Mmmm…Balls

TWSS

The other day, Allison had a falafel fail, which got me craving falafel.  I could honestly eat falafel every single day, and I don’t think I would ever get sick of it.  In college, whenever the Mediterranean/salad bar didn’t have falafel, I would tell my friend it made me fal-awful.  I cracked myself up.  Looking back, they weren’t even such good falafel, but I didn’t care because they were falafel.

Enter May 2006.  I went to Israel for 10 days with Birthright, and my love of falafel was renewed.  I ate it everyday, and could have eaten it forever, no joke.  I didn’t get a picture, but let me tell you, it’s heaven on earth.  They fill a fresh pita with hummus and falafel and tons of veggies, spices, tahini, pickles, you name it.  Then, they roll it all up, and put “chips” on top, which are french fries.  Awesome, I know.

I don’t have any pictures of my own, but I did find this one here, just to give you an idea of the amazingness.  I miss Israel, I want to go back.  Robin, I do have an open invite, right?

One of the first blogs I ever read was A Year of Crockpotting, because I had just gotten my crockpot and was (still am) OBSESSED with it.  Once I made Stephanie’s recipe, I decided it was pretty much perfect, and have been making it ever since.  Here it is:

From A Year of Crockpotting

  • 1 15oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. dried parsley
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup (whole wheat) bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil (for the bottom of your crock)

First, throw the garbanzo beans into a food processor, or mash them with a fork.

DSC03385 Once the garbanzo beans are mashed up, add all of your other ingredients except for the bread crumbs and olive oil, and blend well.  You could also do all of this by hand!

Slowly add breadcrumbs to the mix, until it is all wet and sticky (TWSS) and can be formed into balls.  I use a funnel right in the food processor, to avoid mess!

DSC03386 DSC03387 DSC03388 Before you form the balls, drizzle some of the EVOO in the bottom of your crock.  Roll balls about the size of golf balls and put them at the bottom of the crock, rolling them a bit in the oil.

DSC03389 Let it cook on high for 2-5 hours (Mine go for about 3.5)

DSC03392 If you are anything like me, use this time to watch your dog get himself into a ridiculous situation.

DSC03393 I don’t know how he continually manages to do that, but it cracks me up every time!

DSC03409 I like my falafel served on top of salad, mostly because I just wasn’t feeling pita!  I love how warm and flavorful they are!

Don’t forget about my knife giveaway, spread the word!

Have you ever had falafel before?  How do you like them?  Salad? Pita?

24 Responses

  1. Of course you have an open invitation! If there were something more than that I could offer, I would–how about you just move in? However, I don’t know if I ever told you this, but I don’t love falafel. I’ll have it every now and then, but I get very sick of it. Fear not, many falafel stands have something called sabich which is the pita, all the salads and sauces you mentioned, etc., but instead of falafel its grilled eggplant and a hard boiled egg. I know its sounds weird, but its heaven on earth. So, you come on over and we’ll go to falafel stands every day.

    Also, are your contests international? Can I even win?

  2. Oh, my goodness… I remember that falafel. I WISH I could eat that now!! I think it’s best on a laffa… maybe because I’ve only had it that way once. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  3. I have never ever had falafel. I am thinking that I need to give it a try.

  4. OMG that wrap with the fries looks soooooooooo good. Thats my favorite. 🙂

  5. I *heart* felafel. I lived in London for a long time in a predominantly Jewish neighbourhood with a ton of Israeli restaurants and “fast food” places- the fast food felafel was out of this world. Rivalled only slightly by the lamb shwarma. I’m not a big meat eater, but this was incredible. The stuff I buy/make now is good but it’s not a patch on the authentic stuff!

  6. I love SPICY falafel 🙂

  7. I LOVE falafel, and have been looking for a good recipe! Thanks!

  8. I like falafel with hummous…in fact, I like everything with hummous! The secret to my good-looking hair is the hummous I put in it every day!

  9. I’m so glad you had more luck with falafel than I did!

    LOL at the post title 🙂

  10. If I had to pick my all time favorite food it would be falafel. That being said…if its not made right it can be HORRIBLE. I haven’t ever been able to perfect it at home. I’m dying to try your recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    Oh and on a warm pita, lettuce,tomatoes,tzadziki sauce, and goat cheese. YUM!

  11. Um, those falafel look outta this world! I worked in a Middle Eastern restaurant in high school and we made some pretty phenom falafel. My love started there and has continued to grow. I recently attempted falafel as well, but from a box (I suck). HOWEVER, I do believe I will be trying your recipe! Mmmm! I like mine with all the fixins’….babbaganoush (sp?) and tabouli and hummus!

  12. I love falafel. I would never have thought to make them in a crockpot, but that is exactly what I am going to be doing this weekend. Yummy. I love your dog.

  13. How awesome is THAT?? Making falafels in a crock pot??? I totally didn’t understand how useful a crockpot could be until I went to that website. Hahahah Although I’m not a fan of falafel’s, I think it might be because I just haven’t had a good one! Hmmm should I ask for a crock for Christmas?? 😛

  14. This might get me kicked out of blog-world, but I don’t like falafel. I don’t get it; I love chickpeas.

  15. LOL! Oh Morgan…your post title just made my day (or night). Hahahaa!!!

    I like falafels, but I don’t love it. It’s ok. I’m not much of a chickpea person.

  16. Man, I WISH I loved falafel! I used to love it and then I had a TERRIBLE falafel experience (my stomach turns just thinking of it), so falafel and I have been on an extended break…

  17. I must say , I’m obsessed with my crock pot too! I have a ”everything crock pot book” and I love it. Yay, I will have to try this with mine this weekend. Plus I have a giant can of chickpeas waiting to be eaten!!

  18. My sis did birthright but I think in 2005. I went with a British youth group (very long story) in 1996. I love it over there. Thanks for the falafel recipe. I love good falafel.

  19. Now I know why so many people love this site, nice contribution. Thanks

  20. Oh My! I have never used the crock pot like that. You really having me wanting to try this recipe very soon 🙂

  21. […] (and I didn’t try all of what Robin talks about is AMAZING!  Remeber when I raved on about falafel?  YUM!).  I miss you girly and I hope I get to see you […]

Leave a Reply

