I’m On a Bread Kick

It’s something about the weather maybe, but I can’t get enough bread.  Warm, crusty bread.  Soft, chewy bread.  Bread chock full of goodies.  Just bread.  Lots of it.

Whole Wheat Egg Bread

Olive Oil Salt Crackers

Whole Wheat Pita

Tortilla Chips

First  I made some olive oil salt bread, then came sourdough.  Of course I always love to make challah, even though it’s really easy.  Now I just make the dough every few weeks, and divide it into rolls which I freeze.  With 2 of us, there’s no need to have 2 big challahs every week!

Whole Wheat Egg Bread

First, I made some regular egg bread, which wasn’t too exciting.  A simple bread machine bread that had:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup + 2 Tbsp. warm water
  • 2 Tbsp. canola
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1.5 cups bread flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp. yeast


What made this bread so exciting wasn’t the bread itself, but what went on it.  Solomon and I found this beautiful smoked apple garlic cheddar at heaven Trader Joe’s, and we thought it would be perfect with the tomato preserves I won from Julie.


It made one of the most divine paninis I’ve ever had.  The preserves were sweet, but subtle, and paired so well with the ridiculously addictive cheese.


It was an amazing winter lunch with more Amy’s soup.  We gave the Fire Roasted Southwestern Vegetable a try.  We both really loved the smoky flavor, but agree the Spanish Bean and Rice is our favorite.  Either way, it was an amazing lunch!  I can’t wait to try more fun combinations with the preserves!

Olive Oil Salt Crackers

While the bread was cooking away in the bread machine, I made use of what was left of the olive oil salt bread.  A lot of times bread ends up going to waste, which is a shame.  I didn’t really love the idea of olive oil salt bread crumbs and I wasn’t about to make a bread pudding.  This bread wasn’t going to be right for a fattoush salad, so I decided to dry out what was left and make crackers similar to Melba toast!  I cut the bread into slices (about 1/4″ thick), spread them out on a baking sheet and put them in a 200º oven for about an hour and a half.  I turned them over about halfway through.  I wasn’t exactly sure when they would be done, but once I was able to snap one in half, they were finished!  Perfect with some homemade hummus (that recipes coming next week)!

Whole Wheat Pita

Another thing I adore is middle eastern food.  A LOT.  We have a lot of friends back in Boston who are Israeli or middle eastern, so I try to learn their recipes when I can.  In fact, Solomon’s father is middle eastern, so when we are with his family, we eat a lot of middle eastern inspired food.  A lot of that food involves pita.  My friend David gave me this recipe, and I couldn’t believe how easy it was!

First, I dissolved 2.5 tsp. yeast in 1 cup warm water.  Then I added 1 tsp. salt, 1.5 cups AP flour, and 1/5 cups whole wheat flour.  I let the KitchenAid mixer do it’s work, then covered the dough with a kitchen towel and let it sit for 3 hours.  Then I divided the dough into 6 balls, and flattened them out to make “rounds” (as well as I could!).


Don’t mind the burn marks on the baking sheet.  I burned it awhile ago making ebelskivers.  I love my ebelskiver pan so much!


Anyway, bake on an ungreased sheet in a 350º oven for 8-10 minutes, and you have pita!  They were super puffy when they came out of the oven, and were nice and doughy, like real pita, rather than the packaged stuff.


Solomon said it tasted just like the stuff from Israel, and you know what?  They were fantastic!  I felt soooo proud of myself for making pitas, and I don’t think I’ll ever buy them again.  Simple and delicious, can’t go wrong!

Tortilla Chips

Also on tap this week were tortilla chips.  I have a major problem when it cames to tortilla chips.  I like them a lot.  No wait, I love them a lot.  A LOT.  This is one of the foods that I really have no self control with.  I could sit and eat chips with salsa or guacamole forever.  I especially love Red Hot Blues blue corn chips, and Hint of Lime Tostitoes, especially in a Tiffany crystal bowl (right Robin and Sue?).  As I was staring at all of the amazing options in the grocery store, I thought to myself that I could do this on my own!  So instead of buying chips, I bought some corn tortillas.

I cut 12 tortillas into 6 pieces each and spread them out on baking sheets.  I gave them a liberal spray of Pam, and sprinkled on lots of taco seasoning.

Into a 350º oven for 15 minutes and that was it!  The best part is some of them curled up on the sides, which I love.  I always pick out the chips that are curled up and eat those first, anyone else?  These were nice and crispy, plus I love the taco flavoring!  The only thing is they tasted healthy, like baked chips, but they totally satisfied my chips craving.  I like my chips really salty, and like that they are a little unhealthy, but this is an amazing substitute.

I’ve been having so much fun with breads lately.  What else should I make?

Who caught Jersey Shore last night?  I will say that even though I never hung out with him in high school (I was the AP and honors dork, and he was well…the same), Mike doesn’t seem to have changed one bit!  Honestly, what do you guys think of “the Situation?”

What’s up for the weekend?  Any fun plans?

We’re heading to a brewery tonight with some friends, then having friends over tomorrow.  Solomon and I want to go swimming one day, and I think we may start a half marathon training plan (more on that later on!)

I’ll pick a winner tonight, and post it tomorrow for the Waterpik giveaway!

19 Responses

  1. if I could only live on one food for the rest of my life it would be bread . . . further more I am SO INTO the making tortillas into chips too lately . . . so crunchy and not too salty

  2. That cheese looks incredible, as do all of your carby deliciousness!

  3. OMG!!!

    I totally LOVE bread and so wish I could make all of the stuff you made, looks SO GOOD!!! =) Wow, the challah looks amazing. I have never made bread of any kind, but always wanted too…….I so need a bread maker now!

  4. Your sandwich looks amazing! And I am so impressed by the pita bread….yum!

  5. Man do I love carbs–and all of this looks like a FANTASTIC why to indulge 🙂

  6. I love homemade bread. It’s the best thing ever!

  7. looove all hte bread- nothing like homemade 😀
    this weekend i am getting ready to go back to school!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. I love bread. I love it so much. I loved this post. I loved looking at the pictures. I loved thinking about eating the bread. I just loved it all.

    I’m trying to stay away from gluten…can you tell?

  9. Oh goodness, everything looks so good!! I never thought about making my own pita bread… looks so good!! 🙂

    I do not like Mike for many reasons, but one that sticks in my mind is that rude comment he said to Snookie about her weight. LOW. Ugh.

  10. Wow, all I can say is I am so super impressed by you. 🙂

  11. Glad you liked the sandwich! Now I think I need to go get some more cheese when I get home, so I can make another one!

    Your bread looks delicious. I just got the book “Healthy Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day,” and I can’t wait to try it.

  12. Challah rules. The Portuguese sweet bread here is great and it reminds me a little of challah. I am bread crazy too these days with my bread machine. I am glad to see your pitas. We are making some this weekend.

  13. my favorite carb is some yummy bread. My mom baked some bread yesterday…garlic! yum

  14. Perfect timing — I for once have NO plans on a Sunday, and baking bread seems like the perfect task!

    Thanks!

  15. Yum – I love bread and that panini looks great!

  16. […] from Live/Love/Eat and Play sent me a kicked up panini:  Apple smoked garlic cheddar cheese panini with tomato preserves (on a side note – I need to find that […]

  17. […] breadcrumbs all over the top.  Last time I made it, I used homemade breadcrumbs, from my whole wheat egg bread.  Since I was using plain breadcrumbs, I also sprinkled a few handfuls of Italian seasoning on […]

Leave a Reply

