This is Nacho Normal Pizza

What do you call cheese that isn’t yours?

NACHO CHEESE!

Oh, that cracks me up everytime!

It’s been a long time since I made homemade pizza.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve made any in 2010.  Well, of course that had to be fixed! 

I asked Solomon to look through one of our many cookbooks to find a pizza he liked, or some sort of idea.  After flipping through our pizza cookbook, we decided to give Nacho Pizza a try!

I stuck pretty close to the recipe, making just a few changes, and omitting some things.  I started off with Jenna’s pizza dough, but this time I put it in a 450 degree oven for 5 minutes before I even put any of the toppings on.  This way I knew the crust would be nice and crispy, and we wouldn’t have to worry about undercooking it.

I then took a can of vegetarian refried beans and spread them on top, like a sauce.  I haven’t eaten vegetarian refried beans in years, I forgot how yummy and versatile they are!  Definitely need to get some more!

DSC04175 DSC04181 
While the crust was cooking away, I chopped up 3 plum tomatoes, which I combined with 1/2 tsp. each of oregano, cumin, salt and pepper.  It smelled so good! 

DSC04176 DSC04184 
Before I could put the tomatoes on the pizza, I put on a few handfuls of Monterey Jack/Colby cheese mix.

DSC04183 DSC04185 
Afterwards came the salsa verde.

DSC04188
I drizzled about 2/3 of a cup on top of the pizza.  Admittedly, not the most beautiful pizza, but I had high hopes, plus I don’t like to judge a book by it’s cover!

DSC04187
After 16 minutes in the oven, it really looked like ooey, gooey nachos. 

DSC04192 
The book recommended putting a few dollops of sour cream on top, which I didn’t do, because I dont’ really like it a whole lot.  I did put a whole lot of pickled jalapeno slices on for some extra spice!

Like I said, not the most beautiful pizza, but so good!  I love nachos, and have some portion control issues when it comes to them!  When I have a craving for nachos, I like knowing that even though this  isn’t the healthiest meal, it’s a much healthier option than fried tortilla chips, full fat cheese and who knows what else!  Solomon even found a way to make this more nacho like, and crumbled a few Tostitos scoops on top!

DSC04193 
I think next time I make this, I would add a red salsa as well, and maybe throw on some black beans and scallions.  I think it would really take the yumminess to the next level!

So I shared a corny joke…what’s your favorite joke"?

Check out my “glitten” giveaway, courtesy of my mom!

15 Responses

  1. LOOKS SO GOOD!!! I am so going to try it, love anything “Mexican”! =)

  2. That is an EXCELLENT recipe! Hubs and I love Mexican food, so we’ll be making this for sure!

  3. What do you call a sheep with no legs?

    A cloud! (that was definitely my favorite joke when I was little)

  4. Yay from scratch!!! You are so good in the kitchen already, but hooray for crust from scratch. This pizza looks great. We love pizza and often do our our dough. When in a rush we have purchased dough from a pizzeria. Didn’t know you could do that…but you can, at least everywhere we have tried.

  5. I’m kind of drooling over your pizza right now!

  6. I love the big jalapenos on top of your pizza! I have yet to make pizza dough from scratch. Maybe that should be one of my 2010 goals 🙂

  7. This looks absolutely amazing! And totally doable for a non-cook like me. 🙂

  8. What a great idea for a recipe! It seems simple and really healthy! 🙂

  9. I’ve been wanting to make a pizza like that for awhile, but always forget about it. Thanks for the reminder. It looks so delicious!! 🙂

  10. Yum.

    Why was six afraid of seven? Because 7 ate (8) 9. Not funny but the only joke I can think of!

  11. Oh yum, taco pizza…I will have to do this soon! We love homemade pizza here!

  12. Wow, love the pizza, and haha, I giggled when I read that corny joke! I love jokes that are so corny, becasue it’s not exactly funny, but you just can’t help lol-ing!

  13. OMG, that is my FAVORITE joke!! It gets me every time, too! Plus, that pizza looks amazing–I know my husband would devour it! xoxo

  14. […] now I’m relaxing after a day of errands and shopping.  I’m makinng my parents nacho pizza for dinner tonight, and I don’t know what tomorrow (any suggestions?).  Solomon is coming […]

  15. […] dinner, I combined two of my favorite loves—–nachos and pizza. I saw this recipe for Nacho Pizza on Morgan’s site and have been meaning to try […]

Leave a Reply

