Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bagels

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!  I sure did.  I loved hearing about all of your parents, they sounds like great, funny people!

Even though I talk a lot about Beantown (that would be Boston), my roots are in Jersey, but I think you all knew that anyway.  Once a Jersey girl, always a Jersey girl, right?

When I first moved to Boston, I thought the bagels were the worst thing ever.  They weren’t light and chewy, the outsides were tough, and they were generally disappointing.  See, Jersey has some of the best bagels ever.  They are seriously perfect in every sense of the word.  It’s those teeny tiny mom and pop shops that make the best bagels (kind of like how the best pizza I ever had was in midtown Manhattan in a store where the awning just said “Beer and Pizza”.”  I wish I could find that place again).  Anyway, back to bagels.  In NJ they rock.  Another thing that rocks is bagel nuggets, which are munchkin size pieces of bagels.  I should make those too.

Being the bagel snob I am, I haven’t found any bagels around here that I love.  I figured the best way to remedy that was to just go ahead and make them myself.  I took some inspiration from my dear fried Mark, and went to work.

First I made some dough in the food processor.  I combined:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 cups bread flour
  • 2 tsp. yeast
  • 2 tbsp.  honey

I pulsed these all together for a few seconds, just to combine them, then poured about 1.5 cups water through the feed tube.  I let this process for about 30 seconds until a ball formed that was a little sticky.  If your dough does not form a ball and is dry, add water 1 tbsp. at a time and process a few seconds after each addition.  If your dough is too wet, do the same thing adding 1 tbsp. flour at a time.

Once the dough is done, I turned it out on my Silpat and kneaded it a few times, then put it in a bowl which I covered with a towel.  This rose for about 2 hours.  I went for a run, took a shower and played with Rufio.  Good times.

After two hours I put the dough back on the (floured) Silpat and deflated it, then let it sit under the towel for another ten minutes.  Next came the fun part.  I divided the dough into 10 balls (I eyeballed it, I would have used a kitchen scale if I had one!)

I rolled each piece into a little bowl, then used my thumbs to put a hole in the center.  I was then able to spread the dough out to make it bagel shaped.

DSC04212

Sure, they are a little lumpy looking, but who cares!  It’s also really important to keep the dough balls and the shaped bagels covered as you work with other ones.

Next, I put my pizza stone in a 400 degree oven and brought a huge pot of water up to a boil.  If you don’t have a pizza stone, check out my OpenSky Shop, I think it’s a MUST HAVE!  I put 5 bagels in at a time, without any problems and let them boil for one minute, before flipping them over and letting them boil for a minute on their other side.  I used a big slotted spoon to remove them and put them on a drying rack.

DSC04214

While these were boiling, I filled a small plate with old fashioned oats and dipped half of the bagels into them.  I love oats on bagels.

DSC04215

Once the bagels were done, I put them on my cake lifter to transfer them to the oven (I don’t have a peel).  This was really a waste of time since I ended up putting them all on the stone by hand.

DSC04217

These bad boys baked for about 25 minutes, until they came out all gloriously browned.
DSC04218
Look how the bottoms came out too…they look like they are from a real NJ bagel shop!

DSC04221

I think that one of the best ways to eat a bagel is as a fried egg sandwich.  Is there anything better than a fried egg?  I think not.  I probably love them so much because my mom had a fried egg sandwich for breakfast almost every morning when she was pregnant with me, but whatever, they rock.

Look how perfect that bagel is!  I feel so proud 🙂

DSC04725

DSC04726

A little Smart Balance and some avocado took this sandwich to a whole new level!

DSC04727 DSC04728 DSC04729
Perfection.  Absolutely wonderful breakfast perfection.  I could cry.

DSC04730

What’s your favorite kind of bagel?  What do you like to eat on your bagels?

Check out my Horizon chocolate milk giveaway!

23 Responses

  1. Never made bagels, and your’s look so yummy! I eat them every now and them – I don’t really like bread and they usually are too bready for me. But my absolute favorite is from Panera – asiago cheese!!!

  2. Hey…wait a minute…Massachusetts bagels are pretty darn good!

  3. I agree, Boston bagels are lame. Yours look pretty damn good though 😉

  4. Those look so good! I’ve never had NJ bagels, but have had my share of NY bagels…the ones we get in Scotland are awful in comparison.

    My all-time favourite bagel was the French toast flavour they used to sell at Starbucks. They discontinued it 😦 I love fruity bagels with cream cheese though!

  5. Morgan, you’re my hero! I’ve always seen recipes for making bagels but just assumed they were going to be super difficult (even though I make my own bread). I’ll definitely be trying to make some… and then I might be my husband’s hero – he loves fresh bagels.

  6. My favorite bagel is toasted with peanut butter and banana and honey on half of the bagel. You are very ambitious to make your own bagels.

  7. That reminds me I have to make bagels. Those look delicious. And with avocado and egg on top. Wow!

  8. before the healthy days i loved a blueberry bagel with a thick layer of strawberry creamcheese. yum.

    your pizza stone looks exactly like the one I have and has the same discoloration too. lol. i feel like making these bagels now.

  9. My favorite bagel is cinnamon raisin, but they’re a pain to make so I usually just stick with plain ol’ whole wheat.

  10. Lovely, and I love they are whole wheat. I need that recipe cause I keep making white flour bagels at home. They are actually so easy. I love poppy best with cream cheese and lox, but an egg and cheese is also delish!

  11. Homemade bagels are such work, good for you!
    I think I would make mine with blueberries AND chocolate; why does nobody do this combo?

  12. wow I have never made bagels before and always looked for a recipe! tthese look perfect! I bet theyt would be awesome with some flaxseed thrown in there too 🙂 egglands make the best eggs!

  13. yummmmmmmmmmmmm those look good!

    also, the minor typo of your mark bittman link made me laugh 🙂 i was like “but he doesn’t usually fry things . . . i’m confused!”

    (and don’t worry, i have typos galore on my site as well! my dad loves to point them out to me . . . .)

  14. i love love love everything bagels, but i wouldn’t even know how to start putting them together!

  15. When are you going to start accepting orders?! Those look ammmmmazing

  16. i am a gluten free vegan so these are out but you did a PERFECT! job on them…wow!

  17. […] Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bagels […]

  18. Oh my gosh…these look to die for! I am drooling right now. haha.
    I have never made bagels, bread, or pasta from scratch. I really should give it a try. The end result looks so worth it!

  19. those bagels look sweet

  20. I’ve never made my own bagels before. Yours look great. My favorite bagel is an everything bagel with cream cheese and tomato slices.

  21. oh my gosh these looks amazing! I want to make my own bagels!
    I’m pretty plain when it comes to bagels but I love them! My favorite is a plain bagel wish cream cheese : )

  22. […] Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bagels […]

  23. I am way behind on reading blogs, but I had to comment on this one. I am SO IMPRESSED with your bagels! They look incredible. When I get a pizza stone, I am totally going to try to make these!

Leave a comment