Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo!

Put ’em together and what have you got…bibbidi-bobbidi-boo! 

Yes, I had a song from Cinderella stuck in my head last night while I made dinner.  Maybe it was because of what dinner was, or I’m trying to channel good thoughts to everyone running the Disney Marathon this weekend!  

Another song that could get stuck in your head because of this meal? 

OK, now don’t hate me for getting that into your head!  

So what had me singing songs with nonsense words?  BIBIMBAP

Bibimbap is something I always get when we go to Korean restaurants or restaurants serving Korean food.  It’s simple really-rice, veggies, a protein and an egg in a hot stone pot.  Well, we don’t have a hot stone pot here (does a molcajete count?), but I figured when Solomon told me he wanted this I could give it a shot. 

First I let the rice cooker do some work.  That made my life much easier! 

I surveyed what was on hand, and even though it was slim pickings, I thought it was best to throw in all of the veggies I could find (except for peppers, that just didn’t seem right for some reason). 

First, I grabbed this guy from my cabinet and heated up my wok. 

Once the wok was good to go, I put in a block of drained, diced firm tofu.  After the sides of the tofu were browned, I threw in a few sliced scallions and a few cloves of minced garlic.  A couple handfuls of mushrooms and a few handfuls of spinach later I was done!  Everything was soft, and full of flavor.  I stirred in a grated carrot too, since bibimbap always has carrots in it.  It has bean sprouts too, but I didn’t have those.   Usually all of the vegetables are separate on top of the rice for bibimbap, but I just didn’t want to dirty a lot of pans, so I felt like going the stir fry method was my best bet!

 
While this was cooking away, I threw together a sauce.  The sauce that usually comes with bibimbap is a made from gochujang, which is a red chili paste.  I didn’t have that on hand, so I threw together soy sauce, sriracha, garlic chili sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and a few sesame seeds.  It was HOT!  Truth be told, it didn’t taste much like the sauce that typically comes with bibimbap, but it was still yummy!

I also used this time to fry up 2 eggs (with non stick spray) to put on top.  I left the yolks a little runny, so they could mix in with all the goodness.

Here it is…at home bibimbap!  Brown rice at the bottom of the bowl, a layer of veggies and tofu, a fried egg and some sauce.  All of the flavors came together so well, and this was a fantastic dinner, and it was SO FILLING.  Plus, Solomon said the leftovers were fantastic!  This was such an easy way to throw together leftover veggies and stuff.  It could be made with chicken or meat instead of tofu of course.  Really, the possibilities are endless!

Have you ever tried bibimbap before?  What’s your favorite kind of “ethnic” food?

Don’t forget to enter my Chocomize giveaway!

13 Responses

  1. LOVE bibimbap! That looks delicious 🙂

  2. I’ve never tried bibimbap, but I’ve always meant to. It looks a lot like my regular stirfry; the big difference is in the sauce.

  3. I love Korean food, well, I love bulgogi. I don’t like bibimbap though because the versions in the restaurants always seem to have sprouts in them. Ick. Your version looks good and is definitely making me crave bulgogi.

  4. I have yet to try bibimbap. I love all types of ethic food. At the moment I am obsessed with Japanese.

  5. I’ve never heard of that, but it sounds awesome! I love your supply of Asian ingredients–that’s usually what stops me from making a good Asian dish!

  6. i have never heard of bibimbap at all…..interesting.

  7. That is so funny. We must be one the same wavelength here. Yesterday I heard Mmmbop on the local radio here and my dinner for tonight is in our new wok, with asian noddles, egg and stirfried veggies, your dish reminds me of what I have planned.

  8. haha, this dish looks great.

  9. That looks delicious. I’ve never had that. It doesn’t look difficult to make though. Thanks for the idea!

  10. OOh, that sounds like something that I would totally love. My favorite ethnic food is either Mediterranean or Japanese (well, the sushi part of Japanese.)

  11. Dinner looks sooo good! Of course, anything that reminds me of Hanson has to be a good thing, right?

  12. My parents eat bibimbap almost every day in the summer…it is so easy to make, refreshing, and delicious!

  13. That looks amazing! I’ve never had it but now I totally want it. I am going to have to make it. I love doing yoga with a view. I go to a yoga studio though to do hot yoga (TOTALLY WORTH IT!) and the only view is of me, sweating. Hope your weather isn’t too much of a downer. I really miss the snow.

Leave a Reply

