I Used to Hate Running

I did.  A lot.  HATED IT.

I was always an athletic little kid.  I was swimming at 3 years old, and not just doggy paddling.  I loved to be in the water and would stay in until I was blue and pruny.  This love of the water led to me joining a summer swim team at 4, then swimming year round when I turned 7.

Somehow, around the time I started swimming full time, my dad convinced me to run with him.  I even remember my first pair of running shoes.  We went to the running store and I ended up with a blue pair of New Balances.  They were so pretty!  Kind of like this guy:

But kid sized!

I was also a bad ass little kid.  In addition to swimming and running, I competed in kid’s duathlons and triathlons, and ran quite a few races, including a weekly summer 5K series.  I was actually pretty good.  I once came in 5th overall in a triathlon and 1st out of all the girls.  I won a Garfield phone and a gift certificate.  Too bad it wasn’t a duck phone!

As I got older and more busy I would run less often.  I just stopped enjoying it.  I would run with my dad, but when I went out on my own, I often walked.  Once I hit high school I stopped swimming for a team.  I was so overextended with clubs, work and a million volunteer opportunities that I rarely worked out.  I taught swim lessons so I was getting into a pool and getting activity, but I only worked out about once a week.  Strangely, I never really struggled with my body and self image until college for some reason.

Anyway, I got to college and did the best thing ever…joined the swim team! (By the way, PLEASE do me a favor and click here to sign a petition to save the Brandeis Swim Team.  It would mean a lot to me!)

So we would run often for swim practice, and I came up with every excuse in the book to not run.  Here are a few of my favorites:

  • My neck is too sweaty.  I can’t run.
  • My body is going to reject this.
  • Getting lost (really lost!) on the way to our swim team bonding camping trip and figuring since we would be late we wouldn’t have to run 4 miles b/c they wouldn’t wait for us and getting Dairy Queen.  We thought it was a good excuse, we had to run anyway.
  • Running to my apartment or a friend’s apartment during team runs and watching Oprah and doing vodka shots.
  • Running is bad for you.

I always had a million reasons not to run during the season.

However, when we were off season I would run on a regular basis, with two of my best girls.  I also used the off season to learn to rock climb, which I love!

n299500058_3318_4640

By the way, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my love, Dr. Rachel!  I miss you girl!

I ran during the off season because I felt like I HAD TO and I hated every step of it.  When I was home for summers I ran with my dad.  I did this to stay in swimming shape, and because now I had body image issues.

Once swimming was over, I ran a ton, because I was scared of gaining weight.  Turns out I lost weight, because I realized I couldn’t eat like a swimmer anymore (just kidding, I never ate that much!).

Since then, I’ve gone through a lot of stages with running.  Mostly I would run everyday for 2 weeks, then be done with it.

This past October my 2 weeks went for a lot longer.  Suddenly, I was enjoying running and looking forward to it.  Once I got my cold weather gear, I felt even more committed.  I’m not sure what happened this time to finally make it click, but suddenly I enjoy running.  I’m certainly not a good runner, or fast at all, but my body stopped rejecting it.

I love what it’s doing for me.  I love the energy I get.  I love how tight my abs feel all of a sudden.  I love the new shape in my legs, and the fact that my clothes are slowly starting to get big again.  I love that running makes me want to eat better, and I’m sleeping so much better.

I never thought I’d say I love it.  EVER.  I hope this time my love of running sticks!

DSC04507

How did you start to love running?  If you don’t run, why don’t you love it?

Don’t forget about my Road ID giveaway!

20 Responses

  1. This gives me hope that MAYBE some day I will enjoy running.

  2. I am one of those weirdos that has always loved running, even when it was hard. And really, I think I loved it BECAUSE it was hard! I started running for the sake of running in junior high and I haven’t stopped. Running is my stress release, my “me” time, and it’s when I get my best thinking done!

  3. I never hated running.. but I didn’t start to really love it until my big bro got really sick in 2006. I ran to deal with my emotions… and now I LOVE IT. It’s been agreat friend…if running can be a friend 😉

  4. I used to hate it, but that was mostly because I thought I “couldn’t” run. After working up from running a half mile I’ve now run a half-marathon and love the challenge. I’m still slow but it feels great anyway 🙂

  5. I signed the petition for you! And I still hate running. Always have. I am just much more into kickboxing, spinning, and lifting. Maybe I just like to be motivated by being surrounded by others when working out. I’m not sure. I just don’t like to run.

  6. I started for the 2008 olympics and got hooked! It’s such great exercise and so freeing

  7. i don’t run because i’m allergic to the outdoors, and running makes it worse! (and running inside i just get bored. i have serious ADD issues at the gym)
    i love the idea of running, but any time i try i’m home in 10 minutes popping a claratin. if i’m going to be forcing my allergies to act up, i’d rather do yard work.

  8. I used to hate running as well and never thought I would be a “runner.” I was inspired by my little sister. I was so happy when I could run a minute straight without stopping lol. Now I am addicted and am training for a half-marathon. Yay for running!

  9. 1.) How did you fail to mention that I won a Hotkeys Electronic Keyboard at that very same triathlon???
    2.) Read the book born to run

  10. I think I liked accomplishing a set goal. Run for 1 mile – okay I completed it, let’s see if I can run for 2 next time.

  11. My dad introduced me to running at age 12 and I have loved it ever since…….I haven’t always ran over the 20+ years since but I do now and plan to for the rest of my life! =)

  12. ohh I think your love of running will def stick, girl! you sound so happy and clearly passionate about it!

    yay brandeis, about 19 minutes from where I live. My brother had his bar mitzvah in one of their halls! great school!

    I love running too! I cant wait for summer in boston so i can run outside!!

  13. Reading your post inspired me to want to run again…it’s been a while.
    I have always wanted to do a half marathon but I doubt myself before I even get started.
    I think I will try to get back with it. Thanks!

  14. great story! i always liked running but ive def used some of those excuses before!

  15. definitely just signed that petition. ive been swimming for years and its such a huge part of my life so much so that im pursuing a career in aquatics! good luck saving the team 🙂

  16. Hi!! thanks for commenting on my blog! sooo excited to find other swimmers! I swam at University of Washington for 4-years, and last May (after my senior year was over) they cut the men’s and women’s swim team due to budget cuts…so i know how you feel with the team petition! 😦 I always loved running, I use to pretend I was running away from the pool…I always thought swimming hurt SO MUCH MORE than running! LOVED this post, because i can totally relate to the being afraid of gaining weight after swim…I lost weight too, mainly a lot of muscle! No one believes me when I tell them I spent the last 16-years of my life swimming because I have a small upperbody and am built like a runner now. I hope you have a great week girlie! I can’t wait to read more of your blog…i’m adding you to my blogroll! 🙂
    xoxo!

  17. hey im a runner!
    you should check out my blog.

    http://runeatlove.blogspot.com/

  18. I used to hate running also! But, then I realized that if I don’t go running, I don’t get any alone time to sort out my thoughts and I feel like i’ll go a crazy. Before I relied on running as a release, I would sign up for 5k’s and 1/2 marathons to force myself to keep a pattern, and it worked!

    http://lemonadeandorigami.wordpress.com/

  19. […] chances pay off.  I used to hate running but now I love it.  I missed it while I was pregnant and am so happy to be running […]

Leave a Reply

