Ugly Soup

Keep those questions coming!  I’ll start doing some answers in the next day or so :).

So it’s snowing here…again.  What’s cool is that when I was outside going to the gym the snowflakes were these big, beautiful fluff balls.  When they landed on the car, you could actually see how different they were, and the six points on each, it was tres cool!

So I know that Punxsatawney Phil saw his shadow and all, but I’m having a hard time believing that we only have 6 weeks of winter left.  I can’t help but think that by mid-March, it’s still going to be snowing, a lot.  Am I right Meadvillers?  It’s incredible how used to it you get after awhile, but I really would love to go for a run without cold wind blowing in my face!  By the way, did you know they play Groundhog Day constantly on Groundhog Day?  That’s funny to me on so many levels!
 

With all the snow, I want something warm and tasty to fill my belly.  After my hardcore pizza the other night, I thought I should make something for dinner that required little to no work.  Since I didn’t plan ahead enough do throw something into my crockpot, I thought soup was a pretty good bet.  The reason I didn’t plan well this week is because it’s kind of a weird week for us.  Solomon is going away on business Wednesday through Friday, and then Friday we leave for Boston for the weekend.  We bought the basics at the grocery store, but kind of thought we could throw together meals with what was on hand!  It’s worked out well for us so far, but I wouldn’t normally do this.

We decided on black bean soup because, well…it’s awesome.  Seriously.  It’s filling, delicious and versatile.  I used a few different recipes to make my soup, primarily using Mark Bittman’s from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian

First I cooked 2 onions in some EVOO (no minced garlic, can you believe it?)

DSC04417
Once these were translucent, I add 1 tbsp. garlic powder, 1 tbsp. cumin, and 1 tbsp. taco seasoning, and let this cook for another minutes, stirring to combine the flavors. 

Then I added 3 cans of black beans and 4 cup vegetable stock.  I didn’t have any box, so I used bouillon cubes.  I forgot how salty they are, yuck!

DSC04418
I let this come to a boil, then simmer for about an hour, stirring once in awhile.  While this was going on, I was trying to create a website for my father in law.  I’ve basically taught myself HTML and CSS from scratch, but I’m still way confused.  Does anyone have any resources to help me with website design?  It’s a lot of fun, but very technical.  I like figuring it all out, but could use a little more help!

Anyway, right before I was ready to serve the soup, I added about 2 tbsp. lime juice and some Tapatio, just for shits and giggles. 

It looks like french onion soup to me:

DSC04424 
So I pureed it a bit, and made it surprisingly creamy.

DSC04435
I thought about putting some Greek yogurt on top, but a little avocado sounded good instead!  The best part about soup is the leftovers!  This keeps getting better and better.  Not beautiful, but so yummy!

Sorry for such a lack of pictures.  My camera was charging most of the time 🙂

What’s a not so pretty looking food (like my soup!) that you love?

12 Responses

  1. There’s nothing like a good black bean soup! Yummy. I love my ugly white bean puree. It just looks like a blob of white.

  2. It may be ugly, but it looks delicious!

  3. ummmm yum! my yummy ugly is avocado maple “pudding”

  4. Sounds delicious! I love refried beans and there is just no way to make them look pretty. Ditto with cocoa powder in oatmeal!

  5. It doesn’t look ugly to me 🙂

    I’d eat it 🙂

  6. Let’s see, a not so pretty food…sometimes chili looks not so pretty. I could go for some vegetarian french onion soup now.

  7. Sometimes I put amazing grass powder in my oatmeal which turns it into green mush….delicious green mush though!

  8. looooks so good!! lol i love food that is ugly but tastes awesome its like a nice little surprise:)
    amy<3

  9. I learned CSS, PHP, and some elements of JavaScript from the indomnitable w3schools (http://w3schools.com/css/default.asp). Of course, it also helps to have a professional web developer for a boyfriend.

  10. Did you take that picture of the snowflake??!! It’s gorgeous!

  11. That picture is AWESOME. did you take it? if so, I’d totally frame it and hang it in your house!

  12. My favorite ugly food is refried beans.

    That snowflake is cool!

Leave a Reply

