Live, Love, Eat and…Run?

I am doing something I never thought I would do…running a half marathon!

I’m not doing it alone either. Solomon and our friend Rachel will be joining me!

We plan to run the Pittsburgh half marathon on May 2, and will be following Hal Higdon’s half marathon plan for novices. To keep myself accountable, I am putting the workout below, and will be adding my daily workouts, just to stay on track to myself, and all of you!

Are there any bloggers/readers/runners out there who are also running, either the half or whole marathon? I know of a few, and thought it would be fun to get together at some point that weekend! Please let me know!

In addition to tracking workouts here, I track my workouts and everything I eat on Google Docs. Solomon and I both have a document, and we share them with one another so we can critique/commend each others eating. Blogging everything I eat is just not for me, but this is a great way for us to stay accountable! If you’d like to see what I’m eating and have any comments/concerns about my eating habits, please let me know!

Morgan’s Food and Workout Journal

I’m also declaring this week “Running Week” here at Live, Love, Eat and Play!  I’m going to be reviewing some fun products (stay tuned for some giveaways!) and sharing some of my thoughts on going from someone who ran casually to finally being able to call myself a runner!

I’m really excited to do this, and so happy I have so many great people by my side, both physically and to support me!

BTW, if you talk to my dad (mom, Justin, Robo, Marlene, etc.) please DO NOT mention this to him!  I’m hoping my parents can make it to Pittsburgh and this would be a surprise for him!  See, my dad is a former marathoner and triathlete, and knew my heart always belonged to swimming, but I know he always hoped I’d be a runner.  I think he is going to be so surprised and proud of Solomon and I, so I’d like to keep this a surprise!

Please be sure to stay updated on my training at my half marathon page on the blog!

22 Responses

  1. That is so awesome! Good luck 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  2. Very exciting! I am following one of his plans for a half marathon in may too, good luck!

  3. YES! I cannot wait to follow along! i want to run a half marathon soon and you will be my inspiration 🙂

  4. WOO HOO!!!! It’s gonna rock! I’m so pumped…and if for some reason my foot can’t manage the full, I’m definitely doing the half with you !!

  5. Yes! You are going to do amazing! I’m running my first official half marathon this spring, too. With a good plan, it’s in the bag!

  6. You’re going to do awesome!!

    I’m not running that half-marathon, but I am going to follow the same plan for one this summer 🙂

  7. congrats girl! That sounds like so much fun. Im not a huge runner and havent done one but I think you will rock out!! Best of luck to ya!

  8. congrats on signing up for a halfie!

  9. sounds like such a great, solid plan!

    xxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. I’m running a half-marathon this spring too! (and roughly following hal higdon’s plan) Good luck with training!
    I’m excited for your “running week”! Great idea!

  11. Congrats Morgan! I’m training for a half in April. Hal’s plans are awesome and you are totally going to ROCK IT in May!

  12. That’s so cute that you are going to be make it a surprise for your dad! I love that!

  13. Your dad is going to be so excited! I look forward to hearing more about your training.

  14. That’s great that you signed up for a half! I’ve used that training plan before and had good results.

  15. hey morgan! sorry i havent commented lately, but i was just catching up and i read this post and i’m so elated for you! Runing a half marathon is going to be life changing i tell you! after i did mine in october, i never looked back and i can’t wait to begin training again! going for a goal and actually sticking with it, is the best feeling in the world! i followed Hal Higdon’s plan as well and it was great! you are going to do amazing and i’m so happy for you! 🙂

    oxoxox

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  16. Woo hoo, great plan! Can’t wait to run it and see you! I have used that exact same training plan before. Hope your parents can make it too… I have already told mine and they said they will be there 🙂

  17. […] Live, Love, Eat and…Run? […]

  18. […] just wanted to share a few quick facts about my dad, just for fun!  Oh, and he does know about the half marathon in May.  I knew he knew about the blog, but I didn’t think he checked it or anything.  […]

  19. […] For those of you that are new here (HI!), a few weeks ago I announced that Solomon (my husband) and I are running the Pittsburgh half marathon on May 2. […]

  20. […] Almost one year ago to the day, I announced I was going to be running a half marathon.  […]

Leave a Reply

