Amy’s and Yoga

Happy Friday!  This week sure dragged on, didn’t it?  Is it just me?  Maybe because we have mountains of snow (it’s STILL snowing) here and I’ve had a hacking cough for well over a week it feels like that to me.

Solomon and I had a lot going on for us this week, lots of talks to have, and I’m really excited for a few things coming up for us (hopefully!).  We’re going to be heading to Boston early February, and might take a day trip this weekend.

The snow is so heavy it just doesn’t seem worth it to me to head to the gym, especially when I can workout at home.  There’s absolutely no way I’m heading outside to run in this, and because of this ridic cold that won’t go away, I’m trying to take it easy.  I’ve been doing a ton of Dave Farmar podcasts, and am falling in love with yoga all over again.  I’ve never tried hot yoga, and I think that’s next on my list (if there is anywhere near me).  I love how strong and flexible I feel, plus I’m CALM.  Weird for me.  I’ve moved where I practice to my living room because we have a big picture window, and I love looking outside while I hold poses.  Check out my view!

DSC03995
I still can’t believe all of that snow!  I just love how peaceful and calm it looks out there.  I’m not a calm person, so I think it’s really good for me.  What keeps you calm and centered when you do yoga?

I do have one constant distraction when I practice, but he’s so cute, I’ll have to forgive him!  However, there’s nothing quite like doing a downward dog and having your face licked, or posing in Warrior 2 while a dog tries to fling toys at you so you’ll play with him, or having him bark and howl while you say “om”.  Because, clearly, he doesn’t get enough attention as it is!

DSC03523

Aside from craving yoga, I’m craving comfort food in this cold.  Last night all I could think about was soup.  I made a big pot and it was a disaster, leaving Solomon and I wondering what to eat.  Then I remembered that Amy’s totally surprised me with a package before the holidays that I forgot about with all the craziness.  They sent me 3 of their soups to try out.

We decided to try the Organic Chunky Tomato Bisque and heated it up.  Solomon and I both took a bite and neither of us really liked it.  It was a little too acidic for my taste, and Solomon thought it tasted artificial.  I hated wasting it, but that’s the way the cooking crumbles sometimes.

DSC03991

So instead, we heated up Amy’s newest soup, Organic Hearty Spanish Rice and Red Bean Soup. This was FANTASTIC!  It was full of veggies and beans and each bite was packed with flavor.  It had a nice kick to it (yes, I added Frank’s anyway) and was really hearty.  We each put some shredded cheese and fresh avocado in our soup bowls just to make them more filling.  Usually, soup isn’t enough for dinner for either of us, but this one was!  I’m going to be stalking my grocery store for this, and stocking up big time!

DSC03992 DSC03993 DSC03994

We also have a can of Organic Fire Roasted Southwestern Vegetable to try, and a cute little Amy’s bag, which is going to be Solomon’s new lunch bag.  Thanks Amy’s!

DSC03997 DSC03996
I also made a quick bread to go with this meal, modified courtesy of Mark Bittman.  It was really flavorful.  Probably not the best bread to go with the soup we ate, but what can you do?

Olive OIl Salt Bread

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1.5 cups AP flour
  • 1/5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. sea salt, plus more for sprinkling

-Preheat oven to 375.  Spray and 8 x 8 baking pan with non stick spray.
-Put flours, baking powder and salt into food processor, and turn it on.  Pour the olive oil through the feed tube, then about 1 cup of warm water.  Let this process 30 seconds and check your dough.  It should be an easy to handle ball.  If it is too dry add more water and process.  If it is too wet and flour and process.
-Transfer the tough to pan and press until it fits to the edges.  Flip it over and press in again.  Cover with tin foil and bake 20 minutes.  Remove foil, sprinkle with a little salt and bake for another 20-25 minutes until top begins to brown.

DSC03989
What do you do when a meal you planned turns out badly?  Do you have a go-to default meal?

What’s on tap for this weekend?

I’ll be picking a winner for the Chocomize giveaway this afternoon and posting tomorrow.  I have another giveaway coming up Monday (I feel like I have been doing tons of giveaways, I love it!)!

By the way, my computer problem is all fixed, here are what my amazing Chocomize chocolates looked like (before I devoured them!):

DSC03847 DSC03852

13 Responses

  1. It looks like your doggie wants in on the yoga action!! 🙂 So cute. Your bread looks amazing…and it sounds sooo good.

  2. I love Dave Farmar podcasts too! I find I become more centered in yoga the more often I practice. If I just practice once a week then I am a mess but if I practice every day or so it is easier to focus.

  3. That bread sounds so simple but I bet it’s awesome with a flavorful olive oil

  4. Olive Oil Salt Bread…that sounds wonderful! Mmm! Looks pretty easy, too : )

    Your pup is so cute on your yoga mat! I wish I could get into yoga but I don’t really “get” it. I can think of so many ways to relax that I don’t get to now, I hate adding another thing to the list in the “don’t have time for it” column 😦 People rave about yoga, and I want to “get it”…ah, maybe someday!

  5. My cats love to “help” me exercise when I get down on the ground! I think they like the smell when I come in from a really sweaty workout. Silly cats!

    That is the pretties chocolate I think I have every seen!

    I don’t think I have visited your blog before…so glad I found you 🙂

  6. That olive oil bread sounds good. I hate it when a meal doesn’t turn out well. I usually end up eating it and feeling disappointed!

  7. I just pray no meal ever turns out badly…I guess that is a bad back up plan. I probably just go to a frozen Amy’s dinner or something like that.

  8. That bread sounds awesome! Thanks for entering my giveaway!! Glad to have found your blog as well!! Looking forward to reading more!! 🙂

  9. Haha…what a sweet doggie pic! That bread looks SO delish 🙂

  10. I love Amys soup and I am jealous of all
    of your snow!

  11. awesome girl! I love the yoga set up!! You doggie always looks so cute in each pic. Love it! Great review on the soups too. I love how you just dressed some of them up. The Rice and red bean soup sounds ssoo amazing. I’ll have to give this a try. Bread sounds and looks so delicious. There is nothing like home made bread! This weekend should be pretty relaxing. Depends on the weather. Im hoping for a bike ride and some spinning. Wahoo! I hope you have an awesome night girl!!

Leave a Reply

