Mexican Hot Chocolate Fudge

Because of my little injury (thank you for all of your well wishes and funny accident stories!), I was super antsy yesterday.  I couldn’t really work out, because I certainly couldn’t do yoga (no pressure on the finger!) and couldn’t run (try getting gloves on the monster finger), and besides had to be careful to keep my hand dry, so I couldn’t really sweat or anything.  I did get in a nice long stretching session, but I need to do something more active!  UGH!

Other than packing (putting clothes out on the bed for Solomon to pack!) there wasn’t much I could do one handed.  I really wanted to get in the kitchen, and realized I could probably make fudge one handed.  I had been dreaming up a spicy, Mexican Hot Chocolate fudge for quite some time, so I figured I would give it a try.  I’ve always loved Mexican hot chocolate because really, it’s spicy hot chocolate, so there’s nothing in that equation for me not to like.  Chocolate + Spice = PERFECTION!

I made a basic fudge with sweetened condensed milk and chocolate.  I melted them in a pan until they were all mixed and full of melty, chocolate goodness. 

DSC03680 DSC03679Once your chocolate is melted, remove it from the heat, and add your other goodies.

First, a teaspoon of vanilla.  The GOOD stuff!

DSC03681 2 teaspoons of cinnamon.  I buy the giant sized.  I go through a lot of cinnamon, I love it in my coffee.

DSC03683 A few pinches of salt, and a few pinches of chili powder.

DSC03684 Spread it all into an 8 x 8 dish lined with wax paper.  Try not to make the same ghetto mess I made, resulting in your fudge looking like a big lump of disaster (I only had one hand!)

DSC03685 Put your fudge into the fridge for at least 2 hours, then enjoy!

I was pleasantly surprised by this!  Maybe next time I would go for a little more spice, but came pretty close to hitting the nail on the head here. 

Solomon didn’t like it, until he realized what it was!  Then he was a fan.  The chocolate was a little too bitter for his taste (I like really dark chocolate and he prefers milk), but all in all, he said it was good fudge!

Maybe next time I would add marshmallows (if I can find kosher ones!) or Fluff to make it more “hot chocolate” and less “just chocolate.”  Either way, this is going to be bad news being in my house!

I love making fudge because it is SO EASY.  Maybe soon I’ll do some sort of salted caramel fudge?  That would be amazing!  By the way, check back Monday for a salted caramel creation and another giveaway!  This one is going to be a lot of fun 🙂

We are heading down to NJ later, and have a long ride ahead of us!  We will then be heading to L.A. for a wedding during the weekend, and will stay in NJ the rest of the week.  I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!  We don’t have any definitive plans, which is amazing, and will hopefully get to spend some time in Manhattan, and catch up with friends!

Have you ever been to (or lived in) L.A?  What are some things we can’t miss?  Any good recommendations for brunch?

We won’t have a lot of free time, because of the wedding and rehearsal dinner, and I really want to go to a Sprinkles while we’re there.  We will be staying in Beverly Hills, and I’m so pumped for this mini vacation!

What’s your favorite flavor of fudge?  Have you ever made it from scratch?

Don’t forget about the Aurorae mat giveaway or the Wusthof giveaway!

13 Responses

  1. SALTED CARAMEL FUDGE…Definitely the way to go!

  2. Sounds amazing! I;ve never made it, but my grandma always did!

  3. The place I went to for brunch with my sister-in-law was great. It was called Fred’s 62 and it’s in the Los Feliz neighborhood. I’ll confess… Nic and I had Root Beer Floats with brunch. Totally worth it.

  4. Finding kosher marshmallows isn’t a problem here at all… even Whole Foods carries them! Want a belated Chanukah present? 😉

    ❤ ❤

  5. Major yum!

    My favorite fudge is TECHNICALLY a brownie, but it’s not because it’s so dense and rich. They have a homemade brownie layer with chocolate chunks and lots of them, a thick layer of caramel (caramel + sweetened condensed milk), then a layer of chocolate, and then pecans, and then chocolate and MORE caramel. Oh dear, describing that made me want them so badly!

  6. I absolutely LOVE the frozen yogurt from Yogurtland because it’s self-serve and has 8 billion flavors and toppings that you get to pile on yourself. Go there!!!!

    Ahh fudge…though i’m not a fan, i didn’t realize you could make them out of condensed milk!! That…is really cool actually!

  7. Mmm I’m a Mexican Hot Chocolate FANATIC, and I love fudge – so I’m definitely going to love this recipe…thanks for sharing!

  8. If you get up to Pasadena you HAVE HAVE HAVE to go to Dish in La Canada. I’ve have eaten brunch all over this glorious country of ours and Dish is the best. My brother went to school out there and when I would visit him we would eat at Dish every single day!

  9. Looks yummy. I so can’t recall the place I am thinking of in LA for brunch. Famous Jewish deli and I can’t think of it. It is near that road I can’t think of the name either. I am not a very good help, sorry. It’s been a while since I was there last. Have fun.

  10. Yum, it looks great!

  11. OMG, you’re going to LA!

    Places you MUST go:
    1) Umami burger
    2) Mr. Pizza Factory (get the one with the sweet potato crust!)
    3) Langers (BEST pastrami in USA)
    4) Original Pantry Cafe (apparently great breakfast/brunch)
    5) the farmers market
    6) KOGI food truck. Go stalk it!

    oh, and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!

  12. […] Mexican Hot Chocolate Fudge […]

  13. Hahaha, I just made something very similar and I figured i would see if anyone else had thought of it, so I googled Mexican Hot Cocoa Fudge and found you.

    I used 2/3 bag of Hershey semi sweet morsels, 2 bags of Hershey Cinnamon Chips, 2 cans of condensed milk, and 1/2 bag of Heath bits. After microwaving the first four ingredients for 2 minutes, I stirred to mix and then stirred in the heath. After it was poured into a baking dish lined with parchment and smooth, but still tacky on top, I sprinkled it with Sea Salt and a very light dusting of cayenne pepper powder……IT IS SOOO GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

