    8. Very cool. She sounds like a great friend and is was lucky you could help out with fixing this recipe. These looks great. My fave brownie is choc with choc chips.

    9. Nope! I am one of those people that tries to stray from a recipe and ends up messing the whole thing up.

    10. Can I just say how much I love brownies! I think they are one of my favorite desserts. I am very curious about these brownies..they look delicious! I might have to try them.
      I am trying to be better with experimenting or even swapping out ingredients but always worried I will mess it up.

    11. […] Robin and Dotan are coming up Thursday (they moved back from Israel), my parents are coming, Rachel and her new boyfriend are coming up, Pete and Lindsay are getting married, Justin and Robin are coming up, and then […]

    Leave a Reply

