Running Safety and a Giveaway!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your support about my half marathon in May!  I’m so excited about it, and really feel like I have so many friends and supporters backing me up!  I’m excited about the whole training process, and can’t wait for race day!

As I’ve began running a lot more (how I became a “runner” post in the next day or so), I’ve realized that being safe isn’t just wearing the proper shoes.  There are some really important things to be aware of when running.  Always use common sense to be safe, and check yourself to make sure your colors are bright, your shoes are tied and you know where you are going!

It’s also important to:

  • Run AGAINST traffic if you are on the street, so you can see the cars coming towards you.
  • Be aware of your road.  Watch for cracks, bumps, branches, rocks or any other obstructions.
  • Be visible!  Wear bright and/or reflective colors so drivers can see you.  The more, the better!
  • Don’t run alone in the dark.
  • Don’t assume drivers see you, or will move out of the way.  Make eye contact when you can.
  • Watch out for other runners, walkers or cyclists.  Communicate a need to pass them, to keep both of you safe
  • CARRY ID

I never hit the road without some kind of ID with me, even if I’m just taking Rufio around the block.  If anything happens, you want medical personnel or anyone helping you to know WHO YOU ARE and WHO TO CONTACT in case of emergency.

Road ID offered to send me a gift card so I can try out some of their products myself.

nav_logo
Here is some information on this great company, directly from them!

  • Road ID manufactures the premier line of identification gear for outdoor athletes so they can be identified in case of emergency or accident.
  • Road ID is designed to give medically trained first responders the information they need to immediately contact family members, access medical information and prevent serious delays in case of injury. The company’s line of customized IDs is an integral part of any active person’s gear and can be worn on the wrist, shoe, ankle or around the neck.
  • A full line of innovative ID products is available for cyclists, runners, triathletes, skiers, kayakers and other outdoor enthusiasts.. Since 1999, the father-and-son-owned company has been providing safety gear to help make training and racing safer. For more information, please visit www.RoadID.com.
  • Our dream is to see the day where wearing ID is as common among athletes as wearing a seatbelt is among motorists.
  • Our mission is twofold: One, to educate outdoor enthusiasts (runners, cyclists, triathletes, skiers, snow boarders, kayakers, walkers, and anyone that doesn’t spend all of their time on the couch) about the importance of wearing ID. Two, to provide these athletes with innovative identification products that they will want to include as part of their gear.
  • Road ID comes in 6 STYLES (the Wrist ID Sport, the Wrist ID Elite, the Shoe ID, the Ankle ID, the Fixx ID (necklace), and the Shoe Pouch ID. Products range in price from U.S. $19.99-$29.99.
  • All orders ship in 2-3 business days with standard U.S. shipping at a cost of $1.49. International shipping (to the U.K., Australia, etc) is only US $2.49.
  • Road ID comes in 2 VERSIONS:  Original and Interactive. The Interactive Version is supported by the 24/7/365 Emergency Response System.  The Original Version has room for 6 lines of customized text. The Interactive Road ID requires a yearly membership to the Emergency Response System ($9.99/year).  The first year of membership to the Emergency Response System is FREE with the purchase of any Road ID. You can find a very informative interactive overview of the two versions on the homepage of our website, www.RoadID.com
  • Customers only pay one membership fee per Emergency Response Profile (ERP).  So, if they have 5 Road IDs assigned to 1 ERP, they only pay 1 annual fee, not 5.  In fact, they get a FREE year of membership with each ID purchase.  So, if they purchased 5 Interactive Road IDs, they get 5 years of membership for FREE.

I think they have a great mission, and some great morals, plus I LOVE supporting family owned companies, since I married into one!

Speaking of my family, since Solomon is so excited about becoming a runner, I offered him the bulk of the giftcard (you’ll see another way I carry ID later this week!)

He got an original wrist ID in black.

DSC04493 DSC04492
Rufio was very curious about it!

DSC04490
We were also able to get a Firefly Supernova, which is a SUPER bright flashing light that clips right to your clothing.  There’s no way a driver wouldn’t see you with this on!

products_ff_supernova_blink
We got a blue one!

DSC04496

Now, it’s giveaway time for one of you!  I’m super excited about being able to share this!

Road ID has offered a giftcard to one of you, so that you can stay safe on the road!  I’m going to give you 4 ways to enter!

  1. Leave a comment below telling me your most important safety tip!
  2. Go to the Road ID website, shop around, and comment below which item you want and why.
  3. Become a fan of Road ID on Facebook and/or Twitter, leave a comment below that says you have become a fan.
  4. Repost this contest on your blog and leave me a message that you did!

I’m leaving this contest open until February 15th!

60 Responses

  1. ohh this looks so awesome! this would be graet when I start running outside again when it gets warmer out!! my safety tip wuold be if you are running on a busy street, don’t play your music too loud so you can’t hear any cars!! 🙂

  2. I love the shoe pouch! what a smart idea to carry credit card, money, keys!!

  3. I follow Road ID on twitter 🙂

  4. Always carry an ID!

  5. I would get a firefly supernova. I love how they look!

  6. I tend to run at night, so I only run on town roads and wear reflectors and WHITE!

  7. I’d probaby get the firefly supernova…you know, running at night and all 🙂

  8. I follow Road ID on twitter already!!

  9. Definitely wear color and reflective material, it’s so hard to see people dressed all in black!

  10. i would definitely want the original wrist ID, i think its a great concept.

  11. ohh love this giveaway!

    I’d want the original wrist band. I don’t like clipping stuff to my shoe or wearing anything around my waist while running.

  12. My running safety tip is to always run with a buddy. If you can’t, always run on a well light, well occupied road! Working in the news business, I’ve heard so many stories of women getting abducted while running…don’t become a statistic!

  13. A safety tip is to wear white and don’t have your radio turned up too loud!

  14. I’d want the wrist ID – I think it’s a great idea and I don’t have anything like it.

  15. This sounds like the most duh tip ever but if running at night dress in light colors…

  16. Tell someone (ex. husband) when you think you’ll be back!

  17. I follow RoadID on twitter!

  18. I’d want the Shoe ID! 🙂

  19. I have a shoe id for my bike shoes and I NEED to get one for my running shoes too!

  20. i always make sure to wear running clothes with a pocket for my cell phone!

  21. I would love to win this as I have such a fear for running on the road! I would love to start running outside but I can’t get over my fears. =(

  22. I would like the wrist ID – you can NEVER be too careful

  23. An ID with you at all times

  24. It’s definitely important to have only one ear bud in while running–make sure your music isn’t so loud you can’t hear the cars!!

  25. This is more of a biking tip, but WEAR YOUR HELMET. It saved my dad’s life 13 years ago, so I’m a big helmet proponent!

  26. I really want the ankle ID… so convenient and out of the way!

  27. If you’re running on busy streets or neighborhoods, never assume a car pulling out of a driveway or parking lot will see you so always slow down.

  28. I would love the shoe id since I almost always run alone.

  29. I only run in the daytime and when there are a good amount of people around.

  30. Definitely the shoe ID.

  31. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  32. Great giveaway. I have been telling myself (and have had others telling me) for years that I need RoadID, but still haven’t gotten my act in gear and actually purchased it.

    My safety tip is to buy clothes with little reflectors built in. I started doing that because sometimes it gets dark a little earlier than I expected, or my run goes a little long, and I am out in the dusk or dark when I didn’t plan to be. Those small reflectors can make a difference as to whether a biker or driver sees you as the sun sets.

  33. Hey girl! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I was totally excited to see your comment 🙂 Lovely giveaway. My best safety tip is just to stay alert–never assume other people see you! xoxo

  34. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  35. if possible, drive the route before you run it so you know what to look out for, especially if you plan to run at night.

  36. Road ID is such a great idea! I’ve been a runner for almost 15 years, and never thought about the importance of having ID with me (yes, I’m ashamed to admit it!). As I’m getting more serious about training and such recently, these tips and accessory suggestions are great!

    My pick would have to be the ankle ID; convenient and inconspicuous while running.

  37. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  38. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  39. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  40. Dont run in the dark with out reflective clothes/lights! I would love a bracelet id 🙂

  41. […] Running Safety and a Giveaway! […]

  42. The main thing I do is wear reflective clothing if i’m running at dusk or dawn and I always tell someone, usually the bf where I’m going and when I expect to be back.

  43. I would love to get an elite road id. In black. “Cause black goes with everything!

  44. And I’m a fan on facebook!

  45. My biggest safety thing is only running during the day. Safety is definitely an aspect that I need to work on-and have- but there is always room for improvement.

  46. I’m a fan of road id on facebook

  47. I think I would get the shoe id because then it is always on my shoes and its one less thing I would have to remember

  48. my most important safety tip is don’t run with headphones!

  49. i’d want a road id elite because it looks so cool

  50. i follow on twitter

  51. and the linkage shall happen when i post this afternoon 🙂

  52. […] LiveLoveEatPlay’s having a giveaway and so is Shut Up and Run. Yay! Leave a Comment […]

  53. I hope I’m not too late…currently my best safety tip is running inside =( with the current 4ft of standing snow on all sidewalks and road shoulders, it just isn’t safe to risk it outside as much as I’d love to

  54. linked to you!

  55. I love the wrist ID elite in green!

  56. already a fan on fb =)

Leave a Reply

