Super Charge Me!

I’m so happy you guys liked my post of Tu B’Shevat.  I love being able to share my religion and culture, and am so happy you are all interested to learn more!

Have you ever had a craving for something that you’ve never actually tasted?  Maybe someone mentions a food you’ve never tried and it sounds so good that you feel like you have to try it.  Or for no apparent reason you can’t stop thinking about one food that you’ve not only never eaten, but never seen anyone eat?

Strangely, this happens to me more than I care to think about.  Back when I ate meat, one day I wanted beef stew so badly, I couldn’t think about much else.  I had never even SEEN beef stew.  My mom never made it growing up, and I had never had it at a friend’s house or anything.  In fact, I never tried a lot of typical “comfort foods” until I was on my own, like pot roast, meatloaf or homemade mac and cheese.  She grew up in a house where my grandmother was (still is) a terrible cook, and her meals were like clockwork.  For example, Monday’s were chicken, Tuesday’s pot roast, Wednesday’s spaghetti, etc.  My mom also has awful memories of eating leftover cold meatloaf sandwiches with ketchup.  On Wonder Bread.  Ew.  Because so many of her food memories from her childhood weren’t so great, I never tried a whole ton of things, which had me craving them as I got older, and experimenting in the kitchen.

Now that I’ve gone off on a tangent and done a little bit of my meat eating reminiscing (I totally don’t miss it by the way!), let me get to the point.  The other day I really wanted cookies.  I just didn’t know what kind.  I wanted them all basically-peanut butter, chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin.  Which suddenly had me craving a recipe I’d had my eye on for quite some time, but never made…super-charge me cookies!  Once I decided I was going to make these, I really couldn’t think of much else.  Even though I have never tried them, I was fairly certain something really bad would happen if I didn’t make them right away.  So I got to work. 

I’m not really sure what had me craving a vegan cookie.  I’ve noticed that really buttery cookies do tend to make my tummy ache, so I definitely thought these were worth a try.  I was really happy with how they turned out!

I followed Dreena’s recipe almost exactly, making just a few changes based on what I had.  For dry ingredients, I used whole wheat flour instead of spelt flour, because that’s what was on hand.

DSC04354 
As for the wet ingredients, I used agave instead of maple syrup, since I seem to have a ton of it on hand and not enough maple syrup (perhaps because I find it necessary to drown my pancakes in maple syrup?)

DSC04357
I also used peanut butter instead of almond butter because I received some PB that I wanted to bake with.  Nanette at Krema sent me some of their all natural peanut butter to review.  The only thing in it is peanuts!  Their company is well over 100 years old, and it’s so simple and yummy!  I figured it might be best to bake with some of it, before I ate it by the spoonful.  Thank you so much Krema, I’m going to be searching high and low around me once I finish of these tubs.  Your PB rocks!

DSC04222

DSC04226  DSC04225 
I used this guy, since I figured creamy was my best bet for these cookies, since they are chock full of other goodies.

DSC04356 
I also used these cookies as a chance to use up something I received months ago, but hadn’t had a chance to review.  Tropical Traditions sent me a big tub o’ coconut oil.  Truthfully, before I even bothered trying to cook with it, I was using it as a moisturizer.  I heard it was a good idea.  It turned out to be a really good idea.  I have incredibly dry skin, and nothing seems to help it 100% (ANY ADVICE?), but the coconut oil made it less itchy!  Anyway, since the cookies called for coconut oil, I figured it was the best time to try it!

DSC04358 DSC04359
To be honest, I think it has a strange taste, but I can’t quite pinpoint what it is.  I think I need to give coconut oil another shot before I judge it fairly, but meh.

All together now (I used carob chips.  I heart them):

DSC04360
I ended up just mixing up the batter with my hands and forming the cookies by hand.  It made my life easier.

DSC04361
The finished product:

DSC04364 DSC04363  
Seriously, if you haven’t made these yet, you should.  They are so simple and so good!  They satisfied my cookie craving 100% and didn’t leave my stomach feeling funky.  If that’s what all vegan cookies taste like, I could be convinced to be vegan (maybe not, I really like cheese!), but  holy yum!

What’s your favorite kind of cookie?  Have you ever made something vegan that surprised you?

13 Responses

  1. I made Super Charge Me cookies on Thursday night!! It was the first time. I added a mashed banana, blueberry flaxseed, pecan butter, and dried figs – I LOVED them, they made my hubby gag…lol.

  2. I’ve been craving cookies lately, too! I’m actually planning on making Jessica’s chewy chocolate cookies tonight.. yumm! These super charge me vegan treats may be next on the list 🙂

  3. Those cookies look AMAZING!

  4. The cookies look great and that Krema PB is the bomb. I won some and I am soooo enoying it over here.

  5. Everytime I make something vegan with tofu or tempeh, it makes me so amazed and wonder why people don’t use it for protein more. Especially chinese dishes come out great

    I need to try these cookies! Peanut butter and coconut oil sound magnificent

  6. ha, i made these this week, too! So good.

    I’m planning another batch with pb + dark chocolate chips – I can’t wait!

  7. I bought some coconut oil a few weeks ago and I also don’t really know what to do with it. I did scramble some eggs in it and they were pretty good.

  8. Your cookies look quite yummy!!

  9. Mmm look good! Vegan food always surprises me! I love it!

  10. those cookies look fantastic- im hungry now!! haha

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  11. Thanks for loving my dad’s PB! I’m the daughter of Crazy Richard and I just started my own blog! Check it out when you can and keep eating our all-natural yummy PB! (Oh, and Nanette is my aunt too 🙂

  12. […] used Crazy Richard’s creamy peanut butter, which is so amazingly creamy, it reminds me of Skippy, and I forget that it’s JUST […]

  13. […] This meal has been a staple in our house for a few years at this point.  I usually have everything on hand, it’s filling and easy to make.  I think I had heard of sweet potato black bean burritos, but I’m not sure.  This was one of those random things I started to crave, even though I had never eaten them.   […]

Leave a Reply

