Like a Pizzeria Pizza

It’s no secret that we really like pizza, especially when it’s of the homemade variety.  We go through stages when we make homemade pizza at least once a week, then sometimes we forget completely about that, which is just stupid.  We went through a short pizza hiatus, which I hope to never repeat.  Now, Solomon and I are back into making pizza whenever we can.  It’s awesome.

Now, my heart almost broke right in two last night when Solomon suggested we order a pizza.  Why would we do that?  I can make one just as good, if not better, at home.  It was a no brainer.  I figured it might be best to try to mimic what we might get at a pizzeria.  We tend to be purists when it comes to ordering pizza.  Maybe it’s because Solomon was raised kosher, or because I’ve never met a vegetable I didn’t like, but we always tend to get pizza packed with vegetables.

I started off simply, making my favorite crust.  I then took some inspiration from my Todd English pizzas, and put some EVOO, S & P and minced garlic on top of the crust, which I baked in a 400 degree oven for 5 minutes before putting the toppings on.

DSC04771
Then came a layer of my homemade tomato sauce.  Honestly, if you’ve never made tomato sauce at home, what are you waiting for?  DO IT!

This was followed by a layer of thinly sliced veggies (red pepper, green pepper, red onion and mushrooms).  We also had a salad on the side, so I did all of the chopping at once.  I like when things make my life easier.

DSC04773 DSC04772 
Then, OF COURSE, came the cheese.  It’s not a pizza, and it’s basically not dinner at my house without the cheese.  Just shredded mozzarella. 

DSC04774
Finally, a little sprinkling of Italian seasoning right on top.  Even though my sauce is chock full of it, I figured why not?  Into the oven for 12 minutes, and out came perfection.

DSC04776 DSC04775
Solomon thought I went a little light on the cheese.  I was OK with it, but I added a bit more to make him  happy.  I had 2 small, delicious slices.

DSC04777
I’m really excited for leftovers of this.  Plus, I’m excited that I decided to start making pizza again after a short break.  The only bummer is that my pizza stone is broken right now, but I think I’m going to get a new one this weekend.  That way, I can also make more bagels!

That, my dear friends, is how to make your house smell like a pizzeria, for less money and more taste.  Not too shabby me thinks.

BTW, the winners of the Horizon Chocolate milk coupons are:

Katie (though I think her adorable son is going to benefit most from this!) and Morgan (not me!).  Email me your addresses when you get a chance girls so I can have Horizon send you your coupons!

What’s your favorite way to order pizza?  Or do you prefer to make it at home?

10 Responses

  1. That pizza looks so delicious. I think you’ve inspired me to make some homemade pizza tonight!

  2. oh no, what happened to your stone?

    i havent made homemade pizza in a LONG while. I should probably fix that sometime soon.

  3. You are seriously the pizza queen! I loooove pizza with pesto instead of tomato sauce

  4. We now like the new Domino’s pizza that we tailor to our likes (green pepper, mushroom, onions, sliced sausage, extra pepperoni & very light cheese….hubby hates the stuff but knows we have to have a bit on a pizza) and it is REALLY GOOD! However, I also make homemade pizza all the time. I do use premade dough & sauce from the store as I just do not have the time to make it myself (working mom & wife….hard to find time to run let alone bake/cook)………and we love it!

    Question – I got a pizza stone for xmas but it hasn’t worked out so well for me! =( First time the dough stuck to it and now it is baked on. I guess I wasn’t supposed to put unbaked dough on it right? Any advice on how to use it properly next time???

  5. Pizza rocks! We just got a pizza stone too so I hope ours works. Also got a pizza peel so we’ll see how that goes.

  6. mmm love homemade pizza! i still need to master a homemade delicious dough! me and my bf went to jerusalem pita for dinner last night in coolidge corner OMG it was amaaaazing! I grew up keeping kosher too 🙂

  7. We never order pizza- it’s the last thing we think of, but homemade pizza with Trader Joe’s whole wheat crust is where it’s at! My hubby loves lots of cheese too!

  8. Congrats to the winners!

    That pizza looks fantastic, Morgan! I love mushrooms on my pizza…and pepperoni too! If we make it at home we always put on fresh mozzarella balls and arugula — just like we had in Italy 🙂

  9. Wow, that pizza looks so good and the recipe for the dough seems fairly easy-score!!

    I prefer mine with light cheese and light sauce and load up on toppings. If I do order out (which is seldom), I always get pepperoni and shroom!

  10. That looks good. I’ve never made my own sauce. I make pizza a lot, but usually I use a tortilla. I do have some TJ’s pizza dough in my fridge that needs to be used so a real pizza might be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

