I’m as Mature as a 12 Year Old Boy

I made fish tacos the other night.  It made me laugh a lot because I am incredibly immature.  Like, beyond immature.  Sorry, don’t think I’m gross, I just had to put that out there.

But joking aside, they were good!  I knew I just wanted the fish with a separate sauce, rather than fish drowning in a creamy sauce.  I did some googling and came up with baja sauce recipe.  I’m not 100% sure why I chose to make it, since I tend to be a little scared of mayonnaise, but I did, and went light on the mayo.  It was only meh, I wouldn’t make it again.  Any good sauce ideas for fish tacos?

DSC04419

DSC04420

DSC04421

DSC04432

For the fish, I took a little help from Costco.

DSC04428

DSC04427

We rarely ever cook fish because I have this thing where I am totally grossed out by leftover fish.  I make it at home once in awhile.  I found these, which are individually wrapped tilapia fillets, so I think I will be way more inclined to make fish, since they are portioned out and leftovers won’t be a problem!

I put them in a small casserole dish that was sprayed with Pam and sprinkled with a little salt and pepper.  Then I sprinkled them really liberally with some taco seasoning.  
   DSC04423

They cooked away in a 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

DSC04429

I shredded them with a fork, then it was taco time!  I bought some cole slaw mix, and chopped up tomatoes and avocadoes.  With the sauce these were yummy, but I would definitely like a different sauce!  We made them on corn tortillas, which fell apart a little, but were so good!    DSC04430 DSC04431  DSC04433 
Do you make fish a lot at home?  Any tips to make the leftovers more palatable?

Fish is so good for you, but I just can’t bring myself to eat it the next day.  So glad I found single servings!

14 Responses

  1. What a great sauce recipe! I don’t cook much fish at home. I’m not too creative in that catergory. I need to venture out and try some recipes…

  2. Oh no. Keep the mayo AWAY from your Mexican food. Use sour cream or nonfat yogurt. I generally don’t use a cream sauce on my tacos at all, but if that’s what you’re going for I’d use some plain yogurt, a little cilantro/parsley, lime juice, garlic, and cumin. (Maybe a good smoked paprika if you have it too. Or some adobo sauce. Mmm.)

    I like my fish/shrimp tacos two ways. One is with a garlic lime chimichurri sauce, pico de gallo (or plain chopped tomatoes), a little bit of good lettuce (not iceberg), & feta cheese. (Trust me, feta is KEY.) The other way is to use a funky fruit salsa, I like Pace’s Chipotle Pineapple Mango. I’ll toss the fish/shrimp with the salsa, layer it on top of some lettuce, and add a dab of sour cream at the top + some fresh cilantro.

    I guess Mexican food is different all over the US, but I have never seen a “baja” sauce used in Texas, so I don’t know how these versions compare to what you’re looking for.

    Also, I’m surprised your tortillas fell apart. Did you warm them up before you used them?

  3. This may sound a little crazy, but I LOVE pesto on fish tacos!

  4. Those look delicious to me! I think I would make a lime and cilantro sour cream maybe?

    I really like fish baked in Italian sauces- marinara, pesto, etc.

  5. i really really love fish tacos!!! i love the title of this post too 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. I don’t make fish often at home. I am honestly not a huge seafood fan. I wish I were cause I know how good it is for you.
    I agree with the other comments, sour cream or yogurt might be better.

  7. I make tilapia all the time, but I never have leftovers of it. I am going to keep an eye out for individually wrapped frozen filets! I love guac with my fish tacos 🙂

  8. i hate leftover fish. i’m not big on leftover meat in general.

    if i buy a big piece of fish i make myself chop it into smaller portions, and then freeze most of it so that i won’t waste it.

    i love salmon with something a little sweet (like brown sugar) on top

  9. I love making a mango salsa for fish tacos….yum!

  10. I giggle every time I hear fish tacos so us immatures rock!

    I maybe make fish once every two wks at home but am contemplating giving up pork, red meat and chicken for Lent so may be making a lot more of it!

    That’s depressing about the sauce it looked like it had potential. I usually take some ranch mix in jalapeno, garlic and chile powder and spread in the taco (LOL sorry I crack myself up!)

  11. I have been craving fish tacos so much lately! Weird!

  12. I love fish tacos. Yours looked really good. I don’t do leftovers though. All leftovers have bad mojo in my book.

  13. Evidently, I’m a 12 year old boy as well. My comment was somewhat “inappropriate”. I apologize if I offended anyone.

  14. My husband would love this meal!

Leave a Reply

