It’s Pie ‘Fu!

For some reason, my family has this thing for Mr. T.  We’re not big A-Team fans or anything, but Mr. T just seems to come up in conversation on a regular basis.  Either Rocky III is on (my heart belongs to Rocky IV-what’s your favorite Rocky movie?), we’re trying to explain who Mr. T is to  my brother’s girlfriend (she claims she’s never heard of him?!?! Crazy girl!), or we’re playing with my dad’s “Mr. T. in Your Pocket” (I kid you not).

I wish I was kidding about this.  My dad thinks this is the world’s greatest toy.  He likes to come up to us, or the dogs and press one of the buttons and laugh like a little kid.  It says the following gems:

  • I pity the fool.
  • Don’t gimme no back talk, sucka.
  • Quit your jibba jabba.
  • Don’t make me mad, grrrrrrrr
  • First name mister, middle name period, last name T. (my personal favorite)
  • Shut up, fool.

This kind of explains the title of the post (at least in my mind).  Anything involving tofu makes me think of Mr. T.  Why you ask?  He says fool a lot, and it sounds like ‘fu, which makes me think of tofu.  It’s a special little world that I live in.  Don’t judge me!

Moving on…I finally got a chance to try silken tofu for the first time ever (about a week ago, I just didn’t write this until now just because).  I was kind of thrown by the fact that silken tofu is sold in boxes that are not refrigerated, but I figured it couldn’t be that awful.  It was really slimy, and needed to be drained before we could use it.  I don’t know where my mom got this awesome tea strainer, but it was the perfect thing to drain the tofu in!  I want one to make greek yogurt with!

DSC03912

Why the silken tofu you ask?  Well, my mom got Alton Brown’s newest book, and we thought it might be fun to try out his Moo-Less Chocolate Pie!  It was SOOOO easy!  Here’s what you need, with our small changes:

  • 2 cups chocolate chips,
  • 1/3 cup coffee liqueur (Kahlua)
  • 1 block silken tofu
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 prepared granola crust

Melt Kahlua and chocolate in a bowl over a pot of simmering water.  Perhaps throw a little Kahlua into your cup of coffee.  Just because.

DSC03908 DSC03907

Once the chocolate and Kahlua are melted, stir in vanilla.

Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in you mom’s VitaMix.  Stare at it longingly and try not to be too jealous that you don’t own one.  Be happy that you got to use some fun honey instead of Mr. Bear kind.

DSC03914 DSC03917
Check out this cool pie crust we found.  It’s made from whole grain rolled oats, palm oil, whole grain rolled wheat, brown sugar, oat flour, sugar, canola oil, coconut, rice flour, almonds, acacia gum, whey, honey, salt, baking soda, malted barley flour, wheat flour, dextrose. Not too shabby I think!

Pour your pie filling into the pie crust and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

DSC03918
DSC03919
Que Bella!  I realize the irony in the fact that there is whey in the crust, and the filling is “moo-less.”  I really do.  Be warned, It’s about to get more ironic.

We decided to throw together some whipped cream.  Just heavy cream, vanilla extract and a little sugar.

DSC03928
I decided it would be fun to use a Ziploc bag and make the pie a little fancier.  I also dusted some cocoa on top.

DSC03926
The verdict?  YUMM-O!  All of the men liked it (men who think tofu is weird), and said they would definitely eat it again.  I of course loved it and gobbled up my slice faster than you can say “Don’t give me no back talk, sucka!”  I was completely and totally surprised by this.  Truthfully, you couldn’t even tell that it was tofu!  I had a little problem eating it though, but that’s only because I had just finished reading The Help.  If you read it, you  know what I mean.  If you didn’t, you don’t want to!

Anyway, I can’t wait to experiment more with silken tofu.  I think my mom attempted to make (wait for it) Tirami-‘fu.  Yes, she went there.  Speaking of my mom, there’s going to be a really fun giveaway in the next day or so courtesy of her (something to keep you warm in this freezing cold that has taken over!)

Have you ever baked with silken tofu?  What’s your favorite thing you’ve made with it?

Don’t forget about my Waterpik Electric Toothbrush giveaway!

To celebrate being in the gifting suite of the Golden Globes,  [me] & goji is having a contest where you can win free cereal for a year!  Check them out on facebook too!

15 Responses

  1. I’ve never had tofu, but that pie looks amazing!

  2. I’ve never baked with tofu, but that pie might just convince me to!

  3. lol, i know what you mean about The Help. but the book was really good. def one of my faves!

    wonder if they still sell those Mr t. in your pocket things….

  4. OMG. That pie looks amazing!! 🙂

  5. I haven’t read The Help, but I have a pretty good hunch what was done to the chocolate pie. What with the color and all.

    I usually make my pies the long way, with cornstarch, cocoa and sugar in soy milk on the stove, but if I ever want to make one with less effort I’ll remember to pick up some silken tofu.

  6. Love that you used the tea strainer on this. The pie looks great. My sis does a tofu PB choc pie and she says no one ever notices that it is vegan.

  7. Wow! That looks sooooo good. *drool* I love Alton Brown and should give his books a try.

    Mr. T made some very funny commercials for the game World of Warcraft too. They crack me up!

  8. That pie sounds awesome!

  9. Your pie is so beautiful!

  10. That looks amazingly delicious 🙂

  11. Haha about the Help! I can see why! It still looks really good though.

  12. great job on the pie!
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/11/vegan-no-bake-pumpkin-pie-gluten-soy.html
    so that you never have to buy another pie crust. homemade, and since you have a Vita. Takes you about 3 mins, not kidding 🙂

    Thx for the chia contest entries!

  13. oh my gosh that pie looks heavenly! never tried tofu in pie or pudding..but ive heard awesome things

  14. Random – I just saw that tea strainer at World Market/Cost Plus.
    I love the irony of the dairy topping – rocks! I actually do the same thing – experiment with making something with soy, and then since I’m not doing the dairy free thing I’ll serve it to myself with dairy. It’s the mentality of if you’re cooking with soy you must be trying to be dairy free – but we can use soy regardless right?
    I remember making my first chocolate tofu pie – I didn’t actually use a pie crust – so I basically made chocolate tofu pudding – and just munched on it as dessert for the next several days – my husband thought I was nuts 🙂 Ah well, that’s life.

Leave a Reply

