Naked Chef

Sorry for peacing out on you all.  I feel like on the weekends the blog world gets a little quiet, and I just needed some time to spend with Solomon.  He works a lot, and we don’t get a whole ton of quality time together, which sucks if you ask me.  That being said, we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend together!

I loved reading all of your comments about milk.  Glad to know I’m not the only one who loves cow juice!  Oh, and thanks for all of the Rufio compliments.  I read them to him and he puffed his little chest out and felt so proud.  Actually wait, no he kept flinging toys at me to play with him and barking at squirrels.  That’s more like it. 

Anyway, one thing I do want to share from my weekend is what I did last night.  I did something I hardly ever do…stay up late to watch TV.  Right, I’m a wild woman, aren’t I?  Normally I just rely on my DVR if something is on late, but last night Solomon and I both felt it was worth staying up late.  For what, you ask? 

jfr-logo  
Jamie Oliver is a British chef who was known for quite some time as “The Naked Chef.”  He is determined to make the world a better place by the foods that we eat.  In England, he has campaigned for healthier school meals, realizing that children were eating poorly at schools, in addition to their homes.  He has been able to transform school kitchens in England.

Jamie has taken his same mission to America.  He wants to show that how and what kids eat at school and at home – a diet rich in processed foods – is causing a ton of healthy and obesity problems.

The show has Jamie going to Huntington, WV – “the most obese town, in the most obese region, in the most obese country in the world.”  Jamie hopes to get families cooking again, and eating real food, not just eating from a box and deep frying everything.  By taking over a school lunch program, showing families what they are eating and other options, and encouraging people to cook with a free kitchen and free cooking lessons downtown, Jamie hopes to plant a seed that becomes a phenomenon.  It’s really quite simple to eat real, nutritious food, and this starts at home and at the schools.

I don’t want to get into too much detail from the show, but here were some things Solomon and I took away from the preview:

  • Seeing family meals and school lunches without a vegetable, or where a french fry is considered a vegetable was shocking.
  • The ovens and stove in the school kitchen aren’t used to cook.  Nope, they are used to reheat foods that come premade and prepackaged.
  • Pizza for breakfast?  WTF
  • The waste killed me.  At one school lunch, almost all of the children threw out their side of fruit or vegetable, and their rolls, which were the only unprocessed item in their lunches. 
  • The fact that the woman in charge of school foods in the region thinks that the way these children eat is OK was disturbing.  I must assume she has some sort of degree in nutrition, and should know better.  I understand that the USDA has a heavy hand in school foods, and what is and is not allowed, but really?  Pizza for breakfast, chicken fingers and fries for lunch?  The kids don’t even have the option of fresh juice or water, they get milk – and most of them chose flavored milk – with their meals.
  • When Jamie cooked a school lunch, he included brown rice.  He was asked where his second bread component was, and told he had to include 2 “breads” with the meal.  So he was forced to thaw out some generic processed rolls, and was appalled he had to serve rice AND bread.  Meanwhile, the state mandated lunch had 2 servings of bread – the pizza crust.  Just the crust itself counted as 2 servings.  Ew.

I’m really interested to see if Jamie is able to change this town around, and I can’t wait to watch more.

If you want to learn more about Jamie’s Food Revolution, check it out here.  I think it’s a great idea, and I really hope it succeeds!

Did you watch Food Revolution?  What do you think of this?  What are your thoughts on school lunches near you?

12 Responses

  1. I didn’t get to watch, but I really want to! Did you see out local news keeps covering it and saying they are our ‘neighbors?’

  2. UNBELIEVEABLE!!!! I sat there in horror with a shocked look on my face for the ENTIRE hour…everyone should watch this program. It starts on Friday night.

  3. I watched about 1/2 of it. It seemed a little fake, especially with the crying, but at least the material in it was real and profound. The 2 servings of bread thing was what made me throw my hands up–that makes NO sense

  4. I watched it too! Really unbelievable. And no one has a problem with all those preservatives! I can’t wait to see what he does next haha

  5. ohh I wanted to see this! when was it on??

  6. Oh man! I really wanted to see this. I think it is a GREAT thing he is doing and I really hope it sticks. It really really makes me want to educate M as much as possible about healthy eating before she heads to school. I have a feeling I will be packing her lunches though.

  7. that wa son last night. aw man i was busy watching the gene simmons show. seriously.

    i could probably watch it on On Demand.

  8. Is it available online? I don’t get cable, and I’ve been curious about this show for a while. I checked out his book from the library, and it had a lot of wholesome, practical options that weren’t so over-the-top-healthy that people used to McD’s would balk, and most of them used really affordable ingredients. It was all food I would imagine my great-grandma serving up (not my grandma, unfortunately; that generation was already swept away by the post-WWII invention of boxed meals and TV dinners). I didn’t actually try any of them, because they were all for 4-6 servings and I cook for one (and they were really hard to halve), but I think he’s on the right track.

  9. I didn’t watch, but I remember the school lunches from when I was growing up and how awful they were! I brought a packed lunch every single day from kindergarten through high school

  10. For those who missed it, head here:

  11. Darn, I didn’t realize it was already on. I wanted to check it out. I will have to see when it is on again.
    I did see clips of it though.
    I work with kids and I hear how unhealthy the school lunches are..makes me very upset.
    Great review!

  12. i saw this show!!! i like the concept but thought it was kind of odd… though i do REALLY like the concept

    xoxoox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

