Humdeley Hummus

Rufio got his name from the movie Hook.  Once Solomon and I decided we were going to get a dog, and it was going to be a little boy, we racked our brains for a good name, and couldn’t agree on anything.  Out of nowhere, I said the name Rufio, and we decided it was perfect.  Our little boy is feisty, stubborn and adorable, and his name fits him so well. 

DSC04102 
The title of this post is actually completely about Rufio.  We have a family friend who is Israeli, and loves Rufio (and loves to feed him from the table when he thinks we’re not looking!).  Anyway, he always tells us that Rufio isnt’ a good dog’s name, and that we should rename him Hummus.  It even got to the point where if he wants Rufio, he just says “Hummus” and Ru goes running. 

So sometimes Solomon and I call him Hummus.  Somehow this morphed into “Humdeley, Humdeley Hummus.”  Not quite 100% sure why, but that’s another one he answers to.  Unless we say it REALLY high pitched, and then he just goes running. 

The point is, I wanted to share my hummus recipe I’ve been promising.  We really love hummus in my house.  A lot.  We also like to make Zohan jokes about putting hummus on everything in sight, but that’s another story for another day.  Anyway, we go through a ton of it, and are a little particular about what we like.  Obviously, texture really matters to me, as well as taste.  We like a little bit of spice and a lot of garlic.  Another Israeli friend (the same one who gave me the pita bread recipe) shared his hummus recipe with us, and now I don’t think I’ll ever be buying it in the store again!  Not only is it soooo easy and much cheaper to make at home, you can tailor the taste however you like it!  I’m offically obsessed.  Really.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin (optional)
  • juice of 1 lemon or 2 tbsp. bottle lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup sesame paste (tahini)

In a food processor or blender mash the chickpeas with garlic, salt, pepper, cumin, lemon juice and olive oil.

DSC04109 DSC04110

Add in the tahini and mix for 3-5 minutes until the whole mixture has a creamy texture.

DSC04108 DSC04116
If it is too thick, you can add 1 tbsp. of water at a time.

Flavor however you like-more lemon juice, more garlic, roasted red peppers, pine nuts.  The possibilities are endless!

We like it with some pine nuts and a little paprika on top.

DSC04041 DSC04039 DSC04040 
I’ve told you before that I have a big weakness for dips.  Pretty much any kind of dip.  So what’s your favorite kind of dip?  Hummus, guacamole, spinach artichoke?

Check out my “glitten” giveaway, courtesy of my mom!

19 Responses

  1. My fave is guacamole, but I have never tried making my own hummus!!

  2. Just to clarify…Morgan and I are not nuts and we do NOT make up random words. My family is Middle Eastern and my father speaks Arabic. Humdeley (actually pronounced Humdalah) means “Thank G-D” or “Praise G-D”. Morgan and I changed the pronounciation so that it rhymes with some other Arabic terms of endearment we use to call Rufio. The funny thing is that Morgan had NO idea what it meant
    🙂

  3. Guacamole for sure! That is a cute story by the way 😉

  4. I had a friend in college with the last name Barufi and we always called him Barufio (clearly, after a few beers we would shout Barufiooooooooooooo at him). Hummus is hands down my favorite dip!

  5. i love hummus! i haven’t made it in a while…

  6. yum!!! I need to make my own hummus!

  7. I use the Yehuda Tehina in my hummus as well. I love it. Sometimes I just want to spoon it over crackers. Who am I kidding? Sometimes I do just that.

  8. GOODNESS that hummus looks amazing!!! You got it to be so smooth and luscious looking…I’ve had that problem for…uh forever and have never been able to make something that professional looking!! AHHH yum!!

  9. Looks so good, but we don’t have tahini here and I have to make it if I want and I only have so many seasame seeds. I am waiting for my mom to send me some. I think it will ship ok if unopened. I may have to give your pita recipe a try since mine was not perfect.

  10. I have never made my own hummus — I am sure it is a million times better than the store bought ones. I love guacamole 🙂

  11. Salsa is my favorite kind of dip. Its so fresh and light. Love it. Hummus is a close second though. I love how nice and cremy yours looks. Awesome job girl! Have a great day!

  12. Ehhh… I think Rufio is a much better name for a dog than is Hummus! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  13. i love rufio! what a doll! isn’t homemade hummus the BEST?? i think hummus or guac are my favorite dips!

  14. that hummus looks so delicious 🙂 ilove guacamole!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. What an adorable pup!! 🙂 I’ve still never made hummus. I never think to pick up tahini. Your’s looks great!! My favorite healthy dip is salsa, favorite unhealthy but very delicious dip is spinach artichoke. Well it does have spinach, that should cancel out all of the naughty ingredients, right? 😉

  16. Well, it depends on the hummus. I’m very particular about my hummus! Good hummus > guacamole, but barely.

  17. Definitely guac, but I’m obsessed with avocados. Your hummus looks killer! I don’t have a food processor, so it’s hard to get it that smooth!

  18. That is a tough call. I LOVE guac but hummus is definitely up there too!
    Your hummus looks super tasty!

  19. […] some of my favorite tried and true products, such as my Hand Blender, my heart rate monitor, food processor and my favorite yoga mat!  I will also have products for the dogs in your life that Rufio loves, […]

Leave a Reply

